Ratings based on 1,381 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We stayed for one night as part of a stopover for a long drive. The rooms were really nice and comfortable and an amazing breakfast buffet. Easy to to get to from the motorway and lots of free parking. I would use this hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to motorway

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Closeness to M4 & staff on reception!
Cons: Replenishing buffet area!
Normally it would be easy to get to from M4, but due to road works/closures it meant quite a detour in the evening, but next morning on departure it was great! Staff on arrival were very friendly & booking in speedy, same when we left. Room was lovely & clean & comfortable! We enjoyed our breakfast, but refills of cutlery were a bit slow & had to search around for knives. Hope to stay again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting friends

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, lovely and clean and good breakfast
Cons: No
Always a pleasant welcome and excellent facilities, have used before and will use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warwickshire

Utilitarian but fine, staff lovely

Posted Oct 15, 2017
friendly staff, nice room great location. Really recommend as a great base if you don’t know the area. Sawyers just a short stroll away is a brill diner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kingswinford

Great hotel for business strays!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Room was dark and only one chair to sit on apart from bed! Curtains and decor could have been brighter! Breakfast facilities was excellent as well as friendly staff! Would suit business people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall UK

Excellent value offered by the Expedia deal

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Clean, light, modern and airy
Cons: Bathroom/wardrobe door should slide more easily.
Location: Very convenient for Newport, yet away from the city itself.
The modern feel of this hotel raises its atmosphere above other hotels in this price range. The rooms,corridors and communal spaces are light and airy. The staff are polite and quick to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Truly lovely hotel, we booked last minute for a spontaneous weekend away. The staff who welcomed us were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was lovely, most of all clean. We spent two nights here and the breakfast is lush! So much choice and again clean and fresh we loved it. We spent the day in Cardiff and the night in the local village which is also just lovely. Perfect spot, we will be returning one day, thanks 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stop over hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: coffee machine was slow (in fact it broke)
Location: Move it to the Maldives and it would be perfect (keep prices the same)
Great stay, great breakfast, great staff, comfy, clean, good value for money, family friendly - what more do you need (if that's all you want?????)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location, excellent rooms and friendly staff.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I booked this hotel as a central location for my trips and family days out to beaches in Swansea and Cardiff, Cadbury world in Birmingham and a family friend visit in Swindon. It served well as each of the above locations were approximately 1hr 15 mins drive from the hotel. Perfectly planned and executed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Short Family Holiday

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The staff always met us with a smile and were always responded well to any questions or queries. They were nice to speak to at all times.
Cons: - No child facilities i.e. a play area or equipment, as stated above.
Location: Approximately 10-15 minutes drive ways (Newport Retail Park) shopping centre with all the well named shops including a cinema and gym.Castle 30 mins.
- Hotel cleaners were great, assisted whenever possible and cleaned the room very well and always left fresh towels, and replaced toilet paper (with a family of four, we usually have to constantly ask in other hotels) and tidied before they left. A job well done. - We are GF due to health issues as well as vegan and they provided more than adequately for our stay for our meals, ensuring we were happy each morning with our meals and if they could do more (Matthew - who worked in the kitchen was particularly accommodating - even when times were busy) he made sure that we were well catered for. - No child facilities i.e. a play area or equipment. If it advertises that families are welcomed or provides for a family, it should have at least one play area for children to relax, just like adults. Maybe outside the seating area where there are many tables to sit: a small climbing frame or play set can be situated; and parents/carers can watch while they have a meal or just relax with a beverage. - Bed was particularly disappointing for the children. It was lumpy, had very sharp edges, which they kept banging their legs on, and a very thin mattress which offer little to no comfort. Quite a few restless nights for the children, which meant restless nights for the us, the parents. - You will need a car as most locations (castles) to visit are in close proximity to M4. However, the large Retail Park that was nearby had a great number of well known shops, as well as a cinema.