Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nh

Best value close to beach

Posted Oct 15, 2014
No frills motel. Perfect for the frugal traveler. Great views of east on beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location, close to the ocean.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: They need to update. Fresh paint and colors in the room.
Location: Near Newport and Portsmouth great shopping and beaches.
Went to a wedding and needed somewhere reasonable to stay. They had a room so we went there. The front desk staff was very helpful. They do allow dogs for a small charge which is good to know for future stays. It was a little outdated, but comfortable. I would go back, I saw a lot of people out walking the grounds and down by the ocean. I bet its great in the summer, not too far from the Newport beaches.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay -- it's an older place, and we knew what to expect -- nothing fancy but perfect for a getaway weekend without spending a fortune. The staff was great and incredibly friendly and helpful. The view from our 2nd floor room was spectacular! Only minor complaint is that the pillows were really lumpy and uncomfortable -- we went to BB and Beyond to buy some!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ma.

This hotel has a nice view, but needs a renovation

Posted Oct 6, 2014
We were there thirty years ago and it was nice. Seems like it has been cared for by amatures. Many of the hotels ammenitys are old and rusty.
2 out of 5
by Elaine from Ceres

closing in October 2014

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
This building will be closed permanently in October 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable, low key

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Close enough to see beach from second story. All low key, not fussy. Staff friendly. Only complaint - pillows! But would stay again. Close to Newport, cliff walk begins at local beach, fun to watch surfers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Altes Motel mit Seeblick in der Nähe von Newport

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Lage und Ausblick von der Veranda
Cons: Zimmer war sehr muffig und hatte einen leicht unangenehmen Geruch. Insgesamt sollte in neues Mobiliar und eine Bad-Modernisierung investiert werden.
Location: Idealer Ausgangspunkt für die Erkundung der Nachbarstadt Newport (Hafen, Cliff Walk, etc.).
Die ruhige Lage des Motels und der günstige Preis haben uns zur Buchung bewogen. Das Motel ist sehr alt und die Ausstattung scheint noch aus der Zeit der Eröffnung zu stammen. Für kurze Aufenthalte ausreichend: man bekommt ein relativ sauberes Zimmer mit einem relativ gemütlichen Bett.
2 out of 5
by Scott M from Silver Spring, MD

Old and Tired but Pictureseque

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
Your Quintessential run down New England Inn with lovely views of the ocean in the distance. While the rooms were "clean," they are really run down. I wouldn't be surprised if the property is bought up by Starwood or another brand. It is in an ideal location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheverly, MD

Last stay at a wonderful old hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
This hotel is going to be demolished October 13 2014 to make room for a new facility. It had a beautiful. View and a friendly staff. I'll miss it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic and about to be torn down in October

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is about to be torn down. The downstairs rooms smelled really old and bad. Upstairs was better. Very basic. Staff were friendly. Great liocation and view. Price was high for hotel's condition.