Ratings based on 1,698 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Romantic weekend

Posted Jan 22, 2018
We had another wonderful stay at our favorite Newport hotel. The staff member at check in, Elaine, was courteous and kind and gave us information on local happenings. The lobby and lounge are comfortable and modern. Our room was lovely with decor reflecting the history of the hotel yet modern luxury. We spent time in both the bar and restaurant with no complaints. Great service, value and food. We look forward to our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Warm stay in frigid weather

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Enjoyed our stay at the hotel during a very cold night. Only glitch was our first room was cold and could not warm it up but hotel staff was very accommodating and changed our room which was toasty warm. Great dinner at One Bellevue and finished night listening to a really good band! We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
We are happy to see our team was able to respond to your challenge and that the remainder of your stay was great. We look forward to having you back with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable Hotel!!!

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Especially that we have to switch room three times in two days, one during midnight without lights inside the room. Maybe the next time I bring my own generator or a certified electrician. The food is good at the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
We apologize for the issues that you experienced while you were with us. We do not take these issues lightly and have already address some of the things you mentioned with our team. We thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Hotel has changed

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We have been coming here for over 10 years, staying a few times a year, usually over the holidays or Fall. We have always thought well of the experience as a top hotel. This visit we were so disappointed; paint peeling in bathroom, mold, main lobby bathroom needed updating. New bar sits almost in the lobby. They charge you $4 for a cup of coffee in lobby in the morning. Looks like they are trying to save $ . It's clearly affecting the experience as a top hotel. Not worth the $ at this point. Better experience at other hotels for less money. Hope they turn this around. We will not be going there in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Lisa, We do apologize for your negative experience with us during your recent stay. The team will work hard to make sure the items you noticed in your room and lobby are corrected. We are also renovating the guestrooms this winter so we hope you will visit again next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand belle gone to seed

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: Location to family was within walking distance.
Cons: Remove the resort fee, coffee with creamers in room, get rid of the pump toiletries
Location: You still need to drive to get to the mansions, and walking into town is a bit longer.
Not sure what the resort fee is for, other hotels have free wifi, pool and coffee. So the extra 20 per day is questionable. Though the hotel looks nice the rooms are showing their age and lack of maintainable. We stayed two nights and returned to the hotel at 4 to rest and get ready for dinner. The room still wasn't made up. Not worth the monies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
We apologize our stay did not meet the expectations you had when visiting the property. We will review your comments and make the corrections we can so that future guests do not have the same challenges as you endured. Thank you for sharing your comments with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas get away

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: The staff, lobby, location.
Cons: Heating not consistent in rm, sounded like an airplane taking off. The floors in BR like ice. Bathtub needs to be replaced, tile & ceiling repaired
Location: Shopping, mansions, and wonderful restaurants.
Fancy hotel, greeted by doormen very pleasant and helpful. Valet quick to respond. The hotel was decked out with festive holiday music piping. Well dressed lobby with a fireplace going and cozy little nooks to have intimate conversations while being in the hub of all the activities. The staff was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly, a shout out for Elaine, who checked us in and helped us a few times throughout our stay to recommend restaurants or give directions. Amenities, such as the gym, pool and jacuzzi were on par with a fancy hotel, a spa and movie night also available to be taken advantage of. We requested extra glasses and towels, housekeeping very responsive. We enjoyed our stay! The location was very convenient to shops and restaurants. Unfortunately our room had seen better days, bathrooms and sink in separate ares, floors freezing. Tub area and tile needs repair, ceilings have seen repairs. We requested the newer part of the hotel and was told our room was in the newer part, I wonder what the more vintage rooms looked like.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
We are happy to see that the staff and location made your stay a more memorable one. We are renovation our guestrooms over the off-season and will take care of the issues that you mentioned. We hope to see you again next year to see what we have done. Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Patterson, NY

Needed a room last minute

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, location and cleanliness!
Cons: Nothing!!
Location: The location is perfect! It's a short walk down into town.
Was picking up my daughter from Salve Regina University for Christmas Break. The prediction was for snow and possible ice. I decided that would head to Newport earlier to beat the bad weather on my end. I logged onto Expedia & booked a room last minute (Saturday night for Sunday). The hotel staff is always friendly & very accommodating to requests. I was upgraded from a manor room to an estate room which was greatly appreciated. As always at the Viking Hotel, my room was clean & the bed was so comfortable. I love the location of the Viking Hotel. It's an added bonus that if you don't want to leave, they have a bar in the lobby and a great restaurant. I forgot to mention valet parking which is very nice especially in these cold months.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Andrea, We are so excited to hear that you had a perfect stay. Our team works hard to make sure every guest has a unique and memorable experience while staying with us. We look forward to you visiting in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Every staff member we encountered was very nice. They were great but the stay wasn’t. Our room felt like we were outside & we froze all night even though there was a thermostat in the room. The person above us paced the floors & sounded like they were going to fall through our ceiling from 6am until 7 when I called to complain. The pool was nice & big but cold & the hot tub could only comfortably fit 4 people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
We do apologize about the heating and noise issues that you experienced while you were with us. We are glad to see that the team members were able to add a positive element to your stay. We will look into all your comments and make improvements for the future. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester, Ma

Nice Place very small room

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: The pool and hot tub were nice. The staff was friendly.
Cons: A few areas in the hotel seemed a bit run down. The walls and ceilings in the pool area could use some touching up.
Location: The location is very convenient. Close to all shops and places to dine within walking distance.
I was not expecting such confined space. The bathroom was also tiny. Not much room to put anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Burt, We thank you for your review of the hotel and great comments about the team. We will be making some improvements to the areas that you mentioned over the off-season so we hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine & Mass

Upscale and close to everything

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Very courteous and helpful staff. Nice location restraurant service somewhat slow-food ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Michelle and Bill, We are so happy to see that the staff was a positive part of your experience with us. We will work to improve our services and food quality so that also is a positive part of your next visit. Thank you for staying with us!