Ratings based on 2,681 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Elegant, Well-Appointed, And Quiet Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
This is a good choice if you are staying in Newport Beach. Minutes from the beach and world-class shopping and restaurants. First-class lobby, rooms, pool, and fitness facilities. Excellent staff. Easy check-in. Quiet and comfortable. Bedding, pillows, lighting, are all designed to maximize room comfort and convenience. The breakfast buffet offers numerous healthy choices. What else could you ask for? This review may sound contrived - but we stayed at the hotel last week and this was our experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Convenient, comfortable, close to beach

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Clerk was friendly and hospitable..Bartender was awesome. Pool was available late. Nice and not a bunch of children running around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conference

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The elevator came quickly
Location: Nothing is close to Hotel.
The Hotel is close to the airport which is convenient. This is in a business district and not much of anything else around the Hotel. Only one restaurant at Hotel that is over priced,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Lost my personal belongings through valet parking*

Posted Sep 17, 2017
They don't have choice of selfiing Parking , I lost a valueable personal belonging after I picked up my car . The hotel said they are thrift party from hotel so they are not going to take care my loss. Next room has serious flight at midnight , can't sleep has to call front desk , bad experience ever .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atwater, California

Excellent Hotel Stay!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
This was a lovely resort hotel! The pool was beautiful with relaxing cabanas. The room was clean, comfortable, and they actually had enough pillows! The entire staff was kind and easy to deal with. The overall quality and beauty of the hotel far exceeded our expectations-the level of a much pricier hotel. Super impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by iz, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review. We're happy to hear you that enjoyed your stay and that our staff made your stay special. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and hope to welcome you back in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton alberta canada

Good hotel close to the airport

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Room was comfy but needs updating Staff were pleasant and helpful. Pool is great but serving staff leave at 5:00 pm just when confernces are done Restaurant is pricey for the quality of food
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Iz, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. From our staff, to our pool area, we're thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. We are constantly striving for improvements and updates and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to be your hotel of choice for the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and hospitable staff!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Got in late in the evening and the staff couldn't be more helpful in getting me settled and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Iz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for your loyalty! We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Business and pleasure

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The duke is a fantastic hotel. I was located within 5 minutes of the John Wayne airport. This was very convenient. It sported down pillows and larger than average rooms. The facilities were well equipped with a nice modern gym. It also had cabanas at the pool. The dining was exceptional and affordable. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia beach, va

Absolutely wonderful

Posted Sep 8, 2017
This hotel was top notch. I'd like to make it an annual trip and would take advantage of any discounts
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Iz, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review. We're happy to hear you that enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynwood

DUUUUUUKE!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, salt water pool, and water with sliced oranges in the lobby.
Cons: The valet parking seemed understaffed
Location: We went to Club Envy nearby and that place was nice. The music was Top 40's in the main room and House music outside. Good drinks too.
Going to the Duke, I believed that I was going into Newport Beach. However it was borderline Costa Mesa a little disappointing but, I should have looked at the location thoroughly. We spend one night only but it was cool. The room was great clean and well lit. The only thing that was broken was a "zoom" mirror for the face, but I wasn't trying to pop any blackheads. We got to enjoy Club Envy across the way a 7 minute walk also Balboa Island was about a 15-20 minute drive. We got to enjoy a morning swim in a salted pool and because an airport near by we got to see some cool propeller planes flying over the pool. Also, don't worry about major planes because we did not see or hear one throughout our stay. We did check in around 9pm and checked out around 9 am so it may be different. Overall, The Duke was a great stay and I wouldn't mind going back there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Iz, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience! We're pleased to hear about the many areas and makings of our property and the Newport Beach location you enjoyed. Loyalty to our brand is what we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.