Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kincardine, ON

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Very clean, beautiful surroundings and centrally located
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, ON

Nice hotel, lumpy bed

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, beautiful grounds, large room, large bathroom.
Cons: Old mattress needs to be replaced.
The inn is great, the bed in room 212 is not. A 4-diamond-rated inn should have better mattresses than a sagging, lumpy, uncomfortable double-sided pillow top.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel out in country.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Having no car was an inconvenience. It was a 25 minute walk to town but good walking paths. We were given misinformation by staff on several issues one being how long to the airport--1 hour 15 minutes. Not 45 minutes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Holland Landing, Ont

Over rated "Inn" Niagara on the Lake!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing. The Expedia rating was 4.5, way too high in my opinion.
Cons: Everything! Sadly, being run into the ground. Obviously new owners who think they can continue to run the Inn without putting money or work into it.
Location: Location was good. Easy walking distance into town and Fort George. Plenty of wineries close by where tasting is available.
The photographs on your website and the view of the "Inn" from the road were the only good things I can say about The Riverbend Inn. When we drove onto the property we noticed that there was an empty beer bottle and glass on the post at the end of the driveway, which stayed there for three days, despite the fact we noticed the owner drive past it numerous times on her way in and out. On first glance our room seemed reasonably clean but then we noticed copious amounts of hair on the bathroom floor from previous guests and the furniture was dusty, torn and battered. The handle for the shower was sitting in the bathtub, not sure if we were supposed to fix it, but we had to in order to use the shower. Bedding was torn and when the pillow case came off, the pillows were yellow with age and sweat. The property itself had obviously seen better days. The gardens were overgrown and unloved. Various sitting areas outside were littered with cigarette butts and the entire building could have done with a good paint. The patio had seen better days and the tables and chairs were filthy. We paid for breakfast on the first morning and it was cold and unappetizing. We ate elsewhere for the rest of our stay. We were disappointed to learn that despite being a vineyard, their wines were not available to taste, unless we purchased a bottle at the bar. . I can only assume that the many plaques and awards that are proudly displayed in the lobby were from a previous owner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundas, Ontario

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The rooms are so beautiful.
Cons: The dinner menu could be expanded to include some choices for teens who are staying with their parents.
Location: Beautiful surroundings, even in the winter, and is next to a winery.
Have stayed here a few times before. Am always very pleased with the hotel and the staff. Beautiful surroundings and close to one of the wineries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, Ontario

A simple hotel close to downtown core

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Our experience at Riverbend was enjoyable. It's a simple historic mansion in design. The rooms are a good size but lack that bit of luxury at that price point. The staff, very helpful and willing to please. The menu in their restaurant a bit limiting so most eat out. And the grounds peaceful and lush with vines. So if your looking for a truly relaxing get away, minus the price tag and would really suggest not to bring the kids (very limiting for small children), this Inn can make it on the list. Cheers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Beautiful inn overlooking a vineyard.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We found a little bit of Paradise! Close proximity to Niagara Falls but far enough away to experience quiet, peaceful surroundings. Old Town is beautiful with great restaurants. The Shaw Festival was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, ontario

absolutely beautiful!

Posted Aug 9, 2017
we felt right at home. everything was perfect. will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Nice hotel. It's like a big house located on a winery but not a winery. Multiple winery's very close. The main town was a short drive.
5 out of 5
by Luciano

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels