Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

nice

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: clean
Location: great location
downton close to shops dining waterfront bars sight seeing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Webster , MA

Best in Newport

Posted Jan 24, 2016
The staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable and welcome rooms are clean and quaint they have an afternoon tea and an incredible breakfast all included in the price of your stay couldn't be happier with this location within walking distance of everything in Newport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia area

Hotel staff was excellent!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Quaint rooms with floral wallpaper and cozy furnishings. Breakfast was great! Staff was pleasant and helpful.
Location: We visited the Breakers and also did the Servants Tour at the Elms. Both are highly recommended. We enjoyed ocean views as we drove around Newport
Esteban went above and beyond to ensure our short stay was enjoyable. He made our after hours checkin easy and was there in the morning to make sure everything went well. He also helped in planning our day, visiting with us during the wonderful breakfast the hotel provided to give us tips and recommendations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lowell, MA

Great location, I will stay here again

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Has a lot of character. Great breakfast buffet in a really 'quaint' room, also cookies and pastries in the afternoon. Great location.
Cons: Ice machine availability. There is one machine in a room behind the checkin desk.
Location: Close to the wharves, shopping and restaurants. Not a very long walk to Goat Island.
As a last minute decision, we needed to switch from a B&B to a hotel. Luckily, this one popped up in Expedia as being available and in our price range. It has a lot of character, and is conveniently located near the wharves and lots of shops. The room was very nice considering the age of the building. Parking in downtown Newport has been a pain in the past, but parking at a nearby public pay lot was comped. It's across the street from the Barking Crab, so we didn't have far to walk for decent seafood. We got one of the last two rooms available, and it was on the 3rd floor, and there is no elevator. Although the staff offered to help with the bags, I guess that our pride took over and we schlepped the bags up the stairs. One of our windows faced a bar across the street (forget the name) and we could hear the music late into the night. Next time, we'll ask for a different room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston area

great location, definitely needs some updating.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: I went in November 2015 so it wasn't crazy busy, we sat in the front parlor and library without being interrupted by others/families/etc.
Cons: needs updating
Location: great, wonderful, good parking!!
Exactly as the title goes. I will say, if they just stepped outside of the traditional "I can see if I can do that" and just DID it...the service would have been much better. The scent was off-putting throughout the hotel and the ambiance was somewhat less than desirable, but the breakfast was great, location was amazing, priced OK. I'd go back but with a hesitation. Small details could make a big difference in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Christina from CT

Girlfriends weekend away

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Location is excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson Valley, NY

pleasant hotel in heart of shopping, bars, cafes

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: the breakfast was really special
Cons: add more lighting
Location: location is on a cobblestone street in the heart of the district of shopping, bars and cafes
the hotel is very pretty, charming, the room lovely, the people nice, and the breakfast extraordinary! the main drawbacks are: one, noisy in the heart of things, and two, not enough light in the room--I would have liked more lamp light, and brighter lights in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Theodore from Virginia

Nice Escape Place

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, excellent staff, and outstanding breakfast/afternoon tea operation. Light sleepers could have some trouble with first-floor rooms next to Mary street. Hotels.com needs to do a better job alerting users to the parking cost situation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location, lovely staff,

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: location, staff, breakfast
Cons: furnishings, chair/sofa covering thread worn, bed covering and pillows worn, just a little funky, but hey if you are only sleeping there who cares.
great location, lovely staff, pleasing breakfast, very dated needs new pillows, sit cushion for desk chair, not so great for business travel, not many outlets in room. did not know parking was across the street for 18.00. Luckily you can also park on the street and feed the meter. Street parking free from 9p-9a.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Standish, Maine

Good location

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
This Inn is in the perfect downtown location. A bit noisy since it is right on the main street. Breakfast was ok. Good variety. Hot food was served cold except eggs and sausage.We had to heat it up in the microwave. The breakfast area is very crowded. Hard to server yourself without bumping into others and tables.