Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Found this hotel to be the perfect place for a short break in nice friendly staff nice room, have stayed before and will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel in the old town; friendly staff.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: close to core of the old town, had character; i e, rooms are Artist themed. Pleasant staff.
Cons: The lack of a lift; on my departure, the receptionists & myself struggled with my baggage, nobody else was on hand.
Location: The old town, visit nearby picturesque lanes, cathedral. Travel & excursions are simple; visit Matisse & Chagal Museums; selection of restaurants.
Room 208 was somewhat cramped and too close to adjacent 207, so noisy when neighbours entered or left; or the TV was on. Our stay was from 23rd Dec.-to 1st January. The room was on the 2nd floor, there is no lift; on arrival 23rd, early evening, there was no help available to carry luggage up a very narrow staircase. This was tedious following on our flight & travel from the airport. The dining arrangement was so- so being too close to the entrance and reception. There is a basement room which is used to host private parties, with disco & dance; on 31st Dec., the music could be heard well after 1.30 a.m.; I had to ask room 207 to turn down the TV volume. As I had a 7 a.m. call. The proprietors were friendly & invited us to a welcome drink on arrival and on two other occasions. Prices were somewhat high, i.e. 12 Euros for breakfast. Reception service was helpful & friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great location & hospitality & free wifi

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Hotel is very convenient, in Old Town and near attractions & a amenities. Only shortcoming is it foes not have an elevator as hotel is old charm. Personalised attention by the owners Jerome & Sharon that is hallmark of the hotel hospitality. Hotel staff are very helpful and attentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Quaint close to old Nice and narrow streets.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Indoor square where the washing machine and aircons are situated. I think should be cleared!!!
Location: Location was near sea,old Nice,Trams,Buses,restaurants,Markets,Chemists,Food shops,Museums,Palaces,Swimming Pool,Churches and shops to die for.
Comfy bed! good shower room,Safe deposit box. No tea making facilities so take your own. We had a major problem with TV, Aircon going down two days into a 7 day holiday. We were informed that the French electric had a power surge and blew all the electrics in the hotel. Last day we received new TV but unfortunately too late for us as we were going home next morning. Did receive a free meal which was a very kind gesture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrogate, UK

Quiet hotel in the old town

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Quiet, location, friendly staff
Cons: shower water pressure
Location: In the old town. so many places to eat all day and hundreds of shops to visit. Beach only a short walk away through the old town
The hotel location was a perfect base for visiting the old town, walking east to the harbour area and west to the trendy designer shopping area. The beach is only a short walk through town. Located in a small pedestrian square it also very quiet at night because of no passing traffic and I did not hear the nearby trams at all. There are so many nearby places for breakfast, including the café opposite, which while only offering basic food is full of charm & friendly locals. The hotel staff are so friendly, helpful and all speak very good English. I stayed 4 nights; my room was at the front, adequate for one person but might be a bit tight for a couple staying more than a few days, no smaller than similar hotels I have used on my previous 2 visits to Nice. My one complaint would be the water pressure which was woeful for a shower (fairly normal unfortunately). I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and shall definitely stay there again on future visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great location convenient for bus and sightseeing

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location the friendliness and the courtesy of the people who manage the hotel
Cons: The lighting and the air condition
Enjoyed our stay we can recommend our friends and would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappointing

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Put in air conditioning. Get soundproof windows.
Very loud all night long - first the people outside until after midnight, then they drag in all the tables, then the cleaners come, and then they drag all the tables out again. Very hot - no air conditioning. Didn't want to open the window due to the aforementioned noise but, given that it was loud even with window closed, I figured I could at least be physically comfortable while I was not able to sleep so opened the ONE window.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The hotel was very nice and close to the old town.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the manager went out of his way to make a nice vegetarian dish as we had 2 persons in our party who are vegetarians.
Cons: Since it is a small hotel, it would be nice if a lift can be installed, otherwise everything was nice, the décor and he rooms were well lit.
Location: There was a market, we went to the station and took a tour to Monte Carlo and Cannes and also we visited some small villages and off course the shops.
The hotel was small and in a area where others hang out. The staff accommodate us perfectly. The only thing wrong with the hotel is that they do not have any lifts. Since our room was on the third floor we had to use the stairs everytime to get to the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Highly recommended family run hotel - great chef!

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Ambience, staff, food, location.
Cons: Was perfect for us.
Location: Eateries, bars for people watching, interesting shops, beach, parks, walks. Buses to along the coast including to Cannes and Monaco.
Ideally situated on the edge of the old town with wide range of eateries and little shops. Lots of places to visit and browse. Small, traditional hotel which is our preference. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Unusual in our experience for a hotel, the food was excellent - freshly made food at fair price. We didn't have breakfast or lunch as there were so many other places to try nearby. Great facilities in Nice for all ages including lovely parks and walks. Need to be careful of bags in busy areas. Make sure validate bus tickets in machine on buses or can get fined on the spot! Note that hotel does not have a lift as an old building. Other than this can't recommend enough if looking for a small, interesting hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Best hotel I've stayed in

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Everything,great staff,welcome drink whilst waiting for room to be ready- we were early. Room very good,clean liked bathroom
Cons: ? Coffee making facilities might be appreciated but fridge in room was excellent for storing cold drinks
Location: Within old town very easy to access rest of city,major bus stand nearby
Fabulous hotel in old town very easy to access all areas, I've visited nice several times and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in would definitely recommend it unless stairs are a problem