Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pet friendly hotel!

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Found it very easy to book a pet friendly room. Overall staff is incredibly nice and accommodating. We needed to check in earlier than 3 and although they couldn't promise a room before then I received a phone call an hour later saying our room was ready. Good, quiet, location close to the wharf with off street parking. Rooms were spacious and very clean, bed was comfy, couch was very uncomfortable, bathroom had lovely rainfall shower. If you're traveling with a pet make sure to ask about the pet policy - you willl need to bring a crate or carrier in order to leave your pet in the room alone for any amount of time. Luckily Newport is very pet friendly and I was able to find restaurants and shops that would allow a dog...unfortunately was unable to go to any of the attractions I had wanted to go due to this. Next time I will have to leave my dog at home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by allan

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
We were upgraded to a suite . The rooms were very nice and the accommodations were excellent. The only problem were the ants in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on CheapTickets
Lovely hotel with a great location! Nice little touches like breakfast and afternoon tea/coffee. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
by Paul

Great hotel, wonderful location

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Best hotel in Newport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amherst, NH

Quick holiday getaway & meetup with family.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The Mill Street Inn is conveniently located in the heart of Newport. The staff do a great job making you feel welcome and your stay a pleasant experience. The Inn itself has a beautiful decor with nice updates to the rooms including modern appointments to the bathrooms. On the negative side the appointments in our sitting area were showing wear and signs of repeated use. The sofa was worn and the entire frame sagged. There was a single chair that at one time had a modern look was now stained, worn and not very comfortable. We had family visit us prior to heading out for dinner and the chair and sofa were simply inadequate even for a short visit. The hotel staff were accomodating and brought over two chairs but made it known that the chairs were from the breakfast area and needed to be returned prior to breakfast the following morning. Our suite was a king deluxe with a pullout accomodating a third person which was our teenage son. The bathroom was off the sitting area where he slept. We didn't expect two restrooms, but the overall room/bathroom layout was such that we had to carefully maneuver obstacles in the dark to make it to the restroom off the sitting area without waking him up and stubbing our toes on the furnture that was moved to accomodate his stay in tight quarters. Overall our stay was a pleasant experience and we would stay again. We do look forward to updates to the furniture in the suites for our next stay. Happy New Year to readers of our review.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Absolutely delightful stay

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is such a wonderful hotel with very attentive and friendly staff (Robert offered so many great suggestions for things to do), a full and delicious breakfast, and large rooms with great amenities, all very close (about 5 min walk) to all the restaurants and shopping. In each room is water, fruit and snacks (sweet covered pretzels and macadamia nuts in mine), brand name (Lather) amenities, and super thick robes. The rooms are spacious with a couch and dining table. The breakfast when I was there had frittatas, good bagels and cream cheese, fancy toast (with strawberries and bream cheese) and so many other goodies. Each afternoon there was coffee, tea, cocoa (with caramel and marshmallows) and fresh baked goodies, and each night around 7 a staff member offered turn down service, chocolates, and a summary paper of the weather and suggestions for things to do the next day. A similar welcome message greeted me when I arrived. Wifi worked great and free, off street parking rounds out an excellent hotel. I will definitely be staying again and have already recommended to to multiple people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Great location. Perfect for exploring Newport on foot.
The Mill Street Inn was perfect for our short visit to Newport. We were able to walk just about everywhere, including the lovely famous mansions - Breakers, Elms, etc and Newport's harbor and downtown area. The room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the little touches - jars of snacks (free), nice shower products, fresh bottle of water, etc. The breakfast was perfect with so many delicious options. We would absolutely stay again. Also, there was plenty of free parking, which is oddly unusual in Newport.