Ratings based on 4,104 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean, priced reasonably.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Location: Note to Grandparents travelling with Grandchildren from the US: you WILL need birth certificates for each child.
Nice hotel in very convenient location. You can walk to the Falls in about ten minutes (be warned, it's a steep walk at one point and a little spooky at night) and your not in the middle of all the madness of Clifton Hill. We had one of the "Presidential" suites; it was perfect for my wife and I and 3 grandkids. Breakfast is not included, the parking is an additional charge that's tacked onto the room, so be prepared. Even so, the total price was reasonable. There is an IHOP directly across the street, expect to pay $100 for a famiily of five for breakfast. the staff at the IHOP are nice, the food is not very good. In Niagara, on the Canadian side, bargains are hard to come by. For example, if you take a family of five to the butterfly conservatory, you will pay a steep admission price AND parking is an extra charge. Thirsty? There are no public water fountains, you'll pay $3 for bottled water. For a good meal, nice atmosphere, check out Secret Garden, near the river close to Rainbow Bridge. Walk there if you can, parking is $10 an hr.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Need to clean more the room was smelling cigarettes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Our stay was comfortable and my family was happy with the hotel amenities and staff. We will definitely come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Too old, too expensive, bad service

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Lobby.
Cons: Hotel is old but I believe that new management can make a huge difference
Location: Location is neutral. Not bad, not good.
Hotel has a good lobby infrastructure (starbucks, gallery, store) and there is where it ends. Rooms are old and they don't feel clean. This is the kind of hotel where you notice that the Operation isn't well oiled and in which you will find multiple problems during your stay due to this "mismanagement" (for lack of a better word). Here are some examples: I prepaid for a Non-Smoking room and was given one that smelled like a cigarette box; I got a new room after I called to report the situation AND asked to be changed (New room wasn't offered). One of the elevators wasn't working when I arrived and guests had to wait (sometimes over 10 min); it was fixed 3 days after. When checking out I was charged a parking fee for every night even when I reported in written that I was going to use the parking lot only one night. I can keep going with similar situations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We regret to learn of the poor impression made, and hope to restore your faith in DoubleTree when next travelling. Note, most items in the rooms are new - carpet, soft seating, beds, linen, lamps, safe, wifi, bathroom art and mirror, etc. We are constantly upgrading to improve. This fall we are adding an additional elevator to address issues when one elevator unexpectedly is unavailable, we are quick to shut them down if any chance of an issue and then must wait until service/parts available. When this happens, we open up the service elevator to guests to help. We do hope we will see you back in the future and get it right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and perfect location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: Hot tubs could be a little hotter and the outdoor hottub jets worked better.
Location: Perfect location short walk to everything.
We had 3 adults and 3 children 9-15.. It was a very nice two room suite with views on 3 sides since it was and end room. The room was large and clean and ready when we checked in at 2:30. Kids enjoyed the warm cookies. Hotel was great location and a short walk to the falls as well as Clifton Hill. At 10 PM every night we had a perfect view of the fireworks. Pool area was well kept and towels were always available. Would definitely stay here again if we return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin, Ohio

Lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, location
Cons: If a microwave could be added to the room, that would have been nice.
Location: Falls, casino, restaurants, Skylon, Skywheel, other attractions.
The hotel was very clean, beds were comfortable, pools and spas were clean and enjoyable. They had a printer set up where you could order tickets on-line and then print for free at the hotel. Since our cell phones would charge a fee for using in Canada, this served us well. We could walk to the falls (less than a mile), casino and then make a loop up Clifton Hill to a lot of the attractions. Enjoyed our visit greatly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest services, Hotel Management
We appreciate your five star review. Please note - a guest use microwave is available 24/7 in the guest pantry located on the lower lobby level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel close to Clifton Hills and the Falls

Posted Jun 9, 2017
The Doubletree is close to the main strip: Victoria Blvd and Clifton Hills and also close to Niagara Falls. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel's policy is to change the bed linen every 3rd day but you can request daily changes if desired. The hotel staff, housekeeping, and everyone else we interacted with was professional, polite, and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
we are happy to have made your time in Niagara a success!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cranston, RI

Beautiful Hotel close to Falls

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Beautiful Weekend Stay! Hotel was very clean, staff was friendly & very friendly & helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel close to attactions

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The salt water pools and hot tubs were great after a day of sightseeing. Although the staff should keep the clean towels available.
Cons: It would be beneficial if this hotel would offer currency exchange, the ability to buy Niagara Parks Adventure pass which include a two day WEGO pass.
Location: We visited the falls, the butterfly conservatory, the botanical gardens and took the Hornblower Cruise. All were of the WEGO line.
This hotel was clean, quiet and comfy. It was close to all attractions and was on the WEGO red and blue bus lines which is the way to see all the attractions in Niagara Falls. It would be very helpful if the hotel would sell the Niagara Adventure pass which includes a two day WEGO pass. Otherwise you have to have exact Canadian change which you can't get at the hotel, they don't have a currency exchange, and buy a one day pass to get to the Table Rock to buy your passes. Microwaves in the room would also be a nice addition, there is one in a pantry for the whole hotel to use. A better selection of sandwiches and snacks in the Moose and Squirrel would make for better business. They had the same sandwiches three days in a row, prewrapped in the showcase.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We appreciate your detailed review. To clarify, you can pay for your room in US currency and receive USD exchange, but we don't sell Canadian money. There is a nearby exchange center just outside the Fallsview Casino - 400 yards from the hotel, just walk down Fallsview Blvd. Looking forward to welcoming you back when next in Niagara.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Smelled

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Room smelled like cigarettes, was a Very unpleasant odor
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Guest services, Hotel Management
We apologize for the experience, hopefully you brought to our attention and we were able to address it.