Ratings based on 1,369 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Truly lovely hotel, we booked last minute for a spontaneous weekend away. The staff who welcomed us were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was lovely, most of all clean. We spent two nights here and the breakfast is lush! So much choice and again clean and fresh we loved it. We spent the day in Cardiff and the night in the local village which is also just lovely. Perfect spot, we will be returning one day, thanks 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stop over hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: coffee machine was slow (in fact it broke)
Location: Move it to the Maldives and it would be perfect (keep prices the same)
Great stay, great breakfast, great staff, comfy, clean, good value for money, family friendly - what more do you need (if that's all you want?????)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location, excellent rooms and friendly staff.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I booked this hotel as a central location for my trips and family days out to beaches in Swansea and Cardiff, Cadbury world in Birmingham and a family friend visit in Swindon. It served well as each of the above locations were approximately 1hr 15 mins drive from the hotel. Perfectly planned and executed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Short Family Holiday

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The staff always met us with a smile and were always responded well to any questions or queries. They were nice to speak to at all times.
Cons: - No child facilities i.e. a play area or equipment, as stated above.
Location: Approximately 10-15 minutes drive ways (Newport Retail Park) shopping centre with all the well named shops including a cinema and gym.Castle 30 mins.
- Hotel cleaners were great, assisted whenever possible and cleaned the room very well and always left fresh towels, and replaced toilet paper (with a family of four, we usually have to constantly ask in other hotels) and tidied before they left. A job well done. - We are GF due to health issues as well as vegan and they provided more than adequately for our stay for our meals, ensuring we were happy each morning with our meals and if they could do more (Matthew - who worked in the kitchen was particularly accommodating - even when times were busy) he made sure that we were well catered for. - No child facilities i.e. a play area or equipment. If it advertises that families are welcomed or provides for a family, it should have at least one play area for children to relax, just like adults. Maybe outside the seating area where there are many tables to sit: a small climbing frame or play set can be situated; and parents/carers can watch while they have a meal or just relax with a beverage. - Bed was particularly disappointing for the children. It was lumpy, had very sharp edges, which they kept banging their legs on, and a very thin mattress which offer little to no comfort. Quite a few restless nights for the children, which meant restless nights for the us, the parents. - You will need a car as most locations (castles) to visit are in close proximity to M4. However, the large Retail Park that was nearby had a great number of well known shops, as well as a cinema.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Great hotel, good location, excellent breakfast. Would recommend staying at.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

No fridge & safety box

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Nice food, very clean & good staffs.Thank you.😊😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

The hotel was easy to find.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Clean, easy parking, nice breakfast and comfy beds.
We had booked this hotel as we were going to a concert in Cardiff . The only problem we had was getting out of Cardiff the traffic was not organised at all it took us 3 hours to get back to the hotel but the concert was worth .so just be prepared it will take awhile even though it's about 30-40 minutes to the hotel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burton on Trent

Lovely hotel modern and clean

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Had difficulty getting into Cardiff as roads where blocked due to Coldplay being in town so the taxi had to divert so we could get into Cardiff by train. Katherine on reception was extremely helpful, sorted out taxi for us and also best place to park in Cardiff when we travelled in the following day. 24 hour, so we where able to have a sandwich and drink at 2am which was great and lovely atmosphere in the bar area. Although the majority of folks had like us been to see an amazing Coldplay concert. The bathrooms where modern and clean and bed comfy. Downside was breakfast was very busy and crowded, area not really big enough and unfortunately, machine coffee. I miss staff coming round at breakfast with a proper jug of filtered coffee but I think most hotels are liike this now unfortinately.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location without any comfort

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great location for motorway links. Not sure I've ever slept in such an uncomfortable bed before (and I'd been drinking all day!) nor had such a nightmare of an experience of getting the lamest breakfast at a hotel before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Lovely stay, delicious breakfast & plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby. Easy access to the motorway meant it was a breeze to leave & continue our journey the next day.