Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Heated toilet seats.. awesome
Location: Centrally located to many things in Tokyo. Just a short cab drive to shopping, eating and so much more.
I was not disappointed with this hotel. The staff was there for everything I needed and went above and beyond what I was expecting. If I go back to Tokyo I will be definitely staying at the Mandarin Oriental.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and were satisfied with the hotel’s service. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Impeccable service, great views, large and modern rooms, and the spa.
Cons: Price of the breakfast buffer, Sense restaurant, room service, and laundry should be lowered from "insane" to just "very high"
Location: Centrally located. Not far from Ginza or main railway station. And in the basement is a subway stop. Super convenient.
I've been to a lot of really nice 5-star hotels in various countries including the Park Hyatt Tokyo. The Mandarin Oriental Tokyo beats them all. The views from the lobby, restaurant and room were amazing. We upgraded to the "Mandarin, Grand Twin Room" and that gave us an amazing view of Mt. Fuji in the mornings. The room was very large, clean, and new-looking. The spa was world class with very good masseuse and nice steam/sauna/hot tub. The Molecular Tapas Bar was also amazing. Super creative. E.g. dessert dipped in liquid nitrogen. Pop it in your mouth and chew and breathe out and nitrogen comes out your nose. Not only great tasting but really fun. Mocktail pairings were great too. Live jazz and Cuban cigars available at the bar were a rare treat. The concierge was also super helpful booking tours. I tried to make a reservation at one of the hotel restaurants and was told it was full. When we ordered room service instead, the concierge had notified the dining folks and sent up free drinks as an "apology". Now for the downsides (no place is perfect right?). The Sense restaurant Chinese cuisine is good but not great. But we paid almost $500 for dinner for 2 for their tasting menu. No wine. That is crazy expensive for what you got. I didn't mind paying that sort of amount for the Molecular Tapas, but here it was nuts. And don't do room service or dry cleaning...you may have to take out a second mortgage. Still I would go back in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Warm greetings from Mandarin Oriental,Tokyo. First of all, we wish to express our appreciation for having chosen our hotel as your preferred residence during your last visit to Tokyo. We would also like to thank you for having taken your time to review on our services and dining experience at Tapas Molecular Bar. For the negative review, they have been shared with the appropriate Department Heads to initiate the necessary steps for improvement to meet the quality standards of Mandarin Oriental. We place great importance on your feedback, as this will help us to improve the services we provide for our valued guests like you. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and inspire. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Lionel

Best view in Tokyo

Posted Dec 1, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing night at this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017
Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay. We are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Matthieu

close to perfect exept wifi is not free ...

Posted Nov 30, 2017 on Hotels
helpful and nice staff, great view, spacious clean room, very comfortable bed. close to perfection if we didnt have to pay for internet and also the street sound proofing isnt too great. But I ll definitely come back !
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017
Dear Valued guest, It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to write such a review. The whole team was overjoyed to learn that you had a pleasant day with us. However, we would like to take the opportunity of this letter to apologize for the noise disturbances you have unfortunately experienced through your stay. For internet access, we would like to recommend to book directly via our hotel website and creating a profile, you will receive complimentary high-speed wireless internet access for the duration of your stay. Thank you once again for your kind review. We hope you will consider staying with us again on future trips to Tokyo, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by David

Spacious and super quiet

Posted Nov 25, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing and comfortable stay, the staff was very pleasant and respectful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017
Dear Valued guest, Thank you for your review and comments. We will look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Alvin

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
Was terrific We had two remarkable service people: Moe in breakfast and Sara (I think) in the sushi bar Sara actually helped my wife learn about raw fish and for the first time enjoy sashimi and sushi Then she wrote out some unsolicited information and gave her a gift. Never had that happen before
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017
Dear Alvin, Thank you for your review. Your positive feedback on our colleagues, Sara have been passed along, and the whole team is very thrilled to know that you were pleased with the overall service and had a fantastic time with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Hotel staff is incredible

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Traveling with small children isn't always easy. Hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure we were accomadated to our fullest satisfaction. Friendly, polite and very helpful! Thank you so much! We had a wonderful stay at Mandarin Oriental Tokyo. Perfect location, easy access to various food options close by. Incredible views from our hotel room. We love Japan and its people. Can't wait to come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Pang Yuen

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Pang Yuen Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Never in my 25+ years of travel have I enjoyed a hotel nearly as much add the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo. The service and experience was well above what I expected, and worth the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and were satisfied with the hotel’s service. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another stay. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
4 out of 5
by Chi Ngai A

Stiff Competitions amongst super 5 stars hotels !!

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Competition is stiff these days amongst super 5 stars hotels in Tokyo. Given the age of MO Tokyo, they need to make extra effort to make staying there worthwhile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017
Dear Chi Ngai A, Thank you very much for taking a moment to write about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and would like to learn more about it further. We place great importance on your feedback, as this will help us to improve the services we provide for our valued guests like you. We look forward to yet another opportunity of welcoming you back, and if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Yours sincerely, Social Media Communications Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo