Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SC

Location is great!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location, hospitality, breakfast!
Location: We were within several blocks of the visitors center and only a 5-10 minute walk to shops and eating. Easy and safe walking.
We only had a quick overnight but the hospitality was great. Mary helped us find a nice dinner spot and Bryan helped us put an order to our one day of sightseeing. Breakfast was sumptuous and the climb to the Tower Room worth all those steps with that beautiful harbor view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the best B&B's I have stayed in

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Sarah Kendall house was in a great location, easy walk into town Thames Street. breakfast was wonderful, owners very accomodating, definitely would stay there again when in New Port
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect Location for Sunsets

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Cliff Walk, Harbor Walk, Mansion Tours, International Tennis Hall of Fame, Shopping, Dining, etc. Easy to get anywhere.
My wife and I came to Newport for a short vacation. We loved the Sarah Kendall house! Extremely well appointed, quaint, Victorian home in walking distance to downtown Newport. Bryan and Fran were fantastic hosts, gave great restaurant recommendations as well as insightful recommendations regarding things to do while in Newport. We followed their recommendations and had a great time! Breakfast is included, and was fantastic! Fresh fruit, muffins, yogurt, eggs, bacon, pancakes and waffles, all prepared as per your wishes and wonderfully fresh and delicious. We will definitely be coming back. Please make sure that you catch the gorgeous sunsets 1/2 block a way on the dock. Also note, you can park your car in the driveway and avoid getting ticketed! Room Tip: ask for the third floor room overlooking the ocean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Great food. Beautiful Victorian home. Next time I will book earlier to get a bigger room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Location: nearby everything the city and harbor
We were not in the house, but we had to walk to the side of the house and walk 34 steps to get to our room. The room was cozy. Breakfast was okay, we had to ask for things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carol Stream IL

Great Newport B&B

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Great view of the water, grounds were gorgeous, great front porch - have some coffee, read the paper; go to the Newport Vineyards for wine tasting
Cons: Couldn't use the WIFI in our room (no biggie - we were too busy having fun to care), air conditioning unit seemed to struggle at times (big suite)
Location: Belle's Cafe-local place in the shipyard-great lobster rolls/hamburgers! Newport Blues Cafe, Lucia italian restaurant, $10 harbor shuttle for the day
Great B&B with a wonderful view, within walking distance to anything you need in downtown Newport. Bryan, the owner, gave us wonderful suggestions about local places to eat, things to go see while in Newport.....and put on a breakfast spread that knocked our socks off both days (every kind of fruit imaginable, wonderful bagels, muffins, coffee, juices - AND bacon, french toast and/or eggs & potatoes! We stayed during the week - and so were upgraded to the best suite in the house.... Can't say enough about how you will enjoy your stay here....you come in from being out and Bryan is asking if you want a beer!
5 out of 5
by Greg from Henderson Nevada

GREAT PLACE

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Bryan is a great host and house is in a wonderful location Quiet neighborhood and close to town and visitor center so getting around is a breeze
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

A great spot, awesome place with amazing tenants!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Having an open fire in our room (Getaway), free beers, brandy (!) and nimbles every late afternoon, the incredible breakfast, ample parking space.
Cons: WiFi was so so in our room. And I would have loved to have a bath in the bathroom, because the shower while clean, felt old. But I'm being picky :b
Location: Eat at "Newport Lobster Shack" and "Oyster Bar", avoid "Rhumbline" (and their garlic with mussels). Go on a sailboat, visit mansions, enjoy the wharf!
First time in Newport with my girlfriend we totally enjoyed our stay, thanks to the cute little city but also to Sarah Kendall House! Fran and Bryan were absolutely adorable and did everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Room wasn't huge but was very comfy and clean. No noise issue. Location was ideal, just right besides the sea, in walking distance of the wharf. I would definitely come back there next time I head to Newport!
4 out of 5
by Barry from Beaumont

Newport B&B

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
This was a fantastic B&B that was in a perfect location to walk to the center of things. The hosts and staff were great and the breakfasts were wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at the Sarah Kendell house. The owners are very thoughtful and have excellent attention to detail. I wish the towels were cleaner though because some of them had hair still attached. :(