Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing resort

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing stay. The villa was superb and the service was just great. By far the best resort. Kids had a blast. Can't wait to go back!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We work hard to make our guests happy and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Giuseppe Lama Managing Director The Resort at Pelican Hill
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Exceptionally wonderful experience!

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Luxurious resort with stunning Ocean views and great customer service
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Giuseppe Lama, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We work hard to make our guests happy and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Giuseppe Lama Managing Director The Resort at Pelican Hill
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel/resort

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed there before and each time it is as wonderful as last. This is the first time in a Villa and it was fabulous Top notch resort!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best place we've ever stayed

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms were private and beautifully furnished and decorated, the service was impeccable with our own butler!! the property was really spread out but getting around with rides was fast and easy, the pool was huge, the grounds were clean, it was like being in Hawaii, the ocean views were beautiful and in addition we had views of the golf course, the staff was friendly and accommodating.....the best place we've ever stayed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and amenities for a group

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Came for a family reunion. Stayed in the three bedroom villas. Great location, very friendly service, and excellent amenities, especially the pools. Villas are well appointed, the outside terrace is big with a wonderful view of the ocean. The only points we noted - the shower was pretty basic given the overall level of luxury / price, and the layout of the kitchen could be better given its size and high end appliances. Also stayed for a couple of nights in the bungalows. Not so impressed. Definitely not as good value for money. So if you have four or more people, stay in the villas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Covina, CA

Over the top!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location, probably shouldn't be there given development of coastal zones.
Cons: Details of appearance
Location: Crystal Cove beach is across PCH, if you have a senior pass, bring it to park for free. Balboa is a short drive and a wonderful place to stroll.
To start, the check in desk upgraded us to a 4 bedroom Villa! The hang up was that when we booked, I specificlly let Expedia know that my wife uses a wheel chair and we needed ADA access. The master suite in a 4 bedroom Villa is up stairs so we couldn't use it. Now that is likely poor execution by Expedia, but does a disservice to Pelican Hill. Next, a Butler? An overly friendly 50 ish fellow guides us to the villa. He's a bit overly solicitous and leaves us both with the feeling that he came from the used auto sales industry. He did teach us how to use the patio door locks, way to complicated! First thing on entering the villa was the sight of two, apparently dirty dish towels wadded up on the kitchen island? The carpets were stained as was the sofa cushions, not unusual for the Holiday Inn Express, but for a grand/night house with a view, I don't think so! We ordered dinner from "Dinning service", read room service, and a very nice fellow came quickly and the food was brilliant if pricey. In the middle of dinner, two hours after we had arrived, the door bell rings and guest services delivers a welcome tray of fruit and cheese. It was a nice gesture which was mostly wasted by bad timing. I decided to treat my wife to a few days away and am not complaining about the cost, but you do have, or should have, a high expectation for such a grand property. On the patio, the cushions of the lounges were stained and ripped with the padding leaking out. The patio walls were separating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Giuseppe Lama, Hotel Management
Bob, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on our Expedia page. I am disappointed to read that your Villa accommodations fell short of your expectations and our Five-Star standards. Please know that I have personally addressed your concerns with our Villa management team and maintenance staff to improve the areas you mentioned. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope to welcome you and your wife back to the Resort for a much-improved visit soon. Kind regards, Giuseppe Lama Managing Director The Resort at Pelican Hill
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

World Class Experience

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The attention to detail and being assigned a butler for our stay.
Cons: At the moment, a very minor detail of getting in & out of garage remotely but truly insignificant tho. The 6 of us visited for 1 night.
Location: Stunning view of ocean! Tons of near by things to do
There is a level of excellence here that is just wonderful. The service was very attentive, warm and inviting, and available throughout the resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Giuseppe Lama, Managing Director, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I am delighted to read that your overall stay was enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fabulous accomodations and very nice staff

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: staff and villas
Cons: nothing
Location: beach
great and relaxing fantastic views from villa luxurious accomodations
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Giuseppe Lama, Managing Director, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts on our review page. I am pleased to read that your Villa stay was enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back again soon.