Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darien Ct

New hotel, great location, great food.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location and food are great.
Cons: nothing.
Location: Waterfront, in the heart of newport. Walk to everything. Scooter rental right at the door, and the hotel has bikes to use at no charge.
Hotel is great. It is new, not refurbished, so ceiling height, floors, bathroom tile....everything is very clean and new.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Rafaela Radcke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great comments. We look forward to have you with us next time. Happy Summer!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

41-North Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Attitude of wait staff and bar tenders
Real Estate was beautiful and the location is perfect however the hotel staff was completely snobby. Receptionist and valet folks was cordial but the rest of the staff was horrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

In the heart of Newport.

Posted May 23, 2017
Stayed here for my Sons graduation from URI. Outstanding place. Staff was incredibly polite and knowledgeable of the local area. Beautiful place with great views. My room was spotless and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by LOUIS

Great hotel in center of town.

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nicely decorated hotel, very modern look, staff was excellent, centrally located. I have stayed at 3 other area hotels and this was the best by far.
5 out of 5
by Lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Was excited about the room initially but that quickly changed. First several of the lights in the hotel room did not work and the lighting was overal poor. Then around midnight we started to smell smoke and after looking around we discovered that the light suspended from the ceiling next to the bed was smoking and the room stunk as a result and left my girlfriend nervous simply about sleeping after we realized it was an electrical issue that we could do nothing about. Upon calling downstairs to tell the service desk the guy said he had no other room for us and better yet there was no fan and that we should probably just open the window...duh! To their credit in the morning the new servIce person said she would take away the resort fee and parking fee and also send me a gft certificate. Was initially fine with that but I still got charged for parking and I'm still waiting for that gift certificate several weeks later. So to summarize way way overpriced, rooms nothing special, half the lamps didn't work and one almost caught on fire. Thank goodness for the location because I love newport but as you can imagine we won't be staying there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome place. Highly recommended
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Booked two rooms and had to cancel one due to family illness. We got no credit toward that room or the opportunity to reschedule. The other couple we had planned the trip with had a rather unpleasant visit there (after we raved about a previous stay). The wifi did not work, the fireplace was broken - among other issues. They ultimately were moved to another room and in that room they had no hot water. Stayed in another well reviewed Newport hotel just a few weeks ago and opted to go back to 41 North. Wish we just booked the other hotel -- it was half the price and it was a lovely experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant, warm, great location, and wonderful staff

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Forty 1 North is a dream. My wife and I were commenting that it feels like a luxury cruise ship. The layout, the design, the common areas, and warmth of the room were all very inclusive and rich feeling. The staff is amazingly friendly and the property couldn't be closer to all the great restaurants in town. There's a wonderful fireplace area across from the bar, where we spent a lot of time reading.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel on the waterfront in Newport

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The room was beautiful, and clean. Spacious areas in the lobby for relaxing, reading, pool table, and TV. Exceptional staff!
Cons: No coffee machine in room or lobby. Extremely noisy flag poles right outside of our windows. Kept us awake. Some mold on shower ceiling.
Beautiful hotel, with wonderful staff. Lovely location on the water with outside dining. Unfortunately, it was to chilly in Oct during our stay for that. The staff was very accommodating and even showed us to our room and explained everything. There are several seating areas downstairs to sit by the fire and read or enjoy a glass of wine. Also a bar and restaurant that overlook the water. It is located right in downtown Newport with easy access to many restaurants and shops.