Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

B&B Inn was fine for 1 night

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: It was with in walking distance to downtown and plenty of parking for guest!
Cons: Allow guest to wear shoes in the Inn. A bit of a nuisance to have to remove your shoes while carrying suitcases to and from car and rooms.
Location: Location was excellent and easy to find. The harbor and bay our within walking distance to the Inn as well as many popular tourist attractions.
We had a rough start booking our room through Expedia when they tried to charge my husband and I for an extra person charge. Expedia was advertising the room to sleep 2 adults for X amount but when cashing out online they added an extra person fee on. Had to call twice to Expedia and spook with two different supervisor and once to the owner of the Inn before getting the extra charge refunded. Found out that other guest staying in the Inn had had the same issue as well who booked through Expedia website. Not sure who's fault it was, either Expedia or Inns. Owner of Inn gave us a choice of either a room in the attic at the Architect Inn or another room in a different Inn that was further away from downtown. We wanted to be able to walk to downtown so chose the Architect Inn. Well it was OK for 1 night! The room had an old smoky odor like wood fire smell and I never thought that I was claustrophobic till we had spent the night in the Attic room! To tell you the truth I was afraid as well. If a Fire should have occured outside of our door we would have been trapped in. Needless to say We did not sleep well and I suggest not booking that room! Upgrade your room to a lower level, pay the extra and breakfast would also be included. Oh, I forgot to mention that No breakfast was included with our Big Deal! Lesson learned for next vacation, I will be calling and booking directly with faculty for a lot less hassle and frustration!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Beautiful historic home in a perfect location!

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The Architect's Inn is a beautiful 1870s home, well-renovated for 21st-century travelers while offering the original essence of the place. Great food!
Cons: Slightly more host presence during check-in and check-out times
Location: Beach about 5 minutes car / 20 minutes walk; wharf ~10 minutes by foot with lots of shops and dining nearby; historic Touro synagogue (super cool!)
We had a wonderful time at the Architect's Inn. Our hosts, Nick and Brian, are friendly and helpful, and will make you a delicious breakfast. The room was superb and well worth the money, with a comfortable bed, gorgeous amenities, and very clean overall. There is also a binder waiting for you with all the information you could need about Newport. Overall, the area by the wharf is really nice. Just walk around there and see for yourself. The restaurants cater to many eating styles. Cliff Walk (a beach area) offer a ~1-mile stretch of wide sandy beach (free) and parking for $10. PLEASE PLEASE try Del's soft frozen lemonade --- it will surely put a smile on your face :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Theresa from Melbourne

Fabulous home in a beautiful neighbourhood

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
The service was fabulous, Nick was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely and breakfast was great, something different each day. The hosts knowledge of the area was great it helped us to make the most of our 2 day stay in Newport. I would definitely come back if I was in this part of the world again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A review of 2 halves

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: A lovely building with lots of period features.
Cons: Be clear what is on offer. Meet guests on arrival. Be available at least once a day.
Location: Close to the harbour, the beaches, the 'cottages' and a lovely place just to walk around.
This is a review of two halves. Our initial experience was not good - it took two days before we met either of the hotel owners, and felt abandoned in this large house. There were post-its in several public areas, including requests to remove shoes or polish floors. Our room was awful - a very small room at the top of the house with a bathroom not en-suite, as we had thought, but along the corridor and down some steps. However, when we finally met one of the owners we were made to feel welcome, offered complimentary breakfast for 2 days of our week's stay, and upgraded for two days of the stay into a large and lovely room. So our experience is that if you can afford a better class room, then great, but if not it's probably best not to stay here.
3 out of 5
by Fred T from Massachusetts

Bed and No Breakfast

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels
I thought I was booking into a bed and breakfast, having been fooled by the picture of the pretty dining room, but when we arrived we were informed that because we had booked through a booking service, we had booked the room without breakfast, and would we like to add breakfast (for an additional fee of course). Apparently, when you book through a booking service, the inn books the room without breakfast to make the rates appear lower. I would not have stayed here at the rate I paid if I had known that breakfast was not included. I felt defrauded. Adding to the insult, we were required to remove our shoes at the door, to protect the floors. Our room was in the attic at the top of a steep, narrow, treacherous flight of stairs, totally devoid of charm, with a chamfered ceiling for you to bump your head on, and a bathroom door that would not close. Nothing like the pictures in the ads with charming four poster bed etc. The only good things I can say was that it was well located and clean.
2 out of 5
by Traveller from Canada

Cluttered Victorian, but good location

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
The inn is located on a hill about a kilometer from the center of town. The house was funereal, dark on the lower floors even on a sunny day. One has to remove one's shoes upon entry, and walking around the place in stocking feet could cause some older people to slip and fall. The place was so filled with bric a brac and extraneous objects that I was fearful that a misstep could send something crashing to the floor. Definitely not a hip place for young people, more along the lines of a sedate resting home. Out of the more than 300 inns, hotels, etc in the area, I would most likely choose one closer to the action, or one that is less sad and forlorn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inn, minutes from town center!

Posted May 14, 2014
My fiance and I had a wonderful weekend away at the Architects Inn. The inn itself is beautiful, quiet, and very clean. Our room had a fireplace which made for a romantic feel. Brian and Nick were very gracious hosts. We loved that in less than a 10 minute walk we could quickly get to the restaurants and bars on Broadway. It really is in a fabulous location! We definitely highly recommend this b&b and hope to visit again in the near future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
Nick and Brian made us feel very welcome. We ended up in a room in the basement with a nice fireplace and special shower. They brought breakfast down for us each morning which was s nice touch.
5 out of 5
by melissa from Wyckoff NJ

Just a few blocks away

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
Overall our stay was excellent......Nick and Eric were excellent attentive hosts. All the information that Nick gave us about Newport was dead on correct. The restaurants he recommended were perfect for us.....Bravo you guys.