Ratings based on 1,466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Good location, we came for a wedding so didn't do much exploring but would like to return at another time.
Clean quiet room. Staff was very helpful. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.goo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Everything is wonderful. We are a family of four and are very happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Freehold, NJ

Great Option for Newport

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The location was good; close to downtown Newport by car. The hotel was clean and the lobby area seemed updated. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: In general I thought that everything was fine. If I had to pick on something, the shower wasn't that great in terms of water pressure, etc.
Location: The mansions and downtown Newport are a quick drive away. We have stayed further away in the past and this was much more convenient.
We stayed in the Howard Johnson Inn during our visit to Newport, RI. The hotel was relatively close to the mansion (10-15 min by car). The price was good (better than other similar hotels). The hotel was very clean and the staff were very nice. We were greeted with cookies and fruit at the front door. The hotel was a bit nicer than what I expected in terms of the lobby and the breakfast. The room was also fine for what we needed. If you are looking for a clean room in a decent hotel, then this could be a good option. I think it was as good as the Courtyard we stayed in previously and paid less money for it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from franklin, ma

Nice hotel, short drive to all amenities

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Comfortable beds, two sinks, continental breakfast
Cons: Carpet needs changing along with odor control
Location: Downtown Newport nearby
Room nice but dark and musty smelling. Lots of parking. Great staff in lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to Newport

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: We drove our own car to the hotel, it is pretty close to everything.
Cons: There is no elevator.
The room was very clean and confortable. The lobby and breakfast area is airy, modern furnished and it has a fireplace. Breakfast was decent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Updated, clean, comfortable, and a great value!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Everything. Cookies, breakfast, friendly staff, location, value for the cost.
Location: Within a short distance are plenty of places to eat. Try Beckys BBQ for dinner, and the hitch a ride down to the Red Parrot for a drink
This Howard Johnsons proves that the brand is no longer in the era of orange roofs and strange architecture. Check in was quick and easy. The lobby is recently renovated and set up for the business traveler that wants to do a little work outside of their room. Even with the hustle and bustle of the boat show, staff was riendly and attentive Room was clean and spacious. It is a little bit from downtown Newport. Its a toss up whether to walk or drive. Taxis are available. I would easily recommend this as a place to stay while in the Newport area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
It was nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable. We were only there for a night, so we arrived later and left early. The breakfast was good. Parking was free.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The room was clean. Staff helpful. I left my kindle and they called me and mailed it to me. Staff is honest. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Günstiges Hotel am Rande von Newport

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Wir (deutsche Familie mit 17jährigem Sohn) verbrachten 2 Tage in diesem Hotel. Die Lage ist etwas abseits, aber gut um Newport zu erkunden (10 min. bis zu den Mansions). Das Zimmer war groß und sauber. Frühstück ist inclusive. Das daneben liegende Restaurant Applebees hat uns gut gefallen. Das Hotel ist zu diesem Preis eine empfehlenswerte Unterkunft.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Close to downtown Newport

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, pool and sauna. Good breakfast, nice staff, good thoughtful management. All necessary amendments.
Location: Close to the places to see and to eat
Very pleasant stay: quick check-in and check-out, comfortable beds, all necessary amenities even more, good breakfast, spacious and modern lobby and eating area. No complains at all! Thanks for nice time.