Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nh

Best value close to beach

Posted Oct 15, 2014
No frills motel. Perfect for the frugal traveler. Great views of east on beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location, close to the ocean.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: They need to update. Fresh paint and colors in the room.
Location: Near Newport and Portsmouth great shopping and beaches.
Went to a wedding and needed somewhere reasonable to stay. They had a room so we went there. The front desk staff was very helpful. They do allow dogs for a small charge which is good to know for future stays. It was a little outdated, but comfortable. I would go back, I saw a lot of people out walking the grounds and down by the ocean. I bet its great in the summer, not too far from the Newport beaches.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ma.

This hotel has a nice view, but needs a renovation

Posted Oct 6, 2014
We were there thirty years ago and it was nice. Seems like it has been cared for by amatures. Many of the hotels ammenitys are old and rusty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable, low key

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Close enough to see beach from second story. All low key, not fussy. Staff friendly. Only complaint - pillows! But would stay again. Close to Newport, cliff walk begins at local beach, fun to watch surfers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheverly, MD

Last stay at a wonderful old hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
This hotel is going to be demolished October 13 2014 to make room for a new facility. It had a beautiful. View and a friendly staff. I'll miss it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Nice but too many spiders everywhere on outside porches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice stray around Newport, RI

Posted Sep 2, 2014
First of all this is not a 5 stars hotel and we did not paid for that. This is an old hotel but clean, comfortable, well situated with very competitive price. Peoples at the desk are very polite and friendly. They have a all day unlimited trips shuttle available for a flat rate ($8.00). Breakfast is basic but very good. If you need eggs & bacon, there are restaurants waiting for you downtown. I would recommend that hotel for people that need a place to have a shower and a sleep after a day at the beach, walking the Cliff or visiting the mansions. Other than that, if you are looking for a pool, a hot tub or a spa, go somewhere else and pay for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Charming no frills getaway

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Location: There's a shuttle to downtown Newport or it's just a couple of miles by foot, though the sidewalk briefly disappears. The beach is even closer.
Rooms at this hotel open right onto the parking lot and the furniture and floor tile had seen better days, but the location was convenient with a nice breeze off the water and a lawn to enjoy it in, the staff was nice, the room was clean, and it seemed to be efficiently run. We had a lovely time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Close To The What's Happening

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The air conditioner.
Cons: Everything
Location: Close to Cliff Walk/Mansions, Thames Street.
Stayed here many years ago. Hotel was in need of basic maintenance, painting, etc. Appeared to be neglected. Room smelled musty and bathroom was definitely not cleaned. Fresh towels out but still had hair in the tub and on the floor. Bed was hard and barely got any sleep. Finally, the one staff member we dealt with had no personality, never made eye contact when taking my credit card and handing it back. Obviously, just there to do a job without good customer service. We won't be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from annapolis, Md

This motel/inn being replaced after this season wi

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Hot water, great water pressure, hot coffee available in little breakfast room 24/7' courteous and responsive staff, great piece of property,
Cons: Just about everything else, But the current facility is being rebuilt and will soon be history,
Location: Great location away from the crowds and hyper activity of Newport. Easy access to Newport. Beach close by. Good number of local restaurants
Beautiful, sweeping views from the second floor - of the water, surrounding land, cars traveling to and fro, hot, fresh coffee available 24 -7, pretty sad continental breakfast, no fruits, nothing not processed. The hotel staff great. The rooms pretty basic with old, tired furniture, old tics, no coffee in rooms. windows that don't open, cheap lawn chairs outside- all amid a spectacular setting close to Newport and some good local restaurants. This inn is being replaced with a huge complex, full service facility when the present one is torn down this year. So if you like funky and low- cost better book before the season ends! .