Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect Location for Sunsets

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Cliff Walk, Harbor Walk, Mansion Tours, International Tennis Hall of Fame, Shopping, Dining, etc. Easy to get anywhere.
My wife and I came to Newport for a short vacation. We loved the Sarah Kendall house! Extremely well appointed, quaint, Victorian home in walking distance to downtown Newport. Bryan and Fran were fantastic hosts, gave great restaurant recommendations as well as insightful recommendations regarding things to do while in Newport. We followed their recommendations and had a great time! Breakfast is included, and was fantastic! Fresh fruit, muffins, yogurt, eggs, bacon, pancakes and waffles, all prepared as per your wishes and wonderfully fresh and delicious. We will definitely be coming back. Please make sure that you catch the gorgeous sunsets 1/2 block a way on the dock. Also note, you can park your car in the driveway and avoid getting ticketed! Room Tip: ask for the third floor room overlooking the ocean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Great food. Beautiful Victorian home. Next time I will book earlier to get a bigger room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Location: nearby everything the city and harbor
We were not in the house, but we had to walk to the side of the house and walk 34 steps to get to our room. The room was cozy. Breakfast was okay, we had to ask for things.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carol Stream IL

Great Newport B&B

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Great view of the water, grounds were gorgeous, great front porch - have some coffee, read the paper; go to the Newport Vineyards for wine tasting
Cons: Couldn't use the WIFI in our room (no biggie - we were too busy having fun to care), air conditioning unit seemed to struggle at times (big suite)
Location: Belle's Cafe-local place in the shipyard-great lobster rolls/hamburgers! Newport Blues Cafe, Lucia italian restaurant, $10 harbor shuttle for the day
Great B&B with a wonderful view, within walking distance to anything you need in downtown Newport. Bryan, the owner, gave us wonderful suggestions about local places to eat, things to go see while in Newport.....and put on a breakfast spread that knocked our socks off both days (every kind of fruit imaginable, wonderful bagels, muffins, coffee, juices - AND bacon, french toast and/or eggs & potatoes! We stayed during the week - and so were upgraded to the best suite in the house.... Can't say enough about how you will enjoy your stay here....you come in from being out and Bryan is asking if you want a beer!
5 out of 5
by Greg from Henderson Nevada

GREAT PLACE

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Bryan is a great host and house is in a wonderful location Quiet neighborhood and close to town and visitor center so getting around is a breeze
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

A great spot, awesome place with amazing tenants!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Having an open fire in our room (Getaway), free beers, brandy (!) and nimbles every late afternoon, the incredible breakfast, ample parking space.
Cons: WiFi was so so in our room. And I would have loved to have a bath in the bathroom, because the shower while clean, felt old. But I'm being picky :b
Location: Eat at "Newport Lobster Shack" and "Oyster Bar", avoid "Rhumbline" (and their garlic with mussels). Go on a sailboat, visit mansions, enjoy the wharf!
First time in Newport with my girlfriend we totally enjoyed our stay, thanks to the cute little city but also to Sarah Kendall House! Fran and Bryan were absolutely adorable and did everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Room wasn't huge but was very comfy and clean. No noise issue. Location was ideal, just right besides the sea, in walking distance of the wharf. I would definitely come back there next time I head to Newport!
4 out of 5
by Barry from Beaumont

Newport B&B

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
This was a fantastic B&B that was in a perfect location to walk to the center of things. The hosts and staff were great and the breakfasts were wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at the Sarah Kendell house. The owners are very thoughtful and have excellent attention to detail. I wish the towels were cleaner though because some of them had hair still attached. :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

No access to parlor after 10pm

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
We were told by the Owner upon arrival that water, beer and soft drinks were always available in a cooler on the porch, however, that was only between 3-6pm. Also told that the parlor was always available for our use, however, it was Locked and barricaded with the porch cushions around 10pm. I went down to read since my traveling companion was sleeping and found it securely closed as described and an ADT sign on the door so no one would attempt to open it. The only chair in the foyer where I tried to read that evening had springs ready to pop, making it quite uncomfortable. Also, the fridge in our room was empty of the promised water bottles on both evenings. Tiny ants were noticed on the bathroom vanity and in the room on an upholstered chair. No lamp or table on one side of bed for eyeglasses, phone, etc. No stool or step to assist in climbing into very high bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels