Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice looking hotel, Unfortunately in this case loo

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Interior appearance was not bad, close to good food establishments.
Cons: Hire some staff to be on duty for guests. Never saw anyone after first 10 minute check-in. had to call from desk phone to get Breakfast set up @ 8:15
Location: In Newport, RI what else do I need to say?
Check-in, clerk had us sign papers, went back to cell phone. No staff after that, no breakfast put out, never saw person next 2 days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CO

In need of a update.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Hotel is vintage 60's / 70'. Not much has been done to update & refresh. Although generally clean, the bed covers were dirty and partially in tatters. When checking out at 8am in the morning, there was no front desk clerk on duty, only a phone to call. I was told via the phone to simply leave the key card on the front desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LI

Would Not Recommend

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The location was great
Cons: Customer service was definitely lacking
Booked 2 rooms Both rooms had TV's that were not clear. When we approached the front desk we were told to tighten the wires in the back. One room the refrigerator was broken. Housekeeping came to make up room at 4:41p.m. by that time we were back and resting. Response from front desk (when you could find someone) was there's only 1 housekeeper.Definitely need schooling in customer service.Parking lot needs to be swept of used cigarette butts.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet but in need of repairs/upgrade

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Have stayed here for three years for Newport boat show. People are pleasant and it's always quiet. The continental breakfast was very limited this year....could use fruit, yogurt, granola bars, not gluten free friendly. The room was not very clean... Corn chips on the couch and rugs did not look vacuumed which made you really question the cleanliness. One pillow was either used or case stained. Many visible repairs need inside and out. Bathroom fan or something would make a knocking noise for several minutes every time the entrance door was opened. Unfortunately, we may need to consider other options in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this one if you can.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Arguably the worst hotel I've ever stayed on. If I didn't pre-pay, I would have turned around and walked out. The odor in the hallways made my stomach turn. The deluxe breakfast was a waffle maker and old bagels. Couldn't see getting food poisoning so we opted for Dunkin Donuts down the streets. I wouldn't recommend this place to any friends that I like...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable but incomplete

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Cons: coffee, cots, breakfast
the room was comfortable but we could not get the cot which was supposed to be available according to the website (I slept on the floor) and the breakfast was very poor unless you only have waffle. very poor coffee and other bits. For the high price we expected more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst hotels I've ever been in

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was absolutely awful. It needs to be CLEANED and RENOVATED. The smell in the lobby and the room was terrible. We checked in and went to our room. The air conditioner did not work so we asked for another room. The second room was even worse than the first. We checked out immediately. We could not stay in such a horrible hotel.
4 out of 5
by Janette from Walpole, MA

One night in Newport

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
We spent one night at the Ambassador Hotel for a family reunion. The hotel is very clean and comfortable with lots of parking. Checking in is easy and the people are very nice. It is a short ride to the shops and restaurants in Newport. They also offer an adequate breakfast in the morning. This is a no frills hotel. If you are looking for a good location and a good price this hotel gets the job done.
1 out of 5
by John from Upstate NY

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
The most uncomfortable bed I've ever been in