Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Yearly get away for ourselves & another couple

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: The location of the hotel is excellent to walk downtown & drive to Wineries.
Booked through Expedia, so did NOT get the CAA discount that they advertise & could not refund on arrival. Breakfast lady was very helpful & pleasant & there was plenty of food. The 4 of us tour during the day & play bridge when we get back to our rooms. Being that the rooms weren't conducive for this, we asked at the desk if we could use the breakfast eating area. Not allowed. On the bottom floor of the hotel was a conference room, but we were told that wasn't available, even when it wasn't being used. I would recommend that the hotel have a place for guests to use, other than their rooms. I advise anyone who can not climb stairs to book the first floor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancs

Great Place to Stay

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Felt comfortable and at ease the whole time.
Location: about 20 mins walk town centre . Nice walks along the river front past the golf club, and numerous local wineries Trip to the Falls
Everything as described, a very clean and comfortable establishment with friendly and helpful staff which was ideally suited for our requirements. The room was a very generous size and contained comfortable furniture. Had air-con, and also a gas fire. Breakfast was good with breads, muffins, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and hard boiled eggs. Oh, and a make it yourself waffle which was fun. The lady assisting in the dining room was really nice and gave us so much information. Reception staff were brilliant and helped us book taxis for the Falls Trip and the airport return journey. Would have no hesitation in staying there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely customer service

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Amazing staff Clean and comfortable rooms Beautiful porch
Cons: Nothing. Liked everything. Keep expectations in check and you are always happy.
Location: Wine wine wine! A nice 20 minute walk into town for food and boutiques. A well needed walk after the wine and food consumed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brantford

overnight stay

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Staff were very pleasant - breakfast was very good. Room adequate for overnight stay, but disappointing for amount charged.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wayne, NJ

Niagara by the Lake Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Clean. Pleasant staff. Relatively close to old town Niagara on the Lake.
Decent hotel. Close to the old town part of Niagara by the Lake - 5 or 6 block walk. Room price when booked through Expedia was more expensive then that received by others who called the hotel directly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Everything excellent (almost), poor breakfast

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Room was big and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast. See above.
Hotel was perfectly comfortable, clean and all staff were very friendly and helpful. Having paid around about £150GBP for one night I found breakfast options poor. So long as you only wanted caffeine and sugar you were fine. For anything more nutritious options were limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Derrick Medcalf, Hotel Management
Hi Dale, thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay but I am sorry to hear that our breakfast didn't meet your expectations. While most guests love our breakfast we understand that some people do prefer a more extensive list of choices. We will be renovating our breakfast room over the winter so we will be looking at what we can add to our breakfast offering.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly service and good location

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: pretty clean, quiet, very helpful service, breakfast included, excellent proximity to Jackson Triggs amphitheatre. Cons: rooms need some updates...starting to look a bit worn out Overall a good basic hotel for sleeping and as a base point.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Elevator

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Location: Too far to walk downtown. must drive. Limited parking and pay to park.
Breakfast was good. Hotel doesn't have an elevator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Derrick Medcalf, Hotel Management
I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and liked our breakfast. Since we do not have an elevator we will reserve rooms on our main floor for those who request it and we are always glad to help carrying luggage up the stairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Location, perfect for us, quiet, clean, ( à few re

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Location perfect for us, quiet, clean ( à few repairs to do in the bath room ( noisy ventilator,( we mentioned it at th desk, early in stay, was not fixed during stay) à few patches in bathtub need attention). Nice water débit. Cleaning staff providing with smiles and good attitude , as the desk staff , also the kitchen lady , excellent . :( the attitude of the manager at the closing of bill said to my family room 210 he DID NOT want to include the CAA card because not in file , but we had joint réservation And it was accepted in mine but not in theirs , mishaps at registration ,, anyway not pleased at all with accounting . Considering else where next time, yes
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Derrick Medcalf, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and I am sorry about the confusion at check out time. It is not simply that I did not want to include the CAA discount but the CAA or senior's rate is never available through third party bookings. It was allowed in error to one of your rooms so when I realized that I extended it to your second room.
4 out of 5
by Steven from Ohio

Nice place, so so location

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
In town for Shaw