Ratings based on 1,709 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: location
Location: restaurants and shopping all within walking distance
best part of this hotel is the location. The decor is very dated and there are no real amenities. No fitness center. Small lobby/room. good hotel for the price and if you are looking for a decent/clean room and nothing else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Great stay in the heart of Newport! The view was excellent, especially at sunset. The sunset painted the room pink, and that was breathtaking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by x, Hotel Management
Hi, M Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Great photo! Our harbor view guestrooms offer the best sunsets in Newport. We're thrilled to see you were able to capture the moment. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you’re in Newport!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Kingston, RI

Close to everything

Posted Feb 4, 2018
My husband and I had a chance to get away for the weekend. This hotel is close to restaurants, museums, shopping and even the beach. I parked my car on Friday and never had to drive anywhere all weekend. That was my favorite part. The pool was very relaxing on the two occasions that we used it. The staff at the hotel were pleasant and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel to those who want to enjoy Newport as the walking city that it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by n, Hotel Management
Hi, Ski Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend away with us as well as our great location and indoor heated saltwater pool. It is our goal to make every guest feel welcomed and comfortable by providing personable service. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Newport!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stop over.

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Had a one day stay over whole driving north. Staff helped us get the most out of our stay. Just as well as most of Newport was closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by x, Hotel Management
Hello, We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review regarding your overnight stay and your awesome experience with our staff. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay, great location! Central to everything!

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: I loved how close this hotel was to the Red Parrot and all the shops. Walking distance to many places.
We had a great time! We ate at the Red Parrot, shopped downtown, visited the beach/cliff walk and even had time to tour 3 of the beautiful Mansions. We love Newport!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by c, Hotel Management
Hello, We are delighted to have received this glowing review on your recent visit to Newport. Our central location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport is certainly ideal for access to all of the best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We look forward to having your family stay with us again the next time you return to our beautiful “City by the Sea!”
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice place/room by the water

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Loved the restaurant. Hotel room was nice. would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by x, Hotel Management
Hi, Henry Thank you taking the time to write this review regarding your stay and dining experience. We are sorry to hear about the lack of pool towels, but we have passed the information along to the appropriate people to review and correct this issue. We thank you for your business and we can’t wait to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to the “City by the Sea”!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Sweet 16

Posted Jan 16, 2018
I took my daughter and 6 of her friends to celebrate her 16th Birthday. The hotel location is perfect, the rooms are newly renovated and very cozy. During checking in the front desk wished Elizabeth a happy birthday. The staff was super helpful and accommodating. They made my daughter and her friends feel welcomed and special.. It was a great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by x, Hotel Management
Hi, AnnMarie Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience and commending our property for its location and amenities. We're happy to hear that Elizabeth had a fantastic Sweet 16. We look forward to welcoming everyone back to the City by the Sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from white Plains Ny

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Weekend away
Cons: The rugs in the halls and bedrooms could use a good cleaning or be replaced
Location: Location is excellant you can walk to everything downtown town . Many good restaurants right there
All was good we arrived right after the blizzard it was super cold! Salt Water restaurant was good at the hotel we had breakfast there. Front desk staff was very friendly, basically the entire staff was friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by d, Hotel Management
Hi, A We appreciate you taking the time to share your weekend experience with us. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed our perfect location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport, with access to shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you return to our beautiful “City by the Sea!”
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Friendly staff but not a great experience.

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Reading through different reviews it seemed like this would be a great hotel to stay at. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the room and hotel itself I was very displeased with. It was a very cold night and the heat broke in the room, it was on constant cold air. I called to have them come check it out, which they quickly came and had to disable the thermostat and have it run straight off the unit, which was fine. I needed to do I bit of work while I was there and every time I jumped on the WiFi, which was very slow, or my phone the tv would go out. I also took my son to the indoor pool, one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel, and it was very cold, maybe the pool heater wasn’t working properly. There was also a kids party in the rooms surrounding us, which the kids were running up and down the halls pretty late. Definitely wasn’t a good night for working, swimming, relaxing, or sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by x, Hotel Management
Hi, Becca Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are saddened to hear we were unable to exceed your expectations. We do appreciate the kind words regarding our staff's service. It is our hope that you provide us the opportunity to reclaim your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Nice hotel with a superb location to visit Newport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by d, Hotel Management
Hi, Antonio We appreciate you sharing your experience with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you're in town.