Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

too much $

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The distance from the falls was acceptable.
Cons: PRICE! IT IS DEFINITELY NOT WORTH $159 PER NIGHT
Location: THE FALLS
At $59/night that was within the range, but to be charged $159 for one of the nights was $100 too much. Had I seen that that was the cost structure I would certainly have stayed elsewhere more fitting for $159 for the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute decision to stay, price was right.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The air conditioning.
Cons: Remodeled rooms would be much better.
We were originally doing a one day trip. When we decided to stay one night this place was the best option price wise. The owners are friendly and the room was good for one night,.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. thank you for the suggestions we take every review seriously and work to improve upon the guest experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Ok to stay for a night. Pretty old room n equipments
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and services. Thank for your review and know we hear you, we are working to address these issues. Come back and see us again for a 5 star experience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No good

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: change hall
Cons: all
Location: the location is good
we want cancelled the reservation when We see the hotel but the personal; told us we need pay 60.00 dollar for each room . terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. Though we are happy to hear you found our location to be convenient. Thank you for your time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We had a nice stay

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The Room and the Cleanliness; and the Front Desk giving us free bus passes for Niagra
Cons: WIFI connection could not be logged in, at any time of our stay
Location: Very good location with regard to food and shopping options
Had good experience, except could not login 'the WIFI"
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition. Though we are sorry to hear about the issues with WiFi. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we are addressing this issue. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review, and we can't wait to serve you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location closed highway

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Needs improve facilities and bed sheet color changed white to light yellow, still someone's hair and stained on sheet. Staff did not clean the room for next guest. I requested other room, orher room was better than previous but still needs improvement
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. However I'm happy the staff were able to move you into a more suitable room. Please come see us again to see how we are improving.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Room and carpets are horrible including furnishings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Buddha, I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. Thank you for letting us know what you feel we need to improve on, we hear you and are working towards addressing these issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Room layout
Cons: Cable TV signal weak, and no guide to search for channels.
My family was visiting the Niagara Falls attraction and I booked the hotel through Expedia. I liked the 2 queen beds in a room with a zig zag layout where my daughter was on one and we were on the other, this made the room feel less cramped. Nice size bathroom as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Stephen, We appreciate your rating of our hotel, though I do apologize for the TV inconveniences that you experienced. We are happy the layout of the bedroom worked well for you, we enjoy improving our guest experience with every review. I hope that your next visit will be even better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty stinky room

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
I would not return to this hotel. The towels were dirty, there was mold in the bathroom and the whole room had a fowl odor. I have pictures of the bathroom. It looked nothing like the ones online.
1 out of 5
by Prasad

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Not worth for money we pay