Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Tranquil Wales

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Good service and location (not too far from Cardiff)
Cons: Would like prior warning if I am being located in a lodge house rather than the main hotel The bar area could be improved.
Location: Cardiff city is about 45 mins drive away, yet deep in the countryside. Would welcome information in rooms about local things to do.
Lovely setting in the Welsh hills. Good welcome at reception. We were situated in one of the lodges which was fine as the weather was good, but wouldn't be great if it was cold/wet. Room fine. Spent a little time in the bar in the evening - it's a funny shaped space and a bit lacking in any character. Breakfast buffet good with tea and coffee servedon arrival and plates removed promptly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review of your stay with us. Simon Daniel - General Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Stunning setting, fantastic facilities.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: Setting and very relaxing
Location: A little tricky to find as postcode not recognised on sat nav but Google maps came to rescue! We were here as a base for a concert in Cardiff.
Beautiful relaxing settings HUGE comfy bed and very clean. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast choice was ample however i am vegetarian and didn't see any vegetarian options to the meat products, but didn't ask either. I only marked the condition down from a 5 as i thought that there were some areas that would benefit from a lick of paint. Lovely spa facilities which you had the option of using all day even after check out. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 100% review of your stay with us. Simon Daniel - General Manager
4 out of 5
by Tracey

First weekend away together

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a superior double room but was very happy to be upgraded to a Heritage room when we checked in which was lovely and spacious with a beautiful old bed and views onto the front garden. There are places that could do with a bit of attention but nothing that affected our stay. The grounds are pretty with places to sit and have a drink, weather permitting. We visited the pool area a couple of times during our 2 days and this was very relaxing. Would be nice if there was a little bit of natural light as it seemed a little dark at times. overall, would recommend both the hotel and the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valued feedback on your stay. Simon Daniel - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a lovely location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Met by friendly and helpful staff. Our room was second to none with an enormous comfy bed. Excellent dinner and fresh cooked breakfast. We loved our overnight stay and will come back for a longer stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
WOW! thanks for your fantastic review. Come back soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Well done to the staff

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel rooms have seen better days, the maintenance team needs to keep a closer eye on the rooms. The staff make up for the let down in the rooms and they are friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We were put in a building away from the hotel even though I am disabled , so had to walk down a road back and forth for for meals or drinks, in the room the carpet was terrible , it had stains all over , so left shoes on as it was uncomfortable walking around bare foot
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by SImon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am sorry you are so unhappy. We have a limited number of disabled rooms available, and i cannot find any record that you requested one when you booked. Simon Daniel - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Beds too soft - no support.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Ebookers
Rooms were fabulous but mattresses were way too soft and spongy. Staff were amazing and couldn't fault the food. Surroundings very picturesque. Would definitely go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by sImon Daniel, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your 5/5 review. Simon Daniel - General Manager
5 out of 5
by Ellie

Great escape

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel in beautiful setting. Room and staff excellent. Food really good. My only down side was internet connection in my room. Everything else made my solo trip very enjoyable. I will be visiting again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for our 5/5 review. I hope you come back soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant and beautiful

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Absolutely stunning with excellent views and service. Pool area is brilliant would definetly come back and stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thanks for our 5/5 review. Simon Daniel - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Recent Stay at Ramada, Usk

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The lovely quiet setting and we had a lovely spacious room. As it is nearing Christmas the courtyard was decorated with lights very welcoming.
Cons: As we are elderly our room could have benefitted from another higher chair to sit on. There was a lovely chesterfield sofa and one high wooden chair.
Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Conveniently placed to travel to Cardiff and Newport. All in all a very pleasant stay - could not fault the staff who were all very friendly and made you feel so welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to re-view your stay with us. Simon Daniel - General manager