Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Rooms are spread out throughout property but they offer rides. Disappointed that there was only one spa. Happy hour at pool was great and all meals were very good. Took the beach shuttle and was very easy with kids. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Fabulous, luxurious and quiet bugalows. Exceptinal

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous ground, very, very well insulated rooms; there was no noise from neighbors. The food was also excellent.
Cons: I think tge hotel should have bowls of fruit every day. We have this amenity at the Peninsula and the Four Seasons. it was odd they did not have any
Loved this propert. The rooms are so comfortable and private. This will be our go to place to stay during all college visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carson, Ca

Extraordinary R & R

Posted Oct 8, 2017
This property is gorgeous, peaceful and definitely a 5 star experience. I won't stay anywhere else when visiting Newport Beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice, quiet place - bungalow style.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: It is not really a hotel. Units are single story, which makes for a quieter stay. Next time, would like to have a meal near the coliseum pool.
Cons: Communication with maid service. It's a 5-star hotel. Why would you send maid service on day of checkout??? Twice???
Location: Plenty to do. Shopping at Fashion Island & up and down PCH. Balboa Island close by. Lots of restaurants. Always nice to be near the beach!
Overall enjoyable, but the maid came knocking at the door TWICE on the day of checkout. Also, double check your credit card after the stay as we were charged for items from the mini/honor bar that were NOT consumed. The amount was refunded, but might not have been if it wasn't brought to their attention.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful Resort, Disappointing Experience

Posted Sep 24, 2017
It's a really nice resort in a great location and we enjoyed our stay, but the resort didn't deliver 5-star service or accommodations. Specifically, these were our concerns... ROOM: We reserved an ocean-view bungalow, but our room had an "obstructed view" - and the view looked *nothing* like the photos provided by the hotel. We saw trees, not ocean. Beyond the view, there were other issues with the room - including wet carpet and a broken shower handle. AMENITIES: One night we attempted to order room service, but were told that it the kitchen was busy and it would take well over an hour to deliver. Needless to say, we were frustrated and decided to eat elsewhere. FACILITY: This resort is open to the public and hosts a large number of events (weddings, meetings, etc.) We found that parts of the public/guest areas were frequently blocked off for private-event use. While this wasn't a huge inconvenience, it detracted from the experience. With so much activity at the hotel, we didn't feel like *we* were the guests. SERVICE: From a service standpoint, the staff is very friendly, but check-in was very impersonal and we were not provided any information about the resort amenities. Of course, there are binders in the room, but it would have been nice if the staff were trained to provide more information to first-time guests. At check-out, I shared many of these concerns with the front-desk staff, expecting follow-up from management, but was not contacted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel great service

Posted Sep 16, 2017
I went with 3 sisters for a spevial birthday trip. For the price we really rxpected more. Beautiful views, wonderful property, food is good but it was missing the elegance of a true luxury hotel. We had a great time but would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
This is a beautiful hotel. We had great service all weekend. The restaurant Andrea's service was good but a little slow.The bars were as expected and the cleanliness of our room every night was amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Room service was terrible and slow

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Would not recommend this hotel only because room was cleaned until later in the day after 5:00pm.asked for new towels took 2 hrs to get them .when I complained at check out received only 35 dollars discount from 3000$ charge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beverly Hills

Beautiful grounds, very relaxing. Delicious food.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Our check-in was closer to 4:30pm (check-in is at 4) and they told us they were upgrading us to an ocean view suite (there was no ocean in sight when we arrived to our room), but it was fine because we got to hang out by the pool the entire time and change in the spa which has lockers. Beautiful resort, very quiet and the staff was very friendly. Room (we stayed in a bungalow) was very spacious and comfortable. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Beautiful Resort, the staff was very helpful and the views were gorgeous!