Ratings based on 1,692 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Hotel is very nice. Bathroom & closet are very small. Otherwise, very nice room & stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mata do Rei, Portugal

One day in Newport

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: the view
Cons: Hallway cleaniness and a third bed option in the room
Location: Location was great, close to everything, beautiful view, lots of bard opened late. Wish we had a restaurant or coffee shop open late.
The hotel location was great, the view from our room was great. the staff was great. the hotel seemed a bit out of date, the doors, furniture and bathroom were old. The hallway carpet was dirty and it smelled musty and smoky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louusville, ky

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Nice hotel in downtown Newport. Near all the shops. Enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: perfect location
Perfect location, pleasant staff. Parking was a bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by d, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing your experience with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mystic area, CT

Convenient hotel in town, overlooking harbor.

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Overall convenience; friendly staff.
Cons: Include a basic breakfast in the rate.
Location: Newport offers sailing, good restaurants, shops, the Cliff Walk and the mansions. It has three beautiful beaches, a bird sanctuary and hiking trails.
We've been at this hotel before and it's overall pleasant. Staff is friendly. The indoor pool and sauna are nice. We thought the breakfast (on the premises) was a bit expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by d, Hotel Management
Hello, M & G. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and highlight some of the attractions that make our city so special, and with The Newport being right in the center of it all there's no better place to stay. We do offer a Bed & Breakfast package if you are interested in including breakfast with your stay. We appreciate your business and loyalty as we hope to continue to provide you with the same level of service you have become accustom to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walpole, NH

Close to Newport shopping and waterfront

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Close to shopping and restaurants
Cons: Quiet after11pm. There was scent in the cooridor that seemed over powering. Would be nice to tone it down.
I was given the 2nd room from the lobby. Room was comfortable but the night lobby staff has music on that I could hear from my room. Great rate for off season. Surcharge for parking $10. Summer they charge $25 per day. Disappointed to pay for parking at the hotel. They put a $50 hold for incidentals on your credit card. Refrigerator in the room. Overall a nice place to stay in the off season. Right on Newport Harbor and close to tons of shops and restaurants. On site restaurant. Food was good except hot lobster roll was not available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by d, Hotel Management
Hi, Linda thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were affected by the music level in the lobby. We understand and have taken steps to address your concern going forward. We look forward to you return trip to Newport and serving you a hot lobster roll.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Love the location, but need to update the beds

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location and pool
Cons: New Mattresses. Keep families with small kids together and the partying crowd together because the walls are thin.
Great location near everything. A 4 o'clock check in you would think the room would be ready on time. It was not, they did call us as soon as it was available. Beds need replacing, you can tell people sit on the edge of beds because when you lay down on the bed you feel like you are rolling off. Noises between rooms travel, we could hear everything our excessively noises neighbors did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by f, Hotel Management
Hi, Bob. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are looking into your concern regarding our mattresses to ensure that our beds meet our guests standards. It appears we fell short of our 4 pm check-in time, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you for choosing us as your destination getaway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
A little outdated. Not such a great lobby great location though- close to warf and right in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by d, Hotel Management
Hello. Our prime waterfront location in historic downtown allows our guests to enjoy breathtaking views of Newport Harbor while being steps away from some of the cities best shopping, entertainment, attractions and dining. Your feedback is greatly appreciated regarding our lobby, as we greatly value all guest opinions and take them into consideration when making improvements to our property in the coming year. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit Newport!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Very hotel for a short stay in Newport! Very close to the wharf that you can walk to everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by d, Hotel Management
Hello. Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience and commending our property for its great location. Our property’s location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport is certainly ideal for access to all of the best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Overpriced let down

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We stayed here over the past weekend and found it disappointing. Check in was fast enough but our room was dirty and the overall feel of the hotel was dated. We found two empty alcohol shooters in the drawers of our dresser that were left behind by another guest. Indicating housekeeping was not thorough. An empty soapbox left behind again indicating housekeeping was not thorough. There was also a few Cheetos on the ground and we didn't have Cheetos.... disgusting. The worst of all was the hair in the shower that didn't belong to either one of us. The walls were paper thin and we could hear the raging bachelorette party next door to us. Called the front desk to complain and nobody picked up. The only redeeming qualities were the nice view of the harbor and the beds were comfortable. Would not stay here again and would not recommend this to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by s, Hotel Management
Hello. We appreciate you taking the time to write review regarding your stay. We regret that your stay was less than satisfactory and fell short of your expectations. Making this room available for occupancy was a gross oversight on our part and we are truly sorry. Our Housekeeping Department has been made aware of this issue and will make the necessary adjustments going forward. We hope that we can regain your trust and have the opportunity to redeem ourselves the next time your travels bring you to Newport.