Ratings based on 689 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, oregon

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Comfy bed, good continental breakfast, staff was very friendly. We will book here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2018 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to let us know how your stay was. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Again, thank you for letting us know how we are doing Sincerely Chuck Cummings General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Perfect BFF getaway location

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Just about everything! plush full size towels, cushy beds, friendly/helpful staff, breakfast. . .
Cons: my ONLY complaint was the light in the bathroom. I don't like heat lamps and would prefer the option of a light without heat.
Location: We didn't wander much but did enjoy a drive through the artsy part of town, little shops, etc.
Wonderful!! This was a first time stay for us and will not be the last. I chose this location because it was the least expensive for our requirements, 2 queens, frig, micro. I asked for a extra table for our crafting needs and it was there along with two comfy chairs when we arrived. The front desk staff was awesome, most helpful. Housekeeping was polite and friendly and accommodated our needs. All the little extras were most appreciated. Ice water in the lobby, cookies in the evening, a luggage cart to move all our stuff. All of it added up to a GREAT experience! thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Dear Carol: Thank you for letting us know how your stay at our Comfort Inn was. We appreciate your review of our hotel and hope that you will tell your friends about it. All reviews are shared with the owners and staff and are used for continued training for all of us. It is through the eyes of our guests that we are best able to see our hotel and what needs to be done in it. Sincerely Chuck Cummings General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent became poor

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Price was good; breakfast decent; cookies smelled delicious, room was clean
Cons: Be quiet during sleeping hours and better pillows
Two things changed a decent rating to poor. The worst and by far biggest problem was that at about 11:30 PM, they started preparing the breakfast room for the following day. Which wouldn't be a problem, except that the person doing the work was incredibly noisy and made no effort to be courteous. Dragging tables, banging plates, slamming cupboard doors, etc, etc; it was like they were doing construction. I understand the need to utilize people and time effectively, but I can't ignore the fact that the work in the breakfast room lasted from 11:30pm to 1:30am and therefore I got no sleep until after she finished her work. Given that the whole reason for getting a hotel room is to sleep and this wasn't possible until nearly 2am, I got 3 hours of sleep. The other frustration was that the pillows were pretty bad; lumpy and uncomfortable. I hardly ever complain about stuff, but this experience was bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to let us know about your stay. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. Sincerely Chuck Cummings General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Most pleasant check in ever. Clerk was so friendly and helpful. Fresh baked cookies and coffee in the lobby. Bed was so comfortable. Nice location. Just all around great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2018 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Dear Barb: Thank you for your nice review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We also love to hear about our fantastic team of hospitality professionals, so thank you for that. Please come back and see us very soon. Warm regards, Chuck Cummings General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Very comfortable, clean hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2018
We enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Inn in Newport. The room was comfortable and very clean, and the staff helpfully directed us to park close to our room. The hotel is also very close to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Dear Z; Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to let us know how your stay was. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Again, thank you for letting us know how we are doing Sincerely Chuck Cummings General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast, near Main road but still nice and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you for letting us know how your stay at our Comfort Inn was. We appreciate your review of our hotel and hope that you will tell your friends about it. All reviews are shared with the owners and staff and are used for continued training for all of us. It is through the eyes of our guests that we are best able to see our hotel and what needs to be done in it. Sincerely Chuck Cummings General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Cons: Manager should be more customer oriented.
WE chose this hotel because it offered laundry facilities, but when we arrived they were out of order. We then asked to be upgraded to an ocean front room because of the lack of laundry, but the manager refused to do that. They charged us $10 for the upgrade but did not offer any reduction because of the laundry facilities being out of order. We feel that the manager was not being respectful of our needs of laundry and was CHEAP for charging us the extra $10. Where was he when they taught basics of trying to please the guests?
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Dear Gerry: Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to let us know about your stay. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. Sincerely Chuck Cummings General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice accommodations in the center of town.

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Parking, breakfast, staff, all excellent.
Location: Walk to the beach, Short drive to many attractions.
Enjoyed the stay. Good breakfast, clean room, Everything in tip-top shape. Great price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Dear Dale: Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to let us know how your stay was. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Again, thank you for letting us know how we are doing Sincerely Chuck Cummings General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very pleasant

Posted Nov 29, 2017
very pleasant, very clean very nice employees, nice location nice towels just what we were lookling for
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you for letting us know how your stay at our Comfort Inn was. We appreciate your review of our hotel and hope that you will tell your friends about it. All reviews are shared with the owners and staff and are used for continued training for all of us. It is through the eyes of our guests that we are best able to see our hotel and what needs to be done in it. Sincerely Chuck Cummings General Manager
5 out of 5
by Robert

Quiet, clean comfortable hotel near beach

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is a clean, cozy hotel that is practically across the street from the ocean. It is on a quiet street – I slept well – yet within half a mile of the village of Nye Beach and Newport’s harbor (and a long block from the 101). If you can stay here for a cheaper price than the oceanfront properties down the block, I think you’ll be happy. You can be on beautiful Nye beach in just a few skips and some stairs. The rooms are not huge but they are clean and comfortable, and the hotel is well maintained. Front desk staff is personable and responsive. Free hot breakfast was more than adequate. There’s a small fitness room. There is no pool, if that’s important to you. Fresh-baked cookies in the evening. Ample parking. I have nothing bad to say. Newport itself is nice little community. The harbor area is a real, working fishing village plus tourist attraction with shops and restaurants. Nye Beach is quant little village with restaurants and shops as well. The Oregon Coast Aquarium is close by. Great views from Yaquina Head Lighthouse a few miles away. It’s a great beach vacation here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Dear Robert: We really try our best to stay competitive so our guest can have great value and a great place to stay while in Newport . As you mentioned, we are near many options to eat or look around. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again! Sincerely Chuck Cummings General Manager