Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Pelican Hill stay

Posted Aug 19, 2015
We showed up at around 4 after driving up from San Diego for a short getaway. Our room wasnt ready yet but we only waited 20 minutes to get our keys. The room and view were both beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom was very luxurious. Everything about the hotel amenities was very nice. We had only two issues with the stay. First the volume on the tv remote was not able to actually lower or raise the volume on the tv so had to manually adjust it on the tv. This was very annoying. Second my credit card was charged the 250 a night for incidentals plus a random 1800 dollar charge as well. Our stay was 100% prepaid through Expedia. All the front desk or accounting department could tell me was "We have no idea how that happened". Since this was a charge and not a hold the charge cleared to the credit card and it will take another week for it to be refunded. For a place that charges what they do and is 5 stars or whatever this is completely unacceptable. Really put a sour taste in my mouth after the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

BEYOND EXPECTATIONS-EXCELLENT VALUE!

Posted Aug 6, 2015
We stayed in an ocean view bungalow (#440) which was split with living room type area and king bedroom. It had two fireplaces, large bathrooms ,large double patio overlooking the golf course to the ocean view with umbrella-table seating and loungers. The bedding is crisp, everything felt fresh and clean, and all of your needs are anticipated with amenities. The resort is gorgeous with incredible landscaping and secure, beautiful private-feeling accommodations. It's an easy walk down the winding pathway to enjoy the massive round pool (very few swimmers). The food is diverse and well-prepared, and the service was good in all areas. The beach is minutes away. We plan to come back for a longer visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Gorgeous property. Nice staff.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Upgraded at check in. Lovely room. Clean. Professional staff. However, food service slow. Took 60 mins for a $17 watermelon salad. The next morning brkfst also took forever. The only negative
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from corona ca

Close to beach. Ocean view. Amazing staff...

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Griffin F was so wonderful.... He made our stay so amazing! Loved everything about it!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Every thing is good But they dont have buffe breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The beautiful pool
Cons: Can't say anything negative!
One of the the most beautiful hotel/resort I've stayed at. The pool is amazing as well as the friendly staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Excellent facilities
Cons: Pool service
Location: Good location (albeit not technically on the beach)
A terrific property with generally a great staff but a few wrinkles on our stay. It was July 4th weekend so a busy time but not being allowed to sit at the pool at 11am due to "overcapacity" (after paying $1000/night for a room) seemed unfair (especially when it appeared some non-guests from the OC neighborhood may have been using the facilities. Also the wait to get food at the pool ranged from 1 hour to 1:30 minutes for a salad or a chicken sandwhich (which by the eay were excellent). That spoke of a lack of planning for the holiday weekend. Otherwise an enjoyable place and one that we would return to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel on our So. Cal trip

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: location, room size and quality, breakfast buffet, amenities
we stayed in 5 hotels over 5 days, and this hotel was the best experience of them all. We stayed at a Ritz carlton, a Four Seasons, and two boutique hotels - all were nice, but Pelican Hill was the best overall resort and the best value (though it is inexpensive). But the cost we paid ($300) was worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Quality accommodations that are quiet and restful. Feels more like a high end boutique than the large property that it is.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I am torn

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: HOTEL GROUNDS AND ROOM ARE GORGEOUS
Cons: SMALL DETAILS
Location: NEARBY TO DOWNTOWN LAGUNA, SHOPS AND GALLERIES.
THE HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL; HOWEVER, UPON CHECKING OUT, THE EXPERIENCE TOOK A TURN FOR THE WORSE. THE CLERK AT THE DESK GAVE ME THE FINAL BILL OF ANOTHER GUEST. PARTIALLY MY FAULT THAT I DIDNT LOOK AT IT IMMEDIATELY, BUT WHEN I REALIZE THE MISTAKE, I IMMEDIATELY CALLED FROM THE ROAD, AND WAS ASSURED IT WOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF AND SHE WOULD SEND ME THE CORRECT BILL. I THEN RECEIVED AN EMAIL WITH A BILL THAT WAS IN MY NAME WITH THE CORRECT ROOM NUMBER, BUT THE ADDRESS OF SOMEONE IN A DIFFERENT STATE WITH NUMEROUS ROOM CHARGES THAT DID NOT BELONG TO ME. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED AGAIN AND WAS ASSURED I WOULD GET A CALL BACK THE NEXT MORNING, BUT DIDN'T RECEIVE ANYTHING. I ATTEMPTED TO REACH SOMEONE IN ACCOUNTING THE FOLLOWING MORNING AFTER LEAVING TWO MESSAGES ON MACHINE, BUT STILL NOTHING. FINALLY AFTER THREE ATTEMPTS, SOMEONE SAID THEY WOULD STRAIGHTEN IT OUT. JUST THINK THAT FOR BEING SO PRICEY FOR A ONE NIGHTS STAY (LESS THAN 20 HOURS FOR 600.00) , THEY SHOULD PAY A LITTLE MORE ATTENTION TO THE SMALL DETAILS. THE HOTEL IS GORGEOUS, BUT I DON'T KNOW THAT I WOULD STAY AGAIN.