Ratings based on 1,110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Room wasn't ready when we got there staff were polite but made no move to get it ready any faster or do anything to compensate us for the inconvenience, they even have arritilyde about late checkout after only letting us into our room 2 and a half hours late
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Expensive for what it delivered. Currently no restaurant on premises
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The main hotel rooms were remodeled but you could tell the building was old. There were uneven floors with a new carpet placed on top of it. The actual room was small with low ceilings and you had to have just the right angel to open the door to the bathroom because it would either hit the bed or you. The one plus is that it was clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

It was a great location

Posted Aug 5, 2016
PROS: It was in a great location (across from the beach, the Cliffwalk, and walking distance to some casual restaurants), the staff was professional and nice, there was free Starbucks brand coffee in the lobby in the morning and fresh chilled tea, lemonade, and water there for the rest of the day, the bed was comfortable and had quality linens, decent size bathrooms, updated rooms, fridge and microwave, Ubers to downtown Newport were easy find ($3.75), 10 min walk to downtown. CONS: The hotel rooms are small (although I'm sure their suites located across the street and behind the hotel are much larger) , the lobby smelled like dog urine, it seemed like there was no AC in the halls, our entire room shook (not vibrated) when the hotel washer/dryer was on spin cycle, there were no chairs in front of the computers in the lobby or desk space to work. I'm guessing this was because they didn't want people hogging them. A sign that said "15 minute limit please" would have been a better option. Just had surgery, so it was difficult to stand. The restaurant that was there for years, is no longer there, and the Atlantic Beach Club that was located across the street (right on the beach and the only "hot spot" on the beach), is no longer there either. It is strictly a wedding venue now. You can't even sit on the beach in front of the place. Of course this is not the hotels fault, but very sad just same.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
It was about 4 minutes out of business district. My wife and I used uber to get around. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Newport Folk Festival - Cliff Walk,

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Bedding very comfy, pillow great. Clean, kind staff, free wine 4-5, free DVD's for kids. Comfy Robes, beach across the street. Indoor pool had big TV.
Cons: In room coffee maker not good, but fresh Starbucks in lobby starting at 6am.
Location: Cliff walk 3/4 mile down beach, Newport Downtown $6 Uber away if you don't want to find or pay for parking. Staff very nice including maid service.
Great Room!/ Rooms, ours had two bathrooms, two bedrooms and living area. Beach across the street, 3/4 mile walk to beginning of Cliff Walk. Complimentary Wine 4-5pm, Starbucks Coffee Free in lobby in am, along with Lemonade and water for the kids. Pool across the street in sister hotel, but robes were great, pool small but had TV! Roof top sauna beautiful at Sunset. Walked the cliff walk then took $6 uber home. Food in middletown not so great, worth driving into Newport to eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Great location just outside Newport (very close to Cliff Walk) on beach and great views depending on room. Big room with sitting area seperate from bedroom (both rooms had TVs), large bathroom, and microwave/large refrigerator. Downsides are that it's two buildings with different amenities in different locations and $12 for parking (more if you have multiple vehicles). Came for Newport Folk Festival when prices are inflated on top of peak season prices and rooms in town are sparse, would book room again for festival but maybe try somewhere else when Newport is less busy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hotel not really on the beach like it says

Posted Jun 25, 2016
The evening staff were pretty unhelpful. We stayed here for 6 nights, the only night the firepit was lit was the first night we were there. The other nights no one bothered to turn it on so the 4th night of trying to figure it out we finally got it working. There were literally never any towels in the pool and whirlpool area. One night we phoned the front desk to tell them and it no joke took them an hour to bring some. The hotel isn't "on the beach" like it's listed, it's actually next door. Also First Beach is notorious for being closed due to bacteria in the water. It was closed the whole time we were there. Lastly, this is the only hotel on Wave Avenue that charges for parking, so keep that in mind as well. The room we stayed in was in the "historic" building meaning it was super small. Maid service didn't usually come till the afternoon on the 3rd floor so we'd come back sometime at 2-3 and have to step out for a bit so they could clean it. Overall, not what I was expecting for a "Newport hotel". You'll probably get the same kind of experience at a less expensive hotel in Middletown.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016
The two bedroom room was perfect for little kids. The rate for the weekday was one of the better in the area. Close to cliff walk and flows clam shack.
4 out of 5
by PATRICIA

Hotel Histórico

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nos hospedamos apenas para pernoite, o hotel é antigo mas razoavelmente conservado, o quarto era espaçoso com vista para a praia. Os funcionários da recepção pareciam estar em treinamento e seus uniformes mereciam mais cuidado. Não servem café da manhã. Ótimo estacionamento, fácil acesso para quem está de carro.