Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2018
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paramus, NJ

Quaint B&B in a convenient location

Posted Apr 24, 2018
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Artful Lodger. The B&B was homey and comfortable. Phil and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, made to order, included hot, homemade muffins. We especially liked the location. It was a short walk to many nice restaurants and shops, and convenient to all the gorgeous sites in Newport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southbury, CT

Lovely Victorian inn in Newport

Posted Dec 15, 2017
We had a great mini vacation in December in Newport. The Artful Lodger truly added atmosphere to our visit to Victorian Newport and the beautifully decorated mansions. Our host could not have been more helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from danbury,ct

Wonderful

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Excellent accommodation, staff, breakfast, location!
5 out of 5
by Ruth

Comfortable and friendly

Posted Nov 7, 2017 on Hotels
Phil was friendly and accommodating. Communicated well right from the start about access to the home and checking in. Gorgeous view from breakfast room and nice hot breakfast was included to start the day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
What a charming and amazing home this is! Phil is excellent, attentive and added a much needed cute & homey feel to our stay here in Newport! Would definitely come here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Quirky Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location, atmoshere, host
Cons: Mattress selection if at all possible
Location: Walk to key Newport attractions.
Ideal location, short stroll to waterfront cafes, bars and stores. Mansions and access to the cliff top walk are also close by. Hotel is on multiple levels, leave suitcases in the car. Rooms are small but spotless. Bed in Ivy was too soft and squishy to be comfortable for me. Breakfast is served on the upper level with a view, pancakes, eggs etc made fresh to order. Phil is an engaging host, making your stay a delight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location. Walking distance to everything

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Cons: See above- kitchen hygiene.
Kitchen hygiene was lacking. Food was prepared without gloves, cook used the same towel that he wiped a spill from the floor with to wipe counters. Muffins and eggs were very bland. Beverages were very good though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Very comfortable room -helpful owner and great bed

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Excellent bed, comfortable sitting area with hot tub in room. Local owner very knowledgeable and helpful with recommendations. Thanks Phil!