Ratings based on 1,173 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newport charm

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and the staff
Cons: Offer breakfast
Location: Location is across the street from the beach and only a few minutes from downtown Newport
Check in went without a hitch. We had a room in the historic building. The room was clean and comfortable. The ceilings were lower than usually seen but realizing it is an old building. There was a slope in the floor but that only added to the charm. Everything was clean. The only complaint was the slow draining tub. There is a restaurant in the hotel but it is not open. It would be nice if the hotel offered at least a continental breakfast. I would stay again and would recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Return trip

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, very hospitable and helpful staff.
Location: Great seafood in the area. Visited and toured the Newport Storm / Thomas Tew distillery!!! Awesome time great rum!!!
We are very happy to return to the hotel. It is always very clean and well kept. We were a little disappointed to not get a room with an ocean view, but none the less it was a great stay. We do like to get the same room when we go there. The weather was great!!! The hot tub was enjoyable and is always clean. It seemed to be a very busy weekend for them. We will be returning to the hotel again and again!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quincy MA

Nice hotel, great beach and water view.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Hotel is about 100 feet from beach. Courteous staff
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
The Newport Beach Hotel and Suites is the best place to stay in Newport! The rooms are huge and beautifully updated and the staff is always so friendly and accommodating. Plus, nothing beats the rooftop hot tub. This is my second time there and definitely will not be my last.
5 out of 5
by Van from New Bedford,MA

Romantic

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
My stay with my girlfriend went very well. we had a nice romantic celebration for our anniversary and Valentines Day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Celebrated my best friends 50th birthday.

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The beds were very confortable and the bathroom was huge.
Cons: NA
Location: Plenty to do all around you even in late January
We had a group of 8 staying for the night. The downstairs bar was dry which was great. We brought our own liquor and had some snacks and had a blast before heading out to eat. Nice view and no disturbances. It was perfect.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

Never again

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
I know I am very late posting this review, but I stayed here with my husband in sept of 2016 and it was one of the worst experiences of my life. It started out great! We were upgraded from the historic building to the new one and give a beautiful suite! First night, we had noisy upstairs neighbors and management agreed to move us. The next day we moved out and waited to hear about our new room. By 4pm, we had not heard and returned back to the hotel. Only to over hear that they almost "oversold" the hotel because they forgot to put us in a new room and had already sold our current one. They told us our new room would not be ready for a while, but they gave us our keys. When we returned at 10pm, it was only to discover that with this beautiful room the plumbing did not work. The toliet would not flush! When we complained, we were supplied with an accordion plumber and told to fix it ourselves. The tub also did not drain correctly. Now my husband is very handy, and he could not get anything to work either. Having to use the facilities, I went downstairs 2 floors to the pool area, only to discover the door was locked, as it was a few min after 11. I went back upstairs and we complained to management again, only to be told to come use the bathroom across the street or they could unlock the pool. We wound up being "floated" to a different hotel for our last 2 nights. Absolutely terrible experience.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The water pressure in the shower was awful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Watch out for the bait and switch...

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The indoor swimming pool. The entire suite was amazing, Two large bed rooms, the best mattresses Two of the nicest baths rooms. So much more.
Cons: Teach the check-in staff how to make a good impression.
When we had arrived the staff tried to give us a room in the old building. I did not think the counter staff were friendly at all. The men that had cleaned our room (both Days) were great. First they told us that the new hotel was sold out, and we did not get a room it the new hotel. We wanted to use the indoor pool. They did not have one in the older hotel. We did not want to swim and then go outside and walk across the street to the older hotel. We told them that the add on the internet shows the new hotel. I said to them the review will depend on what they do from that point. Guess what a someone just cancelled there room. So we were able to stay in the newer hotel that had the photo in the add. (A photo is worth a thousand words,} The Hotel Suite, was one of the most beautiful Suites I have ever stayed in. It was a great deal price. A must see. If the counter staff would learn how to be nicer I would had given them a 4.5 rating....