Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to what beach?? 30 minute drive to nearest??

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Kitchenette with no kettle, cup, knife, fork, plate. So what's the point!! Middle of no where. One restaurant which is half a mile and no other for a 30 minute drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit far from Nice, but great uphill drive.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Nice balcony views, good rate.
Cons: Could use updating.
Room was a bit small, there was not enough closet space. Hallways had a cheap hotel feel (off-putting blue walls, dark grey flooring, dim lighting). Bathtub needed re-glazing. No utensils, cups or glasses provided in a kitchenette. Someone had a comment that it was scary to drive to the hotel after dark. I totally disagree. Please remember, we Americans are used to steer (not drive) in US. You must DRIVE in Europe. So stay off the left lane if not passing and enjoy the experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

high mountain view 25 mins from the beach

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: high views with balcony
Cons: I think the website said 21 mins drive to the airport - that may be French drivers - but uphill it's probably 30+ - and I wouldn't try walking/cycling
Location: a long drive uphill, and the nearest McDonalds (or supermarkets/shops) like 4 km across the valley requires a 25 min detour to cross the autoroute
the uphill drive seemed like forever, but downhill drive to Nice airport was about 25 mins we were regretting the drive until we around at the high hilltop site with sweeping views of the Var valley and mountains a little more expensive than most hotels we stayed at - but a lovely treat for our last night in France
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bournemout

Quiet hotel in the hills

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The pleasant helpful staff my partner added it had carpet unlike Spain lol
Cons: Outside looked dated and sad which could be off putting
Location: Awesome views across the valley and not to far from Nice and had a restaurant at bottom of road about a 5 min walk
This was a last min booking to break up the trip from Barcelona to Rome. We weren't expecting a great deal but was pleasantly surprised, outside of Nice high in the hills we were greeted by what looked a dated hotel, it was clean and they had updated the interiors and was bright clean and comfy. Our room offered a good bed, lovely bathroom and even a table and chairs and small kitchenette (My partner was taken with the closet automatic light)and a charming balcony that had a table and 2 chairs which after a 7 hour drive provided us with late afternoon sun while we drank wine and relaxed. The hotel was quiet even with other guests and we had a great nights sleep and the shower next morning was the most powerful I've had in Europe. We stayed for breakfast that was plentiful and fresh, including real coffee, a godsend for me. The staff were helpful and pleasant and most importantly spoke English as my school French is poor. Thankyou for a delightful stay hope to visit again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Great hotel. A bit far hill driving but hotel is nice, clean and big rooms. Close to a supermarket.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Olivier from Charlottesville

Great location in the hills over the Var valley

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Room was a bit small and one light bulb was out but very clean and housekeeping staff was great. Location is awesome: this hotel in at La Gaude, a little village perched on a hill right next to Nice (and home to one of IBM's european research centers). You can get to anywhere in Nice withing 20-30 mins by driving down the hill and taking either the "voie rapide" or the freeway thru the hill. Sea shore is 10 mins away. Advantages: silence, fresh air, beautiful view. I will go back to this place. And, oh yes, it's cheap!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Arlington, Tx.

Good accommodation for the price

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff, clean and peaceful.
Location: Driving distance from Saint Paul, cute village with nice views and good restaurants. Great for walking around.
Hotel staff are wonderful, very helpful and kind. Clean and comfortable, having a car was a good idea. Driving distance to several nice villages and a reasonable driving distance to Nice, Cannes, and other coastal towns.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from London, UK

Basic but good value

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Very small room
Location: About a 40 min drive from the airport.
Very basic and the room is small. Bathroom was clean. Good value for the very low price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julian from London

Satisfactory

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Shower power
Cons: cleanliness of bathroom
Location: great if you like fresh air
The room was lovely, and the shower had so much pressure which was amazing. The only downside to the hotel was the cleanliness of the bathroom and shower. On two occasions we found that after wiping the ceramics with a cloth hair would be left behind. That was a bit dissapointing, but other than that it was fantastic. The hotel was about 15mins drive from central Nice, and it was right on the top of the town/city (mountain/hill) so we had fresh air every morning. The hotel staff were very friendly and very nice people. If you chose to stay here, then you must drive to Monaco, only 1 hour away. Remeber if you do drive use your sat nav and chose the route were it avoids toll charges. (France is full of them and they add up quite quickly if you're on a limited budget)