Ratings based on 1,402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice hotel on Bellevue Ave

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Stayed at Hotel Viking for two nights on our first trip to Newport. The hotel was clean. The lobby had plenty of sitting areas where you can enjoy free beverages such as lemonade, tea, and coffee. The staff at the desk were friendly and knowledgeable. We arrived before check in time and were able to get our room keys. The gym and pool area are open early to late which is convenient. Valet parking staff quickly manage cars coming in and out at all times. Would stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal ,Canada

Chambre au sous sol pas bon

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Emplacement
Cons: Piscine à ameliorer
Location: Tres bien
Bonne des l ensemble , chambre au sous sol ce n était pas tres Interessant .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york

Nice hotel.. It's in the area..

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Had a grand time, hotel staff where great and very nice, location was excellent, I had a great experience.. thanks again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to welcome you. We are delighted to read you had a great time at our hotel. Your kind remarks are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Viking again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Hotel was very welcoming, was surprised by the $35 parking fee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was quite helpful!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Convenience to great restaurants.
Staff would take the time to address any questions I had. They were always considerate and quick to respond to inquiries. There was no delay in making sure I had my car when needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It was great to welcome you and we appreciate your wonderful review. Our team strives to provide experiences like yours to all of our guests and I look forward to sharing your comments with them. It was our pleasure to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Viking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 20, 2016
For what was billed as a boutique hotel experience, really disappointed with our stay. While we had some great experiences with the bar and spa staff, most staff seemed disinterested and not particularly helpful with the patrons. We had a fire drill and none of the staff really seemed to know what to do or give any guidance to people during the alarm. And while we had a small but well appointed room, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable. Really expected much, much more for the $$ we paid for our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Although you were able to enjoy our spa and bar during your stay, I regret we fell short of ensuring your complete satisfaction. Your feedback will be shared with our team as we further improve upon our guests' experiences here. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
A nice hotel in a great location. What you expect from 4 stars. $15 resort fee seems unreasonable for what most hotels include in their room charge. The hotel layout has very long corridors and some stairs to get to most rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and your feedback is appreciated. Our resort fee includes a wide range of amenities including wireless internet service, valet service, transportation and more. We hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Viking again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Getaway

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff and the valet staff
Cons: Housekeeping. The condition of the room. New mattresses and mattress pads/covers. Updated showers.
Location: Within walking distance of downtown Newport. Close to the beaches and the Mansions.
The staff were wonderful and exuded customer service at both the front desk and the Valet services. Housekeeping however needs to be taught how to clean a room. Were left with less than half a roll of toilet paper on the roll and no spare roll. We had to call the front desk, to get more toilet paper, at a most inconvenient time. The floor was not vacuumed and the mattress had only a bottom sheet with no matress cover. You could see brown satins, either blood or other bodily fluid on the mattress through the sheet. It was disguisting. The drain in the shower clogged and again we had to call the front desk to get it fixed. I would not recommend nor stay at this hotel again. It's a shame because with a little attention it could be a 5 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Hotel Mgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. While we are happy to read that our front desk and valet staff were able to ensure you had an exceptional experience, we regret we fell short of ensuring your complete satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back so we may provide you with a better experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Greenwich, RI

Beautiful Historic Hotel in the Heart of Newport

Posted Aug 14, 2016
I stayed at the beautiful hotel Viking with my sisters this week. We could not be more pleased with the hotel facilities and staff. When we arrived our room was ready. We had a lovely room with two queen beds overlooking the courtyard. The hotel is conveniently located and is close by to all that Newport has to offer. In the evening we enjoyed a drink at the rooftop bar and listened to the live entertainment. I wish the rooftop opened earlier for lunch but only because we are early birds and wanted to eat before touring. As Expedia VIP guests we were offered a late check out time. This enabled us to walk to Annie's for breakfast as the breakfast at the hotel was a little pricey and we were looking for something a little less fussy. We also used the pool in the morning before heading out for the day. Overall a wonderful stay! #Staycation
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your sisters for your staycation! We are glad you had the chance to enjoy our evening entertainment at our rooftop restaurant, Top of Newport. Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Viking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Great overnight stay. Room was small but bed was comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
It was great to welcome you to The Hotel Viking. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we hope you have the chance to visit us again the next time you are in Newport. Thank you.