Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Disappointed

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Disappointed about the location and not much in the way of activities.
We found the hotel difficult to get to particularly in terms of its location, directions how to get there and a distinct lack of parking available to guests. The fact that we had to find it first, gain entry, use a small elevator to the 4th floor and then walk up some narrow stairs to get to our room frustrated us. We had a room with a balcony, but we didn't it because we didn't want to look out over the rubbish on roof tops around the hotel. It ended up costing us another 28 Euro to leave our car in a car park a few blocks away and the fact that there was no arrangement between the Hotel and the car park for our ticket to be validated also frustrated us. The room was very tidy and comfortable and the young lady on reception was very helpful, extremely pleasant and assisted us with local information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

in the mild of the tourist center.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Except the small elevator only can stay two people, other wise I like this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Shirley from Auckland

Close to the beach

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
lovely neighborhood, close to the beach and easy to get to from the airport. This hotel is a bit on the older side, but there are open windows and air con. The service from reception is excellent, very knowledgeable staff. The only major issue we had was we had a leaking roof, the staff tried to help but due to the heavy rain, it was quite bad. Other than that, the stay was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good position friendly staff but overpriced.

Posted Sep 4, 2015
No great concern not impressed with graffiti on bedroom wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa ON

Hotel Solara in Nice

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Interesting building with history.
Cons: While the bathroom and particularly the shower were good, the shelf above the sink was too close and I kept hitting my head against it.
Location: Great pedestrians-only street, many restaurants and shops nearby, easy access to the beach and busses for exploring the small villages outside town.
Stayed four nights. Great location on a pedestrians-only street. Staff polite and helpful, room small but quiet and totally adequate for my needs. Enjoyed morning coffee and croissant on the balcony and was happily surprised by a gentle dove that flew in noiselessly to check out for crumbs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Wonderful view

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Super location
Cons: Better floor covering in rooms
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants and the promenade nearby
Hotel Solara is a fine inexpensive hotel in a marvelous area of Nice. I had a great view of pedestrian rue de France and enjoyed listening to music every evening that drifted up to my open windows from a nearby restaurant. The lift to the 4th floor hotel is quite small and the shower in my room was equally as small. But, for a super location is hotel is a good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alden from NY

Authentic hotel, boosted by balcony & location

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Hands down the staff: the owner & his family were super-helpful, balcony room excellent, over-all personal, rather than chain hotel feel.
Cons: Night revellers in the street below can be noisy (not the hotels' fault), staircase could use better lighting (bring a small flashlight)
Location: Right on the "zone pietons" pedestrian area: shops, restaurants and one block from the Nice promenade. Any boredom is your own fault.
A block back from the Promenade in Nice and light-years away from price & corporate conformity, The Hotel Solara is five floors above the pedestrian-only zone and just outside your expectations. Clean, high-ceilinged room with modern bathroom, mini-fridge and a balcony/terrace view across the rooftops and down the street of shopping/dining district. Over the railing the view is bustle and business, above is the collage of impossible blue skies and brick-red tiles of the city stretching to the hills beyond the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved Hotel Solara!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Stayed at Hotel Solara for 3 nights and had a lovely time! The room was nice and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I definitely recommend to stay here for the perfect French experience in Nice. The location is unbeatable, with only a 3 minute walk to the water!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Morgan from F

Homey feel close to the beach

Posted Dec 21, 2013
I loved this hotel! Guy at front desk was very helpful, great little balcony on our room. Recently remodeled bathrooms. Very clean. One block from the beach and on a main shopping road. Easy to walk everywhere in Nice from this location and very close to bus stop that has direct access to the airport. Small and slightly outdated rooms, but very cosy and I enjoyed my stay!
3 out of 5
by Bret from Raleigh

Decent and relatively low cost for the location

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels
This is a budget hotel without a lot of frills. The room had a refrigerator, but unfortunately did not have any equipment for making coffee (for example, a French press or small drip brewing machine). This ties to one of our overarching complaints about France which was we couldn't get a simple, inexpensive, big cup of coffee like is available everywhere in the US. The beds were normal, for France - small, springy and unpadded - but were fine. The room was quiet and had AC, which was appreciated since it was very hot during our visit to Nice. I'd put the room on par with an America Motel 6, but the French version. The location was great, right on the walking mall. The staff were very friendly and helpful - as good service as at any more expensive hotel. I'd recommend this hotel for budget minded travelers who are ok with a no-frills experience at a great location.