Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Well placed hotel for visiting Usk

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: It is spacious and has character. The grounds are extensive although the weather prevented us from enjoying them. A great stay all round.
Location: Hotel is well placed for visiting Usk, Caerleon, Newport and Abergavenny.
We stayed here for one night when we came to see the Tour of Britain cycle race and to see to some family business. The room was comfortable and the evening meal in the restaurant was enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Relaxing and restoring

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, locality, spa
Location: Usk castle and lots of nice places to walk with lovely scenery
Myself and my partner really loved this hotel it seems like your in the middle of no where but your close enough to shops if you don't mind a short drive. The walks around the hotel are beautiful as well. So on to the nitty gritty. The staff here were all very helpful - not your usual cardboard Ramada greeting (these guys had personality) and the food both bar and restaurant is worth the money and more (try to leave room for desert!). Before I visited I saw most reviews were positive except for the state of the rooms and I agree with those reviews to some extent but I would comment on the fact that this is a 16th Century property so cut it some slack if the corner of your room has a crack in it (its called character) and if you frequent these older style properties then you are aware like me that you would need to paint/re-plaster every month if you wanted to keep it spotless so be nice :) On to the spa, the massage I had was lovely although I wasn't keen on being sold to straight after my relax... (takes away from the relaxing vibe) and the facilities were clean and a good size for the venue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5/5 review of your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pleasant stay. Hotel excellent. Rooms bright and clean. Lovely setting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your 5 star review of your stay with us. Simon Daniel - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Tranquil Wales

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Good service and location (not too far from Cardiff)
Cons: Would like prior warning if I am being located in a lodge house rather than the main hotel The bar area could be improved.
Location: Cardiff city is about 45 mins drive away, yet deep in the countryside. Would welcome information in rooms about local things to do.
Lovely setting in the Welsh hills. Good welcome at reception. We were situated in one of the lodges which was fine as the weather was good, but wouldn't be great if it was cold/wet. Room fine. Spent a little time in the bar in the evening - it's a funny shaped space and a bit lacking in any character. Breakfast buffet good with tea and coffee servedon arrival and plates removed promptly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review of your stay with us. Simon Daniel - General Manger
4 out of 5
by Glynn

The nearlies of a possible perfect special stay

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly and helpful they definitely get a 4 would have been a 5 but we got no response or apology when questioned if fountain outside could be turned off on our second night as it kept us awake on our first. Room was spacious with two tub chairs nice comfortable bed. Bathroom also spacius with both bath and shower would have been a 5 for room but gets a 4 due to the noise from the fountain wasn't loud but constant trickle was enough to rob sleep. Food was ok to good. Usual prices these days same on drinks. Breakfast gets a 5, bacon was excellent scrambled eggs didn't have that watery feel same for the boiled mushrooms they were excellent and the bread was amazing. Got to say whatever cleaning solution is used on all tables it needs to be changed as it left that beer stained sticky feel! Spa was excellent and gets a 4 low lightinging was nice and really good for the body conscious. Good size pool for swimming, spa would have got a 5 but the steam room was almost pointless no real steam. I talked to a regular who's raised it so many times that he's given up! No control either on unruly children even though there are plenty of signs to be ignored, our first night saw quite a few families happy to see their children dive bombing the pool. Killed the idea of a relaxing spa. Thankfully second day they were gone and we could relax. Staff need to keep that in check to be honest. Location of hotel is excellent very beautiful surroundings and gets a 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed-back. I am sorry that our fountain and other guest upset you. We will use your comments to improve our service. Simon Daniel - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Lovely hotel in peaceful grounds

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Ebookers
Lovely hotel - room was fantastic, very spacious with lots of character. Bathroom was also great - really large bath in a light and airy space. Spa was really enjoyable too. Hotel set in nice grounds with ample outdoor seating. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I hope you are able to return soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager
5 out of 5
by Will

Enjoyed staying here in 2014 and just as good now

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Check in friendly and efficient, room spacious with plenty of storage only let down by a bathroom door that didn't fit properly, all the staff we came across were ultra friendly and the grounds were picturesque. We had one meal, in the bar and it was well presented and enjoyable. Breakfast had plenty of variety so no criticism there. We have stayed here before, 3 years ago, we would have no problem staying again and visiting more places in the vicinity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your 5 star review of The Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn. I am delighted you enjoyed your return visit. Come back soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Stunning setting, fantastic facilities.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: Setting and very relaxing
Location: A little tricky to find as postcode not recognised on sat nav but Google maps came to rescue! We were here as a base for a concert in Cardiff.
Beautiful relaxing settings HUGE comfy bed and very clean. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast choice was ample however i am vegetarian and didn't see any vegetarian options to the meat products, but didn't ask either. I only marked the condition down from a 5 as i thought that there were some areas that would benefit from a lick of paint. Lovely spa facilities which you had the option of using all day even after check out. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 100% review of your stay with us. Simon Daniel - General Manager
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Decent middle of the range chain hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Well managed place but in the middle of nowhere. Staff were well trained, room was spacious but lacked charm (No. 20), bar was good and the restaurant typical middle range hotel chain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us I hope you can return soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager
4 out of 5
by Tracey

First weekend away together

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a superior double room but was very happy to be upgraded to a Heritage room when we checked in which was lovely and spacious with a beautiful old bed and views onto the front garden. There are places that could do with a bit of attention but nothing that affected our stay. The grounds are pretty with places to sit and have a drink, weather permitting. We visited the pool area a couple of times during our 2 days and this was very relaxing. Would be nice if there was a little bit of natural light as it seemed a little dark at times. overall, would recommend both the hotel and the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Simon Daniel, Hotel Management
Thanks for giving us your feedback on your recent stay. We will use it to improve our offering. Simon Daniel - General Manager.