Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart, Germany

Hotel with a view!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The main selling point of this hotel is the view and having the use of a swimming pool. The location is also great, easy to drive or take public transport to Nice and Monaco. Plenty of free car parking available. The hotel staff were very friendly. As other reviews have said, the hotel could do with some refurbishment to its exterior and interior but the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Yes, the walls/ceilings/floor are thin but I had ear plugs so it didn't bother me too much. The breakfast is pricey for what was on offer but you can go to the old harbor town for other options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Great hotel with a view

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The hotel was great but we had some issues with thin walls where we heard every single thing our neighbors did. Nevertheless i do recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Tired

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Almost everything apart from the location.
This was our third and last stay at this hotel. The location is second to none, but that is where the good part of the review ends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It were proper bo I tell thee.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The view lad.
Cons: Nowt - I mean nothing bonny lass.
Location: This hotel is quite frankly Mr Shankley a jackpot of admiral character traits.
Appy as Larry was you friend and humble narrator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location near old town

Posted Jul 3, 2015
The hotel has everything from a great resturant, bar, pool and view of the Mediterranean Sea. The room we had did not come with a shower curtain or screen for the bath tub. It made no sense to have water go everywhere. The staff seemed like they preferred to think you were not there and always seemed put out if you had a question. There is a bus in front of the hotel which is very handy and goes to Nice or Monaco. The staff would not offer any information about the bus as if it wasn't there. Sorry to say...so French.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent view shame about hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Noise from above and through paper thin walls kept me awake Linen delivery woke me early am. Bathroom ok room and balcony broken rusty dirty old furniture really let's this place down as does the surly attitude of owners. Avoid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

First visit to the south of France and in late Sep

Posted Oct 25, 2014
We selected the hotel for the parking that is available. Loved villefranche and hotel is an easy walk to the main eating area by the waters edge and old town as well as the station and buses. Nice room with a good view from the balcony. Comfortable bed. The shower is a handheld version in the bath, which is not uncommon, but would prefer a shower you can stand up under. The rooms are not particularly well soundproofed. We had a baby on side and loud americans the other. The biggest disappointment was the catering. No problem with the restaurant being closed for the season as lots of lovely places to eat in town. The breakfast was poor and over prced. A great shame as the eating area near the little pool was lovely. Easier to get foof from the little supermarkt nearby and eat on the balcony, lovely. Just remember the british travellers must of kettle, cups and camping cutlery! Finally wifi very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 little things

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Le Versailles is a great option for Villefranche but if they just spent a few quid on a kettle and a small fridge for each room it would be even better. Also the restaurant is too expensive and has a limited menu
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Staff a little gruff and appear to have never been asked for some standard requests before (iron, showering facilities post check-out, plug adapter, directions) but generally good value. Nice pool. Cracking view. Good food. Recently renovated room, 10 min walk to port, right on main bus line to nearby towns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston England

Beautiful View and Excellent location,

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Thew views and location.
Cons: The friendliness of all the staff, and a more affordable breakfast and evening menu. 12 Euros for a continental breakfast isnt great!
Location: A lovely walk into Ville Franche. Every bus is 1 Euro, into Nice, or Monaco and Monte Carlo, which are all worth a visit.
Absolutely fantastic hotel with excellent views. Very expensive for breakfast and evening meals so went out for local croissants and into Ville Franche to eat which was much more cost effective. The room (seaview) was well worth the money and the location absolutely fantastic. Generally the staff were dismissive, but a couple of the younger girls on reception were lovely and incredibly helpful. If you can get over that, then I would definitely recommend this hotel. Looking forward to going back.