Ratings based on 875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Amazingly kind and wonderful staff. Small bath

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: The mirror outside the bathroom should be near an outlet and a place to sit down. Also, 4 towels I thought was standard, not three?
Location: The outside back of the hotel was amazing!
The people were genuine and kind. The service was fast and of high quality. The bathroom was really cramped and small and the mirror outside the bathroom was no where near an outlet which made it difficult for two people to get ready at the same time. The "rose" smell in the entry was a bit strong. The food was wonderful, high quality, great portions and consistent. We had a lot of room service. The bell hop, the front desk staff and the coffee cafe staff went out of their way to help, which was greatly appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Retro hotel (mostly) updated

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Great location and cool vibe for a marriott.
Cons: $10/day for Wifi? $11 for parking (shopping center sized lot)? Those are fees that should be waived.
Location: Convenient to Boston. Easy access to 95.
We stayed at the Boston Marriott Newton for a Saturday and Sunday in early August. The mid-century modern exterior and updated interior are nice and the grounds are pleasant. We enjoyed the lake view and the staff was very friendly. We would stay there again. There are few things that could be improved (and why it didn't get an "excellent" rating. 1) These days, paying $10/day for Wifi is not acceptable. Just make it free. 2) Similarly, paying $11/day for parking in a suburban location with gate, etc. does not make sense. The lot was half full and we here not even asked if we had a car (we did) and just charged. There isn't any reason to charge for this. 3) Towel hooks and racks - there is a trend, it seems, in hotel bathroom renovations to get rid of towel racks and hooks. This is impractical, especially when the only rack is actually in the shower. Please, Marriott, make the bathrooms functional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

House Keeping Too Eager

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: location and service was excellent, front desk girls were pleasant
Cons: I had to complain about the House Keeping ladies banging on my door even though the Privacy sign was up; 10am Sunday and 10:30 am Sunday.
This hotel is an excellent option in the Boston Area. The car service outside is reasonable and convenient. You will be surprised that within 10 minutes are a variety of good quality restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
This hotel was great, especially for the price! Multiple pools and a Starbucks, and only 20 mins from Downtown Boston and the airport!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

Good staff but room are no good

Posted Jul 15, 2015
We stayed 2 nights and the air conditioner was not working. Most hotels would have free BF and or coffee but these people put in a Starbucks in there which charges a premium for every thing sold
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly hallways and rooms

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Lobby. Close to highway
Cons: Rooms
The room carpet was damp and the room smelled. The hallways had a scent of Fabreze over must. The hotel lobby is obviously renovated and misleadingly very nice. The hotel is dated and needs renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mass.

Fantastic Marriot

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Easy access to Boston, clean, well priced, and convenient...what more could you ask?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to Boston and to highways

Posted Jul 13, 2015
As you would expect from à Mariott. Clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Decent Hotel, away from the city

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Being surrounded by the green scenery and river.
Cons: The exterior of the hotel, food needs some flavoring and better room Amenities
Location: The hotel is located in a nice central area: close to the City and most historical sites.
Reasons I rated it a 4 Star: Nice scenic location; better location than most busy hotels in Boston 20 minutes from the city Needs upgrading: Exterior of Hotel; Pool; Restroom Equipment Great beds Food needs flavoring and is a little pricey Clean gym with up to date equipment. Parking was never an issue Lots of Green Bushes (ahh fresh and natural oxygen) Great beds! To avoid toll the toll fees, use the Detour option on a GPS, it saved us $$$. Too bad we figured this one out two days prior to our departure. I've been to better Marriott Hotels but must admit it wasn't all that bad, comparing to other hotels located in the city of Boston. It needs a little upgrade; the outside reminded me of a convalescent home or something; however. the interior wasn't so bad. Our room had a river/lagoon view, which we loved waking up to. I loved being surrounded by lots of trees/green and watching the ducks in the river/lagoon was pleasant. It was quiet. Parking was never an issue. The gym was clean but small wtih up to date equipment. We stayed in room 559 and I loved the view. There are entrances on different parts of the building, to avoid long walks to your room from the main entrance (you'll need your room key to gain entry.) Best Clam Chowder can be found in Waterfront (sorry, forgot the name) and Legal Seafood. Our bill was outrageous at Legal Seafood but that was because the lobster sandwitch was priced at $28.00! The calamari at Legal Seafood was expensive and a waste of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant experience!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The entire staff was very helpful. When I looked at the bill, I realized they had charged for parking even though I did not have my car with me. Not only did they remove the charges they took away the charges for the internet.