Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Complete disappointment

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Jan 16 2016 we arrived at the Prince of Wales Hotel for a wedding event and overnight stay. We were greeted warmly by the staff as we checked in. We were given a room and as we entered there was a very strong smell. We immediately opened all the windows and aired out the room. We noticed that the wallpaper was coming off the walls in serval places also. Upon entrance to the washroom we were surprised to see mold along the bathtub tiles. Was also noted that there was patches of wall paper in the bathroom that were used to cover imperfections. We then noticed 3 oranges that were left for us in the living room table. When we picked them up one was rotten and completly rotten on the bottom. I would not expect this in a 100 dollar a night room and in this case we were paying 350 a night. At this price point you would never expect the conditions that were present. I did inform through an email of the conditions and our dissatisfaction. The information was given in a very professional matter with out even looking for compensation. I waited for 5 days after the email was sent with no response. At this point I resent the email and asked for acknowledgement. With no response. I would not suggest this hotel. no customer service and little regard to their customers and the valuable feed back that they offer. Absolutely the worst stay I have ever experienced in well over 1000 hotels I have stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An elegant stay

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Our time at Niagara on the Lake was truly marvellous. The Prince of Wales was the highlight of the trip. Most noted was afternoon tea in the elegant salon and the extra soft bedding in our rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sw ontario

Superb vintage hotel.

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: We loved the four poster bed and the holiday decor was superb We had afternoon tea what a treat, Don,t miss this experience. The hotel is perfect.
Location: Lots to do, winery tours on the doorstep, litterally, Cute shops, or take a scenic drive to the falls Dine at the sister vintage hotels 5 star!
We had our Golden wedding anniversary at this hotel. We wanted something different and memorable. A fabulous vintage hotel , employing knowledgeable, friendly, efficient staff. We arrived into our suite, where there was champagne waiting and every night a rose on the pillow. Lots of personal touches, to make our stay extra special, Staff were very attentive to our needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upscale hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: Location, comfort
Cons: Air conditioner was not really cool....it was unseasonably warm while we were there.
Location: It is close to restaurants and shopping and a pleasant area for walking or jogging. recommend the Irish pub right across across the st
Spent one night for a quick get away. Beautifully decorated for the holidays. Staff were friendly, room was comfortable. There was a parking charge which baffles me as most hotel guests drive a car...charge those not staying in the hotel instead of paying guests. I would definitely recommend though. It's an excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, Ontario

Candlelight Stroll - One night stay

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Mattresses
Location: In the heart of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Shopping and restaurants were steps away. These are small local merchants. No big box stores here.
The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of everything. The room was very large with an actual living room with sofa, wing chairs, large table and additional chairs. We could have easily entertained at least ten people in the room. Very large bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower that can probably fit three people. There is even a towel warmer! The room decor is very Victorian. The only complaint is the comfort of the bed. It was a king size bed with probably an old mattress, converted with a removable "pollow-top" covering. Unfortunately, the mattress was extremely worn in the centre of the bed, which made sleeping and getting comfortable very difficult. If you sleep on the right or the left, you would automatically roll to the centre of the bed. At the price of the hotel stay, they should really get new mattresses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from New Canadians 80 Plus old

Faded glory.

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Its old world charm and locality in NOTL.
Cons: Probably the hotel is nearing the time when a major refit is in order.
Location: Wonderful cycle rides and walks. Historic sites worth a visit - (Queenston Heights). Great shopping and excellent restaurants nearby
We stayed there 5 years ago and the standard has slipped since then in every respect except the dining room which is as good as ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location!

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Location, elegance and comfort. Free parking and wi-fi. Staff very attentive. The rose on the bed and fresh fruit in the room were a nice touch!
Cons: We were happy with our stay. I cannot think of anything to improve at this time!
Location: Great location, close to all the shops and restaurants.
Beautifully appointed rooms, very clean and comfortable. Great staff! Within walking distance to all major shops in Niagara-on-the Lake! Very elegant hotel! Beautiful arrangement of roses throughout the hotel and great coffee in the lobby! This is our fourth stay in the last few years and we always go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by doug from near Buffalo NY

Nice get away

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice room. Had lunch there which was very nice also. Found out we could have had a discount (senior or AAA- not sure which) if we had booked directly with hotel. Discount would have been nice as the room wasn't cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bradley from Ohio

THE Place to Stay in N-O-T-L

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
The Prince of Wales offers classic elegance in the heart of Niagara-on-the-Lake.