Ratings based on 1,087 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

Poor

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Poor. Hotel did not provide many things as promised including Microwave in room. A clean pool. Etc
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
worst Motel, I won't recommened to any one, (Dust, No Hot Water, Refregirator was off, Watch was off, Flying bugs inside the room)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good building but bad service.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The attendant do not even try to help you with little things proper of an average hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by GM , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: We are sorry that you had are unhappy with the staff of the hotel. We will work hard to retrain the staff to better take care of the customers needs. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester

Horrific Experience

Posted Aug 18, 2016
This is the worst flea bag I have ever imagined. It was outdated and filthy. We went to three rooms until we found one that had ac and a bathroom door that shut. There were hairs all over the bathroom floor (yes, those NASTY hairs). Paint was chipping off the walls and the mattress had springs poking through. Nightmare in every way. Owner will not respond to my complaint email. HORRID.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by GM , Hotel Management
Dear K. The hotel is under new ownership. They are working hard to improve the hotel. We are sorry that you had such a bad experience at the hotel. We are working hard to fix the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. Thanks for letting us know the areas that need improvement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte? NC

Convenient, close to attractions and clean.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
This hotel is older but is comfortable. There is a pool, in house lovely Italian restaurant, free parking and continental breakfast. Beds are very comfortable, and it's a really good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to take the survey. We hope to see you again in your future travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only nice location

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Th location is great. About 20 minutes walking to ththe falls. The room wasn't so clean. The bed was noisy and not so comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know the areas of the hotel that need to be worked on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We paid $175 and it was not worth it. The rooms were old. They had a smell and mold was visible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to answer the survey. We will work hard to improve the hotel for the future. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Cons: Everything including service and cleaning
The hotel was dirty. Continental breakfast was a joke. No water in the machines even.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to take the survey. We will be working hard to fix the problems that you stated. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel cerca a la frontera con canada

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: nada
Cons: todo, el desayuno, no tiene ascensor, los muebles viejos
Location: lugar ok
fue normal, desayuno muy simple, el cuarto basico, hotel demasiado caro para lo que ofrecen
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the survey.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor conditions

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: nothing - --- staff was nice but they have nothing to work with there.
Cons: everything
Carpet in room was dirty and stained - bed was shot, had to sleep toward edge as middle was slumped into the center - room had an odor to it - parking was almost non-existent - we would have moved to another establishment but the Hotels cancellation policy didn't allow the cancellation. Did not notice that the cancellation policy and refund were 72 hours before arriving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for time the time to answer the survey. We're sorry that you had issues with the hotel. We'll work hard to correct the problems that you had during your stay. Thanks for letting us know.