Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

relaxing

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
great service, great food. nice and quiet. plenty of parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Staff is awesome. I want owners however to take some of their massive income and reinvest in their investment...i.e. refurbish rooms mainly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run-down Hotel - Stunning views - could be amazing

Posted Sep 6, 2016
We stayed here in early Sept 16 for four nights along with many guests for a friend's wedding event nearby. The hotel has huge potential and could be stunning. The terraces and some rooms have wonderful views. Alas, renovations are long long overdue and the few members of staff are 'stretched', though tried their best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Faded yes, but not past glory! (inc. Parking Tips)

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: It has oodles of 60s/70s charm, which would be a shame to loose. We kept thinking Edina & Patsy would fall out of a bush at breakfast every morning.
Cons: It would benefit from a bit of maintenance. There's a lot of simple things, that if attended to, would make a huge difference.
Location: Fondation Maeght, the Village itself, La Colle-sur-Loup, Cagnes sur Mare is only 20 mins drive (great beach)-
Admittedly we got a great deal on Expedia, & were upgraded to a suite with a pool.... However, the hotel is vast, very clean & the staff were wonderful. The location is good, but unless you are capable of a 45min-1hr very hilly walk, it’s a quick drive to StPdV. See below for parking tip. Parkin Tip: In StPdV the parking is a totally nightmare, being a small walled town. The underground Espace Sainte-Claire (opposite Le Vieux Moulin) which is the easiest to get in, but is a challenge for the best driver, very tight! In the evening you're best to park at the Foundation Maeght on the main road. Or in the spaces below on Ch. des Trious, all free after 7pm. It's then a 5 min uphill walk to StPdV. There are spaces in the Route des Series a bit nearer but all the rich locals & unknowing tourists go there & it’s very tight spacing. There’s two walking routes to the village, marked on the attached map. the yellow is safer (1hr) & the pink , which has worst gradients & virtually no pedestrian paths (45 min). We didn’t see many taxis, the ones we did were basically Limos. So guessing they’re expensive.
3 out of 5
by Victoria from London

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
The highlight of the hotel was the pool in my room, the customer service was so poor in both the reception and restaurant. There was items in the room that needed fixing and had insects crawling around their suites. The wifi was the poorest you could get as it only worked in the reception area. This hotel needs revamping as soon as possible.
5 out of 5
by simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Lovely hotel if you want peace and quiet.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Booked this last minute was pleasantly surprised. Location was lovely staff were very helpful. The only downside was we had to get taxis everywhere. Bus stop was 30 minute walk and train station was further away. Had we'd realised then we would have hired a car, which we will do next time we go.
3 out of 5
by Virginie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

run down and will likely close - horrible

Posted May 26, 2016
We paid for a room with a private pool. It was expensive. We woke in the morning to see a pump in the pool draining it. I was getting changed and the workers came back. Horrible. Expedia tried to rectify the mess but we got maybe 100€ off. Still paid close to $500 CDN. We only booked it due to the pool. Seems fair? NOT. Never never book this hotel. It had potential 25 years ago and is now a DUMP.
5 out of 5
by Royce from Mountain Green, Utah, USA

Close to Nice in the quiet foothills

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very close and easy access to Saint Paul and Nice airport. 20 minutes from historic downtown. Best hotel we stayed in on our two week blitz through France, Germany, and Switzerland. Excellent prices. Free parking. Huge rooms with large bathroom.