Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor Locks, CT

Great hotel for the weeknight price

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was great. The pool was warm and fun. It was close to many fun attractions, and you can walk to dinner nearby.
Cons: There was a very, very strong air freshener/cover up in the hallways which caused my kids' eyes to water and burn. It was not in our room.
Location: Second Beach as well as others (no rocks, very clean and soft sand), short drive to all the activities in Newport, the mansions, bird sanctuary.
I chose this hotel for its value and close drive to the beach. I knew in advance that it was not close enough to walk, however, was in reasonable driving distance to Newport and other beaches, specifically Second Beach. My kids and I both enjoyed the room a lot, it was comfortable and there were no issues. The staff was also engaging and helpful. I had booked three weeknights and actually inquired about staying a fourth; however, the cost for doing so was more than the three nights put together as it was a Friday night. This was unfortunate as unless they filled the room, they likely lost that sale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Nicholas , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not find our hallway air freshener pleasing. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfast and pool. We hope you come stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Hotel was just updated was very clean and homey feeling. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the staff was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the great feedback about your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and thought the staff was excellent. Just so you know, we think you're excellent too!! Regards, Nicholas Sales Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DE

For the price it was ok.

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: The price and the dining area for continental breakfast.
Cons: The size of the bathrooms, equipment working in the exersize room plus the doors need new security locks. The doors material were outdated.
Location: We traveled to Newport, RI. Loved the scenery plus the trip to Cape Code, MA and beached in MA.
The registration desk was able to accomodate us on another room because the first room was not up to par plus the refrigerator was only so cold, but they checked it and it was ok. I do think the bathrooms were very small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Lanie, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I am happy that you feel like you got a good value for the price. We strive to accommodate all our guests' needs. We hope to see you again! Regards, Nicholas - Sales Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2016
Dirty by pool...bloody bandaid and vomit on cement by pool
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Nick, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced with our pool area. We do our best to make sure our property is clean and comfortable. I assure you that the mess you saw by the pool must have been new, and was cleaned up promptly. I hope you give us another chance in the future to show you exceptional service. Regards, Nicholas King Sales Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location but that's it

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: ...
Cons: tear it down and rebuild.
reserved room not available due to construction. Offered room had mouse droppings - moved to another room with similar conditions and disrepair.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I apologize that the room you had requested was not available during your stay. We have been doing renovations in an effort to improve the quality of our guests' stays. I certainly understand how frustrating it can be to not have your expectations met. We hope that you will give us another chance if you're in the area again. Regards, Nichoals Sales Manager
3 out of 5
by Ethmy

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Ethmy, Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. Your feedback is important to us. Hope to see you again. Regards, Nicholas Sales Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good place for the price paid.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Very good price. Very average hotel. For the price paid, this is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Nicholas King, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing our property with out of 5 stars! We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again. Sincerely, Nicholas King Sales Manager
4 out of 5
by James

great for business.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was great. I was able to check in early and got a slight upgrade because my room was not ready.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thanks for rating us 4 of 5 stars! I am so happy to see you had a great stay. I love that fact that you got upgraded because your room wasn't ready, talk about turning a problem into an opportunity. See you next time, Nicholas Sales Manager
4 out of 5
by Donald from East Hampton, Connecticut , the other "East Hampton"

weekend getaway

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
weather was overcast, rainy the drive out to ft.Adams and beyond to Brenton point was senic
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Donald, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay, I am glad to see you gave us high marks. Although, I do wish the weather could have been better for you while you were here. See you next time. Regards, Nicholas Sales Manager
5 out of 5
by tasha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels