Ratings based on 922 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Convenient location. Hotel staff good. Everything else n.g. Esp. House keeping, room was damp and musty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. It is a delight to know that you were pleased with the strategic location of our hotel. We always desire for our valued guests stay to be outstanding. On the other hand, we apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the cleanliness of your room and the service you received from our staff at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel for further improvements. We still look forward to seeing you again in any of our Country Inns & Suites hotels in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Very polite staff, but hotel is in terrible condition especially for $138.00 per room per night. We cancelled our second night and booked a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. It is a delight to know that you were pleased with the service you received from our staff. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the condition of the hotel at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it gives us the opportunity to correct any imperfections we may have in our services. We hope for another chance to exceed your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: What's not to like
Cons: Grab bar in shower and a place to place your soap
Location: Location central to just about everything you would want to visit.
Staff and room were very good. Breakfast was good. Even though undergoing renovation the halls and lobby were not cluttered with debris. I heard no construction noise at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Been in better for less money

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Smoke alarm chirped all night long, exhaust fan did not work in bathroom, Ac was loud as hell in inside closet next to bed. Employees were nice but did nothing about the smoke alarm after we complained about it. Also did not even know the pool was out of order which was the main reason I booked here in the first place
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We always desire for our valued guests stay to be outstanding. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay due to the noise, condition of your room and the service you received from our staff at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is appreciated and will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope for another chance to exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AL

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Friendly & helpful staff, comfortable room, easy access from I95. Not a luxury hotel, but excellent for an overnight stay will traveling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The sheets were clean but that is about all I can say positive. The halls smelled like cigarette smoke, the AC didn't work well, there were crumbs on the carpet and the bathtub had a black stain in it. I will not be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. It is a delight to know that you were pleased with the cleanliness of your sheets. We are striving hard for excellence in cleanliness and guest satisfaction. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the cleanliness of the hotel and your guest room as well as the amenities at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for improvements. It is our hope that your next stay would be a pleasurable one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elkton, MD

Doing wotk

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Quiet rooms, for being right on highway Doing renovation pool closed filled in spa with concrete smelled like paint
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, VA

You Get What You Pay For!!!!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: This hotel is in a great location however they need to clean house!!!
I wish I would have read the reviews on this site and not the regular site. I understand the hotel was under construction on the 3rd Floor, however you walked in and the smell was horrible. I was checked in and went to the room where it looked OK. On the first night walking down the stairs to go out and noticed on the railing and 1 inch thick of dust on the stairs and railings. Then we visited the pool area where again more construction. The smell was OK in this room however the sand from the construction and all the standing water. Got in the pool with my kids and seen numerous strands of hair in the water. GROSS!!!! Went back to the room and went into the fridge where their was literally 6 inches of ice on the freezer section. My husband went out and heard the staff having an altercation with her boyfriend in the parking lot. The next morning we left the room and when we returned in the evening housekeeping had been in and barely cleaned. I can say that the trash was removed. We had made the beds and they fluffed the pillows . The towels in the bathroom were not changed, just folder and put back up on the shelf. Nothing was cleaned, wiped down or vacuumed. In the elevator speaking with another patron they had the same issues along with stains on there bedding and floors. This was the worst experience I have had!! Please go somewhere else!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a delight to know that you were pleased with the strategic location of our hotel. We are striving hard for excellence in cleanliness and guest satisfaction. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the cleanliness and condition of the hotel and your guest room, facilities, amenities as well as the service you received from our staff at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to ensure that situations like this won't happen again. We hope for another opportunity to make a more favorable impression in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old not updated

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Cockroach in the bathroom. Very outdated. Comforters seemed to be 20 years old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We always desire for our valued guests stay to be outstanding however, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the cleanliness and condition of your guest room at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for further improvements. It is our hope that your next stay would be a pleasurable one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern VA

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The price
Cons: everything.
Location: The location was great. Alot of stores nearby.
I was very excited to see the great rating on this hotel. The experience was not what I imagined. Dust an inch thick on the stairs. The hotel carts left in the hallway over night. The smell of the hotel. i understand they are renovating the 3rd floor however it was very dirty and smelled. We stayed 2 nights and house keeping came in the second day, did not vacuum, clean the bathroom, and refolded the dirty towels. YUCK!!! The fridge in our unit needed to be defrosted a long time ago. The ice was about 4 inches thick. Asked the front desk questions and it was like we were interrupting their talk session. I would not recommend this hotel. The pool area was under construction as well. The dirt and standing water was gross.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is a delight to know that you were pleased with the deal that you had and the strategic location of our hotel was favorable to you. We are striving hard for excellence in cleanliness and guest satisfaction. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the multiple issues you've encountered at that time, in particular, the condition and the cleanliness of the hotel, facilities, amenities and the service you received from our staff during your stay. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. Your feedback is appreciated and will be used to consider improvements in the future.