Ratings based on 1,430 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City, NY

Bad check in nice hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
My stay was fine but my check in was not good at all. When i arrived i was unable to check in due to the receptionist saying expedia had not booked with the hotel. Even though i had a confirmation with expedia about my booking. I had to pay and reserve a room through the hotel as they never acknowledged my booking information through expedia. They were nice enough to give me the same rate. However it was a very stressful situation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

A disappointing stay

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The remodeled rooms are nice, the location to our daughter's College is good. The service and problems are too much. We will not go back.
We had a king room confirmed and paid for with a rollaway. When we checked in we found out they no longer have rollaways after their remodel. Being we had 3 guests, this was a large problem. Their solution was to bring in a small mattress and put it on the floor. I have never heard of such a solution. We asked them to comp a room for the night, for our third guest and they refused. Once in the room, we realized the heat/cooling system did not work. They came up while we were out and fixed it, but it still was not functioning. We didn't know this until we returned to the room after 11pm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, VA

Great stay

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Modern upgrades in the hotel room & bathroom.
Nice modern touches in the room. Roomy fitness center with nice equipment. Steak tips at the bar were a nice finish to the day while watching the Patriots game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Clean - not far from Boston- Family oriented - for sure to book again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield NJ

Great hotel, needs a quite corridor policy

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Gym, starbucks
Cons: Need a quiet corridor policy and need to enforce it. We were woken at 1 am and 2:30 am.
Everything about the Marriott in Newton is good. The one disappointment is that they seem to let guests party in their rooms and in the corridor/hallway into the early hours. Overall a good hotel, after-all its a Marriott, but if you are going to the hotel to sleep, then this may not be the hotel for you. We left after one night and did not stay for the second night we had booked. We were woken at 1am by one group and again at 2:30am by another group of twelve people in one room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trois rivieres QC

Nice hôtel to stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Everything was fine for the purpose of the stay...hôtel near Boston Easy to accès .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nice hotel and friendly staff.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location was what I needed to go to various locations nearby.
Cons: The hotel did not furnish wine bottle openers. If you bring your own wine make sure you have a wine bottle opener.
Location: It is next to the Charles River and canoeing and kayaking rentals are near by.
Did not use the hotel very much because had to go to other activities away from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice room and amenities

Posted Sep 4, 2017
This is an older hotel but has been completely renovated with really nice rooms and other amenities. The food is good and reasonable (as far as hotel food goes). You are walking distance to canoe, kayak and paddle boat rentals on the adjacent river which is a great way to spend an hour with the family. We come to Boston at least once per year and will be coming back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from mpls

Close to BC

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Newly remodeled. Very clean.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Very good location.
Great hotel. After long day of move in. Nice to have a restaurant and bar in hotel. Nice to have Starbucks in the morning. No need to drive in search of restaurant or parking spot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
When we arrived the bathroom was not stocked with appropriate linens. There were toilet paper roles on the floor. The TV remote didn't work. The engineer was not able to fix the remote when we requested help. The room was on the first floor. The staff propped the doors to the outside open at night, which made us feel unsafe. In the morning, the people in the room next door began smoking pot and it seeped through the walls.