Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Easy access from Niigata JR station in 10 minutes distance with public buses
4 out of 5
by richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Charles from Maryland

Solid value and good location but not fancy

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very well located on the middle of the old downtown. Rooms are small and a bit old but clean. The staff was very friendly. Good coffee at breakfast but only packaged rolls. Not fancy but solid value overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Refreshingly Helpful Staff

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Staff attitude and helpfulness. Period.
Cons: As with any hotel, efforts should be made to employ cleaning agents that are allergen-free and friendly to those with allergies.
Location: Walking to distance to Hakusan Train Station (Hakusan Eki) and amenities.
Great staff. Clients with special needs (such as allergies in my case) are listened to and suggestions were made by staff to improve the comfort of their stay. One of the best experiences I've had with hotels in Japan - and I have stayed in may over the years. Well done APA for hiring and ensuring that hotel staff are chosen for their interest in helping people.
4 out of 5
by Natalie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is old and showing it's age. But it's a short taxi ride to the JR station. It did include a bread and coffee breakfast free.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mold all over the bath

Posted May 2, 2016
This hotel needs to be maintained!! The mold is all over the bathroom, around the tub, on the walls, everyywhere!! Room, on the other side is pretty clean.. Laundry room is in the garage outside of the hotel so not really convinient to do the lundry at night time
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from HK

toilet cleaning machine is dirty with stool

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
toilet cleaning machine is dirty with stool
4 out of 5
by Michael from Hitatchi

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

We started our Niigata exploration here.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff knowledgeable and very helpful.
Cons: appoint more English speaking staff?
Location: Please see above. We did not do much "local" stuff. We darted off to Hirosaki, Takasaki, Matsumoto castling!
Our hotel looks a bit run down from the outside. But it was situated on a main thoroughfare with a bus top at its doorstep. Hence, going to/from Niigata station was Y210 and 7-9 minutes. Taxi Y800+, You could walk it for 23-25 minutes to soak in the atmosphere. The river side walk, the bridges, the rainbow tower etc...We walked on 2 occasions once at night too. We felt safe throughout. All in all this little hotel is excellent value for its money. If you don't expect 5 star-ness. This is certainly a good buy. The staff very helpful though their command of the English language was really poor. I give them10/10 for trying. As to the amenities we are ambivalent as the room was pint-sized with little room for creature comfort. No iron available should you want to iron, yet a trouser press was available when you need it.