Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

everything was great, parking should be included

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: it was clean and good
Cons: parking should be included in hotel fee. Charge for others, not patrons
Location: located near everything , so location is excellent to stay in
everything was great, but parking should not be additional for customers staying at your hotel, where there is no parking besides the garage. Making customers pay for parking brings my rating down to a 3 from a 5. Hotel fee of over $100, should include parking, not have to pay additional $28 for overnight parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Rich, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry the parking came as a surprise, we do our best to make it clear when booking that there is an additional parking fee. We appreciate your feedback, unfortunately, the hotel does not own the parking and we pay to hold spaces for our guests who bring cars. We've tried to minimize the inconvenience by arranging with the parking company to bill our guests through their room and validate for unlimited entry and exit, however, at this time it is an additional fee. We thank you for your understanding and we hope you'll be back. Kind Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersy

Room Conditions

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Cons: Rooms were old and need upgrades, the highway noise was really bad.
Location: This hotel was over highway 90
The sink & tub were clogged the AC was not working properly. I had to call 3 times before anyone addressed the issue. After the 3rd call that I was living for the day they fixed only the sink & tub. I had to call again for the AC which they couldn't fix and had to move to another room. That room was ok however my keys had to be reprogrammed multiple times in 2 days. Also on my last night there were no towels in my room, sheets were left in my room and my sheets kept coming off my bed. For how much I paid for this hotel I was very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, We're so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. The maintenance issues with your room certainly are not the impression we hope to leave with our guest and we've shared your feedback with our maintenance and housekeeping teams for review. Please know this is not up to our usual service standards and we will work hard to address your concerns with our team. Kindest Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton Guest Service Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Horrible Experience

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I called ahead to let the hotel know I won't be able to do the checking in at 3pm I was coming in Boston for a funeral and my drive would be 13 hours, I would still pay for the room the amount they required but if it was possible for me to be checking in late and checking out late They said they would accommodate me I also took the name of the person down When I went there they reported my reservation as a no show They did my checking in but told me I had to do check out at 12 I explained the funeral was at 3 and I had to leave my car and clothes there They said the only checking out can allow would be at 3 Was impossible for me to be there at 3 so I paid for a full price for 2 hours and parking 27 for 2 hours And my breakfast was included and they still charged me 18$ Disappointing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Suela, We are so very sorry to hear this and appreciate you letting us know. We will follow up on this and see where the miscommunication occurred so we can prevent this frustration in the future. Kind Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton Guest Service Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hartford, ct

Nice but noise from traffic

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel was nice. Breakfast was very good. Close access into the city. But we did not have a good nice sleep. We heard every single cars that passed by. Also I was disappointed that i was unable to swin in the pool. They were performing maintenance at the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Roxy, Thank you so much for this feedback. We are truly sorry about the pool. The maintenance was unplanned and a necessity for us to address right away. We're also sorry to hear you didn't get the rest you were hoping for. Should you decide to give us another chance, please let us know and we'll happily try to assign a room that meets your needs. Kind Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton Guest Service Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location
The hotel is in a great location, close to BC. It is right over the highway, so noise can be an issue. It was not for us. The only down side was parking. There is an garage, but it is pricy, for just a night. We were lucky and found street parking nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much! We are really happy we were a convenient fit for your stay. We're sorry the parking came as a surprise and thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton Guest Service Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: clean nicely appointed
Cons: noise control from outside, although I don't know how anything can be done.
Nice. clean upscale but ight reconsider future stay. Fabulous location for what I needed but the highway traffic noises and lights meant for not very restful sleep. We did have room service and it was very nice and the staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for your understanding when it comes to the challenges of our location. While we are very convenient when it comes to accessing downtown and local universities, it is a double-edged sword when it comes to traffic. We are happy to hear the staff made you feel welcome and the room was comfortable. Kind Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick in and out

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Very accessible
Hotel was great for me. I had business to do in the early morning and needed something close by. It worked out perfectly
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
We're so glad to hear the hotel location worked out so well for you. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you have business in the area. Kind Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton Guest Service Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Location: Excellent pizza place across the road, Max and Leo's.
Hotel was OK, convenient for the meeting I had. the hotel is built on top of the interstate. I had to run the room fan continuously to drown out the traffic noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We're glad you found Max and Leo's - they are a delicious option while in town. We're sorry to hear your stay was disrupted by traffic noise and thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton Guest Service Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to rate your experience. We hope to welcome you back. Kindly, Crowne Plaza Newton Guest Service Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable Boston hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Needed a hotel within 20 minutes of Harvard Square without breaking the bank, and this was perfect. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing us and for this great feedback. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Crowne Plaza Newton Guest Service Team