Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Inexpensive, clean, tidy, quiet, safe location.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Excellent continental breakfast. Staff were lovely, helpful & spoke English. There’s a lift to the upper floors & a room for storing luggage.
Cons: Needs a lick of paint in some places (e.g. our bathroom ceiling) but nothing major.
Location: Great hotel to use as a base for getting around Nice and up and down the coast.
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Anis, would recommend it to anyone who wants an inexpensive, clean, tidy & quiet 3* hotel. Lovely gardens & clean swimming pool & surrounds. The area between the Promenade & hotel was safe, quiet & non-threatening, even walking at 10pm. On arrival in Nice (at 9.30pm) we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which took about 10 minutes & cost €26 plus tip. The Promenade is about 10 minutes walk. The bus stop there is Ferber / Promenade. The hotel is about 10-minutes walk to/from the bus stop. Fairly easy walk but is a bit up hill to the hotel. Not all buses let you get off at Ferber, some only pick up (200, 400 & 500 I think). From Ferber to the old town takes about 15/20 minutes on the bus but depends on the amount of traffic. Or a 7km walk. The #98 bus to/from the airport stops at Ferber and costs €6.00 one way, takes about 15 minutes. Other buses stop on the main road near the airport. The nearest train station is Nice St-Augustin, about 15-minutes walk from Hotel Anis. Direct trains to/from Monaco/Monte Carlo takes about 35 minutes & cost approx €10 return. We found Nice to be a lovely city for a short break visit; safe, clean, easy to get around. Didn’t once get pestered by anyone trying to sell anything or trying to entice us into their restaurant which made for a relaxing few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location, lovely staff

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Location and value for money.
Cons: Bathroom size
Location: Close to the promenade/beach and the airport.
The hotel is basic, but good value for money. Our room was small, but it did have a (again, small) balcony. The bathroom was really pokey, so if you are a big person, this would be a significant disadvantage. Otherwise, everything was clean and pleasant, though. The pool looked really inviting, but it was a bit cold to swim just yet (April). We did not eat at the hotel, so we cannot comment on the quality of the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Hotel Anis The best kept secret in Nice

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The hotel has only 45 rooms a small swimming pool bar and restaurant but what it lacks in size it makes up for in quality.
Cons: no
Location: Not too far from the 4km promenade which has an array of quality restaurants and bars. the open top bus is a must to see the area in a short time
Nice is going through a major redevelopment in terms of its high street and sea front. However this did not distract us from having a wonderful break at the Hotel Anis. Barbara is the most engaging of hotel Managers/Owners I have ever come across, she knows everything there is to know about Nice. (even when to wear your coat!!!) Not only that but she seems to be everywhere in the hotel. From the reception on check in, to the restaurant at breakfast and to the bar at night. Because there is so much choice out there, its very rare I would go back to the same hotel or area. On this occasion I would and will be back in the summer. Taxi's are not cheap but there is a wonderful network of bike hire locations where you just pay and go on the sea front. the beach is made up of pebbles, so maybe not the best place for children who like to mess about in the sand. Would I go back again? Yes if only for the weather, Barbara and the wonderful hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Basic room

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Free parking
We paid 77.77$ plus 2.80 euro for tax for a double bed, breakfast not included. The room was extremely basic, a little dingy, need renovations, not clean, shower too small, no coffee maker no fridge in the room, breakfast to run (overpriced 12 euro and not qualitative, few products and not necessarily fresh)! Free parking was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Place

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great owners and staff, wonderful garden restaurant with good meals, English speaking if needed, wake up calls, has an elevator, great rooms with balconies and sea glimpses, and the pool is very relaxing. Can't get much better for a start or end to your south France travels.
4 out of 5
by Doug

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Average hotel, horrible staff.

Posted Nov 22, 2015
You get what you pay for. Rooms are clean but need minor repairs - like chipped paint or shower nozzle doesn't hook in place. It's a 10 min bus to downtown and 5 min walk to the waterfront. Staff are awkward, avoid guests and make you feel as though you're intruding or annoying them by asking a basic question.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Blenheim Canada

Good place to stay before or after a flight

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
The service was friendly, and helpful. The restaurant was excellent and reasonable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
The access to the hotel is difficult. Common areas are ok, but the room's condition is rather neglected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the hotel it is very nice but you need a car

Posted Sep 25, 2015
The hotel it is nice clean good food But if you don t have a car don t say there it is a little far for the beach or the centro and for take the bus you need to walk i little and have hill.