Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mass

Very close to downtown.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Close to downtown, walking distance. Can walk to mansions but driving would be easier.
The room was nice, bathroom was spacious. The bed was really uncomfortable. We stayed 2 nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Found out on arrival that we were being moved to another property. Advance notice and chance to change our reservation was not made available. Property we were moved to (Black Duck Inn was not of the same caliber as original choice) was poorly furnished and breakfasts were just adequate. Would not recommend this property or any others owned by this group(Newport Blues Inn or Blue Jewel) as guest satisfaction and comfort is not a priority. Additionally, we could not get wifi in our room and had to go to sitting room downstairs to access. Also, staff would not recommend a restaurant as they stated it was against policy????? Too many other nice choices to settle for this type of mediocrity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Great Staff!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Cons: Larger tv in room, updated a/c
Location: Eating, drinking, dancing, shopping, siteseeing, tour the mansions, sail, fish or just beach it.
Spent three days at this B&B with a great location to Trinity Church and downtown Newport. Room was very clean as well as bathroom which was small but user friendly. Breakfast each morning was excellent, Joyce the chef prepared each plate with care & flair! The French toast was amazing. Parking was easy, just up the street at the Elks Club. Great Location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Inn!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
I stayed in the Narraganset Suite. The rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was great and the location can't be beat. Will definitely visit again!
5 out of 5
by sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kathy, Windsor Ct

Location

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Location Location. Originally we thought we were staying at the Newport Blues Inn, But was pleasantly surprised with a stay at the Black Duck Inn. I love this Bread and Breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Very comfortable stay and very close to shops and restaurants (wharfs). Staff were great.
4 out of 5
by Bryan from Golden

Charming Newport Gems

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Had business in Providence and decided to stay in Newport. The Inn was most charming and provided a relaxing respite. (I was actually swapped with my permission before check in to a sister property -- The Black Duck Inn -- located just down the street.) The owners were very friendly, the locations great and parking plentiful. My one comment would be to be sure and lock in the Newport Blues (as opposed to the Black Duck) if nighttime noise is a major concern. The Black Duck is only 2 blocks from the heart of the city, and music was noticeable until bar closing time. (I was working on Mountain time anyway, so it wasn't an issue for me.)
4 out of 5
by Michael from Hingham

Pleasant Surprise

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed there with my girlfriend over Memorial Day weekend. Inn is ideally located close to the water front and Thames Street shops. Room was clean, bathroom and showers updated, central air conditioning was key with the uncharacteristically warm weather we had so early in the season. The Inn and the overall level of service we received exceeded our expectations.
4 out of 5
by Henry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels