Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
First time to Niigata and first time with Dormy inn. I read about the free ramen and I was expecting to be given a cup noodles but it was a fresh bowl of noodles! Walking proximity to Niigata station, nice friendly staff and clean onsen. Shuttle bus is only available after 3pm if I am not wrong. So if you have lots to carry, a taxi ride will not cost much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Nice, quiet hotel near the train station

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: We were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel offers free Ramen (9:30PM-11:00 PM) to all guests.
Cons: Internet dependability
Location: We took a 30-minute train to Shibata to see Shibata castle
I would have given this hotel a higher rating but my expedia booking claimed free WIFI in public areas and in the room while my experience was the internet was almost unusable, Quite often, after being logged onto the network for a few minutes, it would drop the connection and I would have to try again, in some cases multiple tries were needed to connect. This was my experience in the room as well as the lobby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Love the complimentary ramen very much. It's so delicious. The shuttle bus service is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very enjoyable stay and roof-top onsen (for men).

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Roof-top onsen, free noodles at night and affordable massage are key selling points.
Cons: Economy room does not include shower/bathtub, but not needed if using the onsen. Shuttle bus pickup from station could be more proactive. I walked ok.
Location: Some sightseeing attractions around town may be closed on Mondays. Overall, a good area to enjoy local cuisine, rice and of course, sake.
Had an enjoyable stay for 2 nights. Highlights include free noodles at night (standard practice for Dormy) and roof top onsen for males with nice rock feature and sauna. Separate onsen for ladies on lower floor. Laundry is free and tumble dryer cost is 100¥/20 mins. Whilst massage in Japan is generally expensive, the rate here is 5,500¥ + tax for 60 mins. The massage therapists provide a firm and thorough technique. For a tired traveller, a hot soak followed by massage is worthwhile. Make sure to book massage early. Breakfast buffet is extensive and exceptional, offering a good range of (mostly) Japanese and (some) western dishes. Free bus shuttle to/from train station are available and most staff speak English quite well. JR Niigata station is 10-15 mins walk, relatively easy to find. Highlight at Niigata station is the Ponshukan selling a range of food/drink with extensive sake sampling in back room (500¥ provides 5 tokens ie one sample per token. The day pass city loop bus (500¥) also includes one free sake tasting token at the Ponshukan (I was given 2 tokens). JR Echigo-Yuzawa station also features a similar Ponshukan as well as sake hot bath (800¥ for bath/200¥ for towel and 100¥ for locker). Main difference is that Echigo-Yuzawa has a larger range of sake to taste including ume (plume wine) and shochu, as well as descriptions in English. The Ponshukan in Niigata has Japanese menu only but still fun to sample from across the prefecture.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely little room, comfy bed, super nice public bath (with explanations of how to use it for first-timers.)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by motohide

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI, USA

Very good hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2015
First time at a Dormy Inn. Clean, good breakfast, comfortable onsen and very good masseuse. Nighttime ramen snack was complementary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good clean hotel close to the river.

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The hot springs bath.
Location: It was raining when we were there so a little restricted The media building where you could get overall view of the city was good.
The hot springs bath was fantastic, Room comfy and clean and happy smiling staff.
3 out of 5
by Matt from Seattle

Good business hotel but there are better choices

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
This Dormy Inn has a very nice rooftop onsen and a small but pleasant breakfast (+free noodle) area. It has an okay location on a busy street near but not immediately near the train station. There is a free shuttle during peak hours. Wi-fi was very poor. Not only was the signal too weak to get a consistent signal for a room near the elevator, it would drop and be almost impossible to reconnect to. Perhaps my device was the culprit. It has a tall atrium, which is a pleasant design feature, but that means it can be noisy when people come in after a day's work. My room was quite expensive compared to Dormy Inns in other cities, yet it was not as nice in some ways.