Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Methuen, MA

Loved the renovations

Posted Jan 14, 2017
It was very comfortable and clean. Can't wait to go back. The renovations were very nice and we especially loved the water feature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Hotel for Central location

Posted Dec 19, 2016
My stay at the W. Main Rd HOJO was pleasant. Complimentary breakfast was plentiful, staff very attentive and inviting. Despite the cold weather Rhode Island serves this time of year, it's a good choice for central location and the chosen many attractions were less than a 15min drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Room was spacious and the staff were great. The lounge was good with the fireplace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice motel just a few minutes from Newport, R

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, fresh, bright feeling.
Location: Easy access to Newport, RI and all the historic sites The Applebee's Restaurant colocated with the HoJo was awful. Bad food, uncaring manager.
This Howard Johnson was a very pleasant surprise. The lobby was bright and inviting, and the staff was efficient, and courteous. The free cookies at the front desk reinforced the idea that this was a motel that cared. Parking was plentiful and convenient to the building entrances. The hallways were bright and smelled fresh and clean. The room was large and well furnished with all the amenities you would expect. I especially like the second sink outside the bathroom door. The free wifi had a password. The lobby breakfast was what you'd expect, but the buffet area was clean and kept well stocked. We didn't use the indoor pool or hot tub, but it looked inviting as did the small fitness area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

would stay again

Posted Nov 19, 2016
We stayed here for one night during a road trip, didn't want to spend too much money but a little bit picky about motels. glad we found this place, it exceeded my expectations, felt very comfortable and the pool is a big plus. Also, the staff at the front desk was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ew Mexico

Very nice hotel, close to Naval Base.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Clean, very friendly staff & breakfast was great. Enjoyed my stay at this comfortable and affordable hotel! Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Newly renovated with super friendly staff.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: It was newly renovated, so everything was clean, the staff was overly friendly and helpful and a breakfast buffet was included in an already cheap price.
Cons: The heating/AC unit was close to the head of the bed, so left you feeling dried out.
Location: Very close to downtown Newport, so you can easily drive there for dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best deal in Middletown,RI

Posted Nov 14, 2016
I didn't expect it to be a good a deal as it was. It was extremely clean, the staff was wonderful plus the 10% discount at applebees was a nice perk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Room was very clean and comfortable. Convenient location.
Cons: Staff didnt give me info about WiFi or continental breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Close to cliff walk and ITHF where were our destinations.
Hotel a bit old but well kept up. Great services. Staff very friendly. Loved the delux BF.