Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Suitable

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The hotel offered very good value and was suitable with friendly staff, but is extremely tired and in desperate need of a total refit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spain

Nice hotel with some serious problems.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms.
Cons: separate lounge and bar for guests, or that wedding receptions etc do not use the same area.
Location: Roman centre. Hotel is just off a motor way.
The hotel is accessible by car and not as readily accessible by rail or air. The main problem is that the hotel hosts many functions such as wedding receptions. It does not have separate accommodation for these receptions and functions. The use the same facilities as do hotel guests. After a days work it is not beneficial to have to share the one bar and lounge with 200 or so boisterous wedding guests who seem to want to drink as much as possible as quickly as possible. Children loud and boisterous running loose everywhere. Other amenities such as the gym and pool are available to hotel guests. Rooms are good , clean and comfortable. I would recommended that any guest using this hotel and wanting a quiet and peaceful relaxing time; first check that there are no wedding receptions or functions being held during their stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derby

Nice hotel close to newport

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Found it easily, checking was efficient and friendly. Had the gym to myself and a table reserved at the restaurant when I checked in. Food was ok. My veg curry was nicely spiced but a bit watery. Room was comfortable and the choice of pillows is a nice touch. Breakfast was good and checkout was again efficient and friendly. Will certainly stay there on my next trip to newport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Pleasantly surprised.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
We stayed for two nights and could not have found staff anywhere more helpful and friendly.The rooms were a very good size, comfy bed, tea coffee etc in the room and immaculate. The restaurant was lovely, food good. Plenty of parking outside. Very good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

require invoice

Posted Aug 24, 2017
overnight stay was ok. would like an invoice for the total bill but was told could not get one because book by a corporate account. would be obliged if you would forward one to this email as soon as possible please. kind regards, Anita Sinclair
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The room was bit hot. Good basic hotel with a very good buffet breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was comfortable quiet and to our requirements which was a place to stay while visiting family, so the location for us was spot on
5 out of 5
by Steven

Wish I had had my swimming trunks.

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Food OK. Bar good. Service excellent. Don't go there during a heat wave as the air conditioning kept getting overloaded and tripping out. Otherwise, not bad at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for local amenities

Posted May 29, 2017
Tired hotel, in need of updating, but comfortable enough and a lovely breakfast. Greeted by a very grumpy receptionist who hardly made us feel welcome! Spoke about our booking to another receptionist in a rude manner as though we weren't present. Our two rooms were nowhere near each other. When I asked for the WiFi code I was told there wasn't one and that I must have opened the wrong page... And was then given a slip of paper with a WiFi code on it... Shame it was such a bad start as it overshadowed the entire stay really.
5 out of 5
by lee from london

Newport overnight stop

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Room facilities fantastic.Brilliant staff. Just a little dated on the exterior of the building. but I'm staying in the hotel not on the roof.