Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Nice clean place to stay. Nicely renovated rooms and very friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Promita, Thanks so much for your positive feedback-we appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome 3 night stay for group

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Loved the new renovations. Location is perfect and the staff was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi There, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how you feel-we appreciate your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel is in a great location. Lobby staff treated us very well. The new rooms are super.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi There, Thanks so much for your feedback-we appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ont Canada

very nice hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: staff was nice and it was very clean
Cons: towels and pillows
Location: the best thing was that everything was so close. so we just walked everywhere
I liked the hotel all the staff were very nice. they need bigger towels and firmer pillows
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi There, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how you feel-we appreciate your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: This hotel is surrounded by so much to do.
Cons: I requested a microwave for my room. It was not clean or fit to use. I would like to be asked what view from the window, it would be nice if I had a
Location: quite a few things. I'm quite sure you know.
First I register with The Imperial Hotel and Suite about two weeks ago. I arrived Thursday Sept the 14th and could not find the Imperial Hotel. So I drove around for about ten minutes looking for the place, there was not an address on the building. Well we found out it was change to the Victoria Hotel and Suite. But when we went in to check in, we was pleased with the new look, smell and the very nice staff. The room was very nice. Next time I will ask for a street view of Victoria street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi R, Thanks so much for your feedback-we appreciate it. We apologize for the misunderstanding with the name change. An e-mail should've been sent directly from Expedia explaining the re-branding of the hotel, as well as the name change. We're glad you enjoyed our renovations and convenient location. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel close to Clifton Hill

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Close to restaurants and attractions. Newly renovated rooms. Friendly and efficient staff.
Cons: Elevators need to be updated.
Location: Right near the top of Clifton Hill. Many restaurants and attractions nearby. 15 minute walk to the riverside and falls view.
The hotel was recently renovated and renamed to The Vittoria. Staff was friendly and efficient for check in. $12 to park overnight. Elevators were not renovated and are old and worn down looking. Slow but got you to where you need to be. Room was quite nice. Everything pretty new and updated. 5 minute walk to Clifton Hill where there are many restaurants and attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Matt, Thanks so much for your feedback-we appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ON

Great stay

Posted Sep 11, 2017
It was very close to everything and neat. Definitely will be my choice whenever I'm in the area.l
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Bunmi, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how you feel-we appreciate it. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms and convenient location. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aurora ontario

Anniversary weekend gone bad :(

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The staff is absolutely great at the hotel . Rooms are newly renovated and beautiful. We had a room next to elevators , and if you ever plan to stay at this hotel , never ever stay near the elevators . There is not sound proof in the rooms and elevator makes a bell sound on every floor when it passes and you can hear it all night long . If someone passes by your room, even just talking in normal tone , you can hear it . Someone was requesting room service 5 times at 11 pm and you can hear it . There were people parting outside the hotel and you can hear it . Did not sleep at all this night . Paid a lot of money for it and very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Lyalichka, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how you feel-we appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We're sorry your stay wasn't as enjoyable as it could've been. It is important to us that every guest’s stay is a renewing and peaceful one. Maintaining a quiet and sleep-conducive environment on guest floors is our highest priority. For this reason, we handle noise complaints. Please let Front Desk know of any issue you are experiencing, so we can handle it accordingly. Thank you. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

bad staff

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: proximity
Cons: staff béhavior and the poor breakfast
Location: good location
the staff was very aggressive on arrival, on the site we had paid breakfast for the 5th, on arrival the receptionist gave us a paper just for two people, I let her know that we had paid for the 5, she replied aggressively that s no, I showed her the confirmation of reservation, she did not accept and told me that it was necessary to click on the breakfast and it will seem to you that it is for two and not for the 5, I let him know that c is the arnque, she and her colleague aggressively reply me that it is ca we can do nothing we had to verify, staff incorrect with mediocre service the morning we leave for breakfast, I do not tell you, everything except a breakfast so thin and poor for the price that we paid for 720 CAD for two nights, the second day went to TIM to take our breakfast, it was my first and last booking with this hotel I do not recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Daly, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how you feel-we appreciate it. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay. When booking online through a 3rd party the breakfast option does clearly state "breakfast for 2"-it does not matter how many people you have registered to the room. The breakfast package is always and only for two people. You do have the option to purchase additional vouchers once you are at the hotel. We apologize for this misunderstanding. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leamington, ontario

Great location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
freshly renovated. Great view. relaxing hot tub. Will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Kelly, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how you feel-we appreciate it. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!