Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The staff were exceptional. All of them were friendly and helpful. The valet service was on time. Breakfast was excellent as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highlight of our trip

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: THE best location of any hotel in Newport. It is a one minute walk to town with all the shopping and restaurants
We have traveled all over the world for all of our 36 years of marriage This was the nicest hotel and staff we have ever experienced Kevin, Karla, Marco, and especially Paul were the best staff a hotel could have. They were so down to earth and very professional. We hope to come back someday to visit our new friends!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Quiet,clean and well situated

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Interesting place for those who are into sailing and Newport has many amazing late 19th century mansions to visit, unequalled on the planet!
My room was large and very well furnished, lots of space for clothes etc. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel is quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A bit of luxury at the end of our New England tour

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The room was lovely as you'd expect from a high-end hotel. The staff were also very pleasant. They've got a pool table which we took advantage of.
Cons: Nothing - we had a very comfortable stay.
Booked this place with some hesitation as it's got some mixed reviews. But we had a lovely stay. We got upgraded to a suite which helped! The staff were all lovely and the room was particularly well appointed. The valet parking was useful in a town where parking can be a bit difficult. We didn't eat here though, although the dinner menu looked good - we just wanted to be out on the town. Even if you don't stay here, I'd recommend a visit to the rooftop bar to watch the sunset whilst drinking a cocktail. It was truly spectacular and a highlight of our trip
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very poor and living off its name

Posted Aug 21, 2016
A shockingly bad hotel when you take the cost and the value it offers. The front of house staff are ok but the roof top bar staff are appalling The bedroom features, lumpy mattress, bobbly rough bedding, a tired bathroom, dirty carpets and bedroom furniture that Is really very sub standard. The property is decent enough it's just very tired Not good value and I couldn't recommend this property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint boutique hotel in a perfect location.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Little hotel with a lot to offer. Roof top deck, indoor and outdoor pools. Restaurants, spa, good size room. Paper thin walls. Comfortable bed. Attentive staff. One blip.. We asked for the spa special and they tried to overcharge us by $50 and then forgot the tea portion of the special. When I told them we were ready for the tea they sent us outside to wait. After 20 minutes I checked and they never put the order in and we couldn't wait any longer...so we paid for something we never received. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Enjoyed our stay from the moment we got there until we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Location: Excellent location,walking distance to restaurants, shops, water attractions.
Our suite was excellent however as we were shown to the suite we realized it was adjacent to the elevator. Asked if there would be a problem with noise and was told it would not be an issue. As a light sleeper I heard the quiet rumble on the unit through out the night as well as the bell sound it made when the door opened. Should have requested a room change. It seem we were given the worst location in the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Mixed Thoughts

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Location, Restaurant, Grounds
Cons: Room Decor and Layout. Guest Services
Location: Restaurants, Bars, Cruises, Mansions
The hotel has a lot of great things about it. The location is terrific, the restaurants good. The staff was inconsistent. The front door and bellmen were great. There were a couple of front desk people who were exceedingly knowledgeable and very helpful. There were a couple who either lacked training or were very lazy. When I called prior to arrival about activities, I was told not to worry everything was close and easy. While partially true, the lack of detailed information was disappointing. The same was true on site. We ask a front desk person to check on the ferry to Block Island before we left for the day. Upon on return, she said she had been unable to reach anyone. It took me one call to find information. There were several other incidents like this. Our room was OK...We realize it's a historic building and that creates limits. That said our suite was tight and the furnishings were not exceptional. All of these put together did not amount to a bad stay, it was just not as good as we'd assumed from the price point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in ideal location.

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Wish breakfast was included in the room rate.
Location: Close to shops & restaurants. Not far from Mansions.
THis was our second time at The Vanderbilt Grace Hotel. Everything was perfect. We were upgraded to a duplex suite. Breakfast was wonderful. Staff was most attentive. Room was very clean. Next time we are in Newport we will stay at the Vanderbilt.