Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Pittsburgh

Out of the way but very comfortable

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
A small place (only like 10 rooms) with English speaking staff, on the other side of the port of Nice from the main town. Very walkable, comfortable, and friendly.
4 out of 5
by Laird from Oakland

Old fashioned

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
This is an old boutique hotel, with some character. It could use a new hall carpet. Amenities are basic. It's on a busy street a 15 million minute walk from the old port or 25 minutes to the old town. The attentive and friendly manner of the proprietor left me with a warm feeling. And it's relatively inexpensive.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Warwickshire

Perfect!

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect! Had a small room on this trip, (larger ones' available), which was very pleasant with views over the garden towards the sea. Great breakfast. Very quiet location considering the proximity of the main road. On main bus route. No hesitation in returning - great hosts made us very welcome indeed.
1 out of 5
by Wayne from Sydney Australia

Not a Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
We booked online and arrived at 6pm to find the hotel locked up and a note with a number to call. The staircase is narrow and steep and when the person appeared no help with luggage was offered. The room was very small and the bathroom, amazingly, had a window-like opening at the top into the room. The bed was uncomfortable. We could not see any evidence of a bar/lounge. When our room was made up the bed cover was left on the floor. The walk from the hotel to town is down a very steep hill to a small section of the old port, not the beach or town centre. However the hotel is quiet and we had a lovely view to the sea in the distance. Compared to other hotels in which we stayed during our three week trip this hotel was overpriced. On check out the so called helpful French speaking man claimed that the credit card payment that had been made at time of booking had not gone through so we had to pay again. I note that there was no evidence produced hat the payment had not gone through. Overall this was a poor choice and we could not recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 night break in Nice!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at the Villa la Malouine last week. We had a great room with two large windows and balconies. Typically French décor and the most amazing thing was that it was so quiet with no traffic noise. Considering the Hotel was on a busy main road. It was just set back from the road and this made all the difference.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More than one night would be depressing

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The rooms are small, the mattress bad, the location has no free parking and the price for the room is ridiculously high. The hotel has a bad old smell and the bathroom has no privacy, it is open into the actual room.
4 out of 5
by Nick V from Nice France

The beach

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
It was a great stay with the hotel and the front desk/concierge was so nice and very accommodating to any and all questions we had. He also spoke great English. The hotel itself was over priced we stayed there for two nights and moved to another hotel with a higher star rating for half the price. If you are on a budget this is not the place to stay but it is in a beautiful area close to many nice restaurants and cafés. It took around 20 minutes by tram to get to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by nicholas, Hotel Management
One has to understand a higher "ranked" hotel can be in the wrong part of nice , not by the sea and close to the beach and therefore cheaper.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Hotel in Nice

Posted Jun 18, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel has potential to be more then what it is. It's pretty out dated and needs some new carpeting in hall way. The rooms are small by European standards. The building and grounds are it's best quality. Also the location is walking distance to the port/old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Biella

graziosa villa nel verde

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: La piccola dimensione , la tranquillità , la colazione alla francese.
Cons: Non c'è reception prima delle 17,00
Location: A 20 minuti a piedi dal centro di Nizza. A chi piace camminare , come me, è interessante
Esperienza positiva per la tranquillità del posto. Giardino ombroso dove ,in primavera-estate è possibile fare colazione.
3 out of 5
by Johan

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you johan now faithful to our place for 5 years !