Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito

Really nice stay

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Modern yet with character, next to an ancient church. The suite we were assigned was confortable for a family of four.
We enjoyed our stay very much, the hotel is very well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Great little find, just 25 mins from Cardiff cente

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet location , comfortable beds
Cons: Breakfast service
Location: Cardiff centre
Great guest house- rooms more like major hotel chaIn. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Beware - breakfast service stops at 09:30 , so if you turn up at 09:35 like we did , there is no breakfast to be had.
1 out of 5
by Joanne

Lost our reservation

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
This place was very difficult to find (being actually on a side road off Magor Road, not on it, and not well signed). We didn't get to stay here, as our reservation was lost. We had booked initially with another company and then cancelled and rebooked with hotels.com in January. When we arrived for our visit in May, there was no one around. I phoned a number that was listed beside the door. The man I spoke said our reservation was cancelled (it was not, I had a confirmation number.) He was kind enough to give recommendations for nearby hotels, which wasn't really a help. I was disappointed that our reservation was somehow lost.
4 out of 5
by Victoria

Satisfied from Aylesbury

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice welcome and a nice place to stay. Wifi could do with being stronger as didn't really reach my room and kept dropping out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel beautiful place

Posted May 8, 2017
Had a great night here. Room Lovely would return. I did get a really good price .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
This is not a 5 star guest house. Bathroom full of cobwebs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel was in a great location and absolutely fantastic. We stayed there two nights. The suite we had was great and the fit out was a very high standard The staff (Margaret) were absolutely incredibly helpful and pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel as s place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Guy

Business trip

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Ebookers
Beautiful place, would visit again. Went with my husband and it was so clean and tidy, out of the way, really relaxing and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

A Romantic Valentines

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The wonderful staff, lovely sized room with a comfortable bed. Each room has an honesty basket with things like wine. No more than 6 couples can stay
Cons: nothing to improved
Location: less than 20 mins from Chepstow and about 15 mins from Magor.
The staff at the Celtic Guest House is truly wonderful and romantic. They provide a lovely little breakfast and the staff are more than happy to talk to you and give you suggestions on what to do. They recommended the Golden Lion pub in Magor, which they booked for us as it is owned by the owner of the Celtic Guest House. Its a lovely pub. As it was valentines they had some little extras at the hotel, petals on the bed and bucks-fizz at breakfast.