Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by rosaleen

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. Very clean. Staff were very kind and helpful. Wil def be staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Everything anyone would need, right near the beach

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Due to international flight connections I went the hotel right after landing because I was ready for a room. Check-in time was 2 PM and I showed up a little after 12 and they did not hesitate in getting me a room as soon as possible. I waited in the nice little pub downstairs and enjoyed a beer and the view of the coast. I was so comfortable even when my room was ready; I was not ready to leave. When I did ask to be shown my room the quickly took me upstairs to a large clean room. When I made the reservation I did not want a chain hotel room, and I did not want to be shoehorned into a small Bed and Breakfast type room. This room was very comfortable with everything I needed. It is the small things that always make it nice and to me having a shower with real water pressure was great. The next morning the breakfast down stairs was excellent and included in the price. If I am ever able to return this would be my first choice and I hope to bring my wife cause I know she would love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roger from London

Shame about the bathroom

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointing. The room we got bore little resemblance to the picture. Modest room and very poorly designed bathroom which was large but only had a very tiny cloakroom sink and despite the large room it was place almost over the toilet. Also access to the hotel is very difficult. We had to fight our way through a wedding reception in the pub below and carry our bags up two floors as the lift never worked. Nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Larne

Nice hotel close to restaurants

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Proximity to town.
Cons: Reception area.
Location: Lots of restaurants.
Great breakfast with a wonderful view of Carlingford Lough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

balmoral

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
Correct mais un peu cher.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location for sight seeing

Posted May 5, 2015
good experience overall. Staff were fantastic and helpful. Good choice of meals and breakfast was great. However dont feel rooms were cleaned very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Short 3 night stay - would definitely go back

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The restaurant - excellent breakfasts and evening meals together with great friendly service.
Cons: The bathroom light was a little dim for shaving. There is no car park but parking on the side street was not a problem.
I travel to the area every year but my usual hotel in the nearby town of Kilkeel had closed. I chose the Balmoral mainly from the restaurant reviews and I was not disappointed. The hotel is a small but totally adequate - the room was neat and clean with a good bathroom and excellent shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant have views over Carlingford Lough and mountains. The bar was friendly and well stocked - there was some live music but it could not be heard in my bedroom. The restaurant - Restaurant 23 - was in a different league to most. The set meal was excellent and very reasonably priced. The a la carte was stunning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Benjamin from London

More of a bar/restaurant with rooms than a hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
This is not so much a hotel as a bar and restaurant that has hotel rooms. The rooms themselves are nice, modern and clean. Don't expect much else service wise, it was difficult to find anyone around unless you go into the bar or restaurant. The bar in this place also has live music, this could be heard fairly loudly from the bedroom (it finished at 10pm so was ok but not if you want an early night). Also there was a lot of noise on the street from people who were at the bar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bridget from England

Mediocre

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
large room with a comfy bed. Slept well. Lovely shower room and very powerful. Nearly slipped on tiles on floor. No bath mat provided. Room was very dusty. Menu, light shades and ornaments had more than a few days dust. Toilet seat was dirty but had an overpowering smell of bleach. View from room was dull. Breakfast room had an amazing view of the Mournes. Breakfast was good.